We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and nice with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and nice with excellent service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I loved the fireplace in the downstairs lounge and the amazing restaurant. The room was great, a corner room with large windows. If you request a city view ask for a high floor to make the most of it. Staff was always courteous and helpful. The restaurant, Sable, is so good we cancelled another reservation to dine there twice. Good beds, nice decor, everything feels fresh and new. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Tfb520,

Thank you so much for your great review and the 5 star rating! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your visit, your room, our cozy living room, and of course, Sable! I must say that you made a great decision dining there twice as each time you can try something new and not be disappointed! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, safe travels to you.

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    578
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
667
963
123
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Nice nice room, love the bed and pillows decor not too funky not too boring or traditional. Great housekeeping staff and front desk very helpful and nice. I will be back I hope they keep trying to be the best and don't lose touch of how important ALL the details are. We noticed their hard work and great customer service. Keep it up you will be rewarded with these great reviews. Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norway m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear leannfree,

Your kind comments about our attention to detail and our effort to provide the best service possible are very much appreciated, not only by me, but by our entire team. Thank you for taking this time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Have a wonderful remainder of winter up there in Minnesota and enjoy your Spring!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great value in the centre of Chicago. Close to several blues bars, the lakeshore and shopping. The room was very comfortable and the staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop after a long day of sightseeing and shopping. One of the staff even went out of his way to get plastic cups for us when he discovered we were using wine glasses on the roof top. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miltonhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Miltonhillbilly,

We appreciate your very kind review and 5 star rating from your stay with us this past summer. Very nice to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy our beautiful city in our tranquil atmosphere. We hope to see you again for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed in hotels in Chicago for over thirty years as service is always an issue. At this hotel, service was amazing. I will never stay anywhere else. It was the little things, getting me a can on a snowy day, replacing my key, prompt room service. Things that should be done correctly at a hotel, but somehow are rarely accomplished in Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Wanderingpuri,

I can't thank you enough for sharing your thoughts and feedback on your stay with us here at the Palomar Chicago. Especially coming from a seasoned traveler, your comments about our service are wonderful to hear. We do hope to see you again soon and know that it is our pleasure to serve.

Very best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

There is nothing like a Kimptom Hotel. Not only is it a luxurious experience, with many complimentary services, but it is just overall a great hotel in every way. The location was fabulous; we walked everywhere from the hotel. There are also many great restaurants and shopping plazas around, as well as the subway, which is literally a one minute walk from the hotel. Both the pool and the work out room were clean and well equipped. During our stay the only problem we encountered was that the elevator wasn't working, but we found our way around that, and I'm sure by now that they have fixed it. Another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJetSetter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear MissJetSetter88,

Greetings from Chicago to Bordeaux, France! I want to thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback from your stay with us last summer. We are so pleased that you took the time to share your recommendations and I do hope that your next visit to Chicago will include our Hotel Palomar as your home away from home, once again!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Hotel Palomar 10/19 and it was the most incredible venue ever. The ambiance was fantastic - exquisite chandeliers, floor to ceiling windows, looking out at the city with an amazing"glow" is the perfect downtown setting for dancing the night away. The staff was phenomenal, from the planning phase (which was short...less than 3 months!) to execution they took care of every detail, treated us and our guests wonderfully, and gave us great rates for downtown chicago! The food, was delicious, catered by Sable, their restaurant, the food had rave reviews and people are still commenting on it (and drink!)! They pulled off 75 filets cooked perfectly. Overall, there is no place better for a reception, they worked with us on logistics, details, pricing, etc to make our wedding perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Jen O,

Wow...! Your review here is so gracious and kind that we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share. On behalf our our entire banquets, catering, Sable restaurant, and hotel teams, I thank you for your business and choosing to have such a special occasion here with us at the Palomar. We wish you and yours a very happy and healthy life together and please do not be a stranger...come back soon for a weekend getaway!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Palomar while stranded in Chicago in early January. The were fantastic, we had a beautiful room and they hotel thought of everything to make the stay special. The room was impeccable, the linens nice, and the staff very helpful. In fact, when they found out we just got engaged they upgraded us to a nicer room!

We will now make Palomar our go to hotel chain to stay with!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodles12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Doodles12345,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. Glad to hear that, during an unfortunate situation of being stranded away from home, we were still able to help you and your fiance have a nice time. And by the way, congratulations on your recent engagement! It is great to know that we have made you a loyal fan and I do thank you for your business.

Very kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,337 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,592 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 190 in Chicago
2,009 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing