We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good & Consistent”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Newish Kimpton, nice bar/restaurant in the bldg. Lovely sitting area for coffee or cocktails. Very close to the loop, walking distance to Northwestern, Trader Joe's and Nordstroms.
Menu for breakfast/room service is solid with a mix of healthy and comfort food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jdg1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear jdg1770,

We appreciate your review and I thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay back in October. I wish you a wonderful Summer and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    568
    86
    20
    10
See reviews for
656
951
123
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Palomar. I got a good rate online and was very pleased with my suite--nice space with a large bathroom. The happy hour was great--the complementary flat bread was delicious. I would highly recommend the Sable Bar--the drinks are out of this world, and food amazing. The location is also convenient--very close to Eataly, another must go in Chicago.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear makati babe,

Thank you for your review and highest rating of your recent visit! Glad you enjoyed your suite and our surrounding area. Definitely agree on Eataly! Please come back soon for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here a few years ago when it first opened and our stay was wonderful. We found it every bit as good this year. The rooms are large with lovely bathroom. All the staff are extremely friendly and always helpful. Close to lots of restaurants and not far from Magnificent Mile. It's a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfrtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear vfrtom,

We appreciate your praise and generous comments about your stay with us last month. Thank you for sharing and thank you for returning for this second vist. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Kimpton are my first choice when staying in the US. The Palomar's location is a huge plus - adjacent to a red line stop, just 2 blocks from Mag Mile and walking distance to many of the central tourist spots. An ideal city location. Decent room sizes, spacious and clean. Colour schemes are quite dark but as always Kimpton offer plenty of individual lights around desk, mirrors and free standing lamps to compensate. Small pool and gym space on top floor. Service is always top notch, the adjacent Sable bar and restaurant is particularly good, though you will have to book in advance for weekends as it is very popular with non-guests. Recommended.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room, away from main road recommended
See more room tips
Green Features: Top notch - separate bins under desk, clear towel reuse policy in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Martin P,

Thank you so much for this kind and detailed review and the five star rating! We are very appreciative and most importantly, happy that you always enjoy Kimpton Hotels, and particularly enjoyed your stay with us here at the Palomar. Please come back and see us soon the next time you're in Chicago and the United States.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for a meeting and it had everything you could want. Great bar and restaurant as well as rooftop indoor pool. Rooms were super nice and the location is right in the middle of everything. It was bit pricey but at the level of hotel they are in, it was probably the going rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor. Glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We certainly hope to see you again and I wish you a wonderful Summer season.

Kindly,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here in February 2014, and I was very satisfied with our stay. Hotel staff was gracious, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the location is perfect, located within walking distance to major destinations and conveniently close to the train. On the day my husband and I were set to check out, our flight was canceled, and the hotel staff was able to book us an extra night right away with no problem. I plan on staying here again when I come back to Chicago for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear anana216,

Great to hear that you had a nice visit with us back in February, and I am glad to know that we were able to help out when your flight was canceled. Thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw and we always love to hear when our guests plan to return for future visits!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel during their complimentary happy hour, which was a nice perk! Everybody at the front desk, that greeted us, and helped us to our room were extremely nice and helpful. They had honored all of our requests (i.e upper level corner room, mini fridge in the room, and the gold fish and kids robe for our son). We had a king spa room and it was very spacious, stylish, and clean. The bathroom was fabulous…the spa tub is the way to go!!! Had dinner at the Sable one evening and it was delicious and very good service. Lastly, we left our toothbrush charger in the bathroom and I called and they are sending it fed ex at no cost to us. We really had a wonderful experience during our four day stay there. Also….the location is awesome…we only took a cab one time during the four days (except to and from airport) and we saw every major attraction we intended to see! Also, the hotels told us about great restaurants and they were all a short walk away. Nothing bad to say!!!

Room Tip: We were on the twelfth floor and only heard street noise on Saturday night, but it was not bad enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Roxanna D,

We appreciate your kind review more than you know. Great to hear that you and your family had a wonderful visit from your King Spa Room to Sable Kitchen and Bar! Please come back for another visit very soon, and we will welcome you with our open Kimpton arms!

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,523 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,728 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing