We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Loved the pool area! Luxurious accommodations! Loved splashing in the tub with grandmother!
Great view. Fantastic comfy roll-away bed that I slept in!
AND a terrific staff who were so friendly and helpful. They even found my mini cards that I lost in the lobby. Thanks so much.
I will return! (dramatic voice)

Room Tip: Chose a high floor with lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Jenny B,

What a satisfying review to read knowing that you truly had a great time with us here at the Palomar! Thank you for sharing and thank you for your business. Please come back soon!

Kindly,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

North Chicago Hotel Has Good Vibes
The Palomar on State Street has a proper upbeat city feel, nice room, nice staff. There is also a happening bar and they serve wine in the lobby in the evening and coffee in the morning. Clean well maintained – no problem. I had room 1622.
But the lobby is small and the elevators slow. Not sure how many total rooms they have, but there are 17 floors and just two elevators.
If you are a member of their club you have free Internet (130 Mbits/s).
There is a small indoor pool and a pretty nice gym on the top floor.
Unfortunately for all hotels in this neighborhood, there must be an ambulance center a block away, so you get sirens and horns every hour or so all night – otherwise great location.

Room Tip: low floor if you don't like waiting for rlevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue-green160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear blue-green160,

Thank you for sharing your comments and review from your recent stay with us here at the Palomar Chicago. I certainly appreciate your praise of our services and details of your visit. I do apologize for the "coziness" of our lobby/front desk areas - as well as the elevator traffic during busier times of the day. This is an area where we are currently exploring reconfiguration options to better manage these heavier traffic time frames. I thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Finally, a nice, reliable, upscale, modern, well run hotel in the Loop that isn't exorbitantly expensive. Nice lobby, helpful staff, comfortable rooms, great food from the restaurant on site. Everything works the way it should. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyasukot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear cyasukot,

Thank you so much for sharing your review here, and I am glad to hear that you were truly impressed and comfortable with our hotel and services. We certainly know that there are many hotel options for our guests, and we very much appreciate your choice to stay with us for your next visit to Chicago.

Very kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Could not fault this hotel even if I tried to. From the staff to the hotel rooms itself, this hotel is top notch. For the price i paid (US $139) per night, this hotel couldn't offer no more. I would highly recommend the bar and restaurant.

Pro's: location, room size and quality, friendly staff
Con's: nothing!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank jeanpaul6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear jeanpaul6150,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Palomar Chicago. We appreciate your high praise and 5 star rating very much. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and recommendations and we look forward to your return visit!

Safe travels,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a week in Chicago and thanks to the reviews I read on this site we selected this hotel as our base for touring and our high expectations were fulfilled.

The location was perfect and the staff was as impressive as the quality of the accomodations.
Having read about the superstar concierge, Bobby, I searched him out and was amazed by the quality of his service and the breadth of his knowledge about the amenities of the city. Not only did he secure a reservation at the highly acclaimed restaurant "The Girl and the Goat" he purchased a book by the head chef and personalized it for us, what a showman.

Every staffer was willing to do whatever was necessary to make our stay perfect and the front door manager, Bobby, was a delight, helpful and a pleasure to engage.

There is no other place in Chicago we will ever stay having been so spoiled at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Michael F,

I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your review here with the Trip Advisor community. Your kind words and generous comments are so much appreciated - and I'd like to say a separate "thank you" on behalf of Bobby Gonzalez, for your high praise and remarks about his assistance and service levels. He is absolutely one of our best ambassadors, and we, and he, are very grateful for your feedback. We look forward to your return and I wish you safe travels, always.

Very best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a pleasant surprise! We found this randomly and LOVED it. The service is just amazing -- the rooms are beautiful and there is free Wifi. The best part was the coffee in the morning - really nice options and a pretty sweet hot chocolate spread with toppings :) Love the little touches. We will be staying at Kimpton properties whenever possible!

Location - cannot beat it. Plenty nearby to eat and explore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear ShivG81,

Thank you so much for giving us a try here at the Palomar Chicago - as well as offering such a kind review. I am glad to know that you are now a fan and willing to try our other Kimpton hotels as well as return back here the next time you are in town. Please know that you are always welcome and we look forward to your next visit. From Chicago to your beautiful city of Seattle, we wish you all the best!

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We've stayed at this property a few times for other weekend "staycations" in Chicago. Since we decided to come back down this weekend, I've literally spent 3 days trying to decide if we should stay here again or go to one of the other big guys. I'm Marriott Rewards and Starwood Preferred Platinum, yet I can't tear myself away from this Kimpton property no matter how hard I try.

Both Marriott and Starwood have some better "deals" for the weekend, but I want to be sure of consistency of the service. There are also better chances of being upgrade as an Inner Circle member of InTouch (which is always desired). You can't beat the location and honestly it is an overall good experience. Being able to bring your dog is also a huge thing for us.

My only complaint would be the pool. The room is so inviting and warm, yet when the water is a bit on the chilly side. It takes some time to get used too.

See you guys Saturday!

P.S . warm up the pool a little :)

Room Tip: Sable has some great food, but it isn't a family restaurant (our daughter didn't eat anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Norm P,

Thank you so much for sharing your details and thought-process here on choosing to stay at, and then return to our hotel. We are glad to hear you made the decision to do so! We absolutely understand that there are a number of hotel brands out there with some great loyalty programs but we try to make our Kimpton InTouch/Inner Circle program the most attractive and rewarding. As you mentioned, we do our best to upgrade and personalize our Inner Circle guests in every possible instance. I just want to mention and apologize about your note on the pool water. We, unfortunately do not have much option for increase in warmth as the temperature range is mandated by the health department. I am grateful to know that this won't stop you from returning and we hope you will continue to enjoy your visits. We are already looking forward to youur next staycation and I thank you, sincerely, for your loyalty to Kimpton Hotels.

Very kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,839 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,535 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £113 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing