We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Kimpton hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lovely Kimpton hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at Kimpton hotels in New York and with this being my first time in Chicago, I figured I should try one there as well. I am very happy I did. The room was clean and well furnished. The location was absolutely perfect; we had walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful and extremely service minded. In a few words, we had a perfect stay at the Palomar in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear sokeiw,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and I am thrilled to know that you had a perfect stay. Please, if there is anything further we could have done to elevate your rating to five stars, please let us know, as we are always looking to grow and improve.

Have a wonderful remainder of Summer,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    578
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
667
964
123
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Another wonderful trip to Chicago staying at Palomar for around the 4th time. Hotel perfectly located for all central attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful especially James (one of the porters) who remembers our names and makes us feel so welcome. The free wine reception at 1700 is most welcome!

Room Tip: Upper floors a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Anderida,

We appreciate your top rating and very kind review! Thank you very much for sharing your experience. A special thank you for mentioning our bellman, James - he is a wonderful member of our team and truly aims to please. We hope to see you on your next journey to Chicago.

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We choose Palomar as a central location for our Mom/Daughter girls weekend. Could not have been better! All food eaten here was great, Sunday brunch especially!
Only comment, two actually, water/shower pressure was weak and the shower head was high on the wall so by the time it reached you water was cold and not hotels fault but very rude guests in 701 yelling at their friends in another room about midnight. Not cool !
Will stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear ccallen,

Thank you for choosing us for your girls weekend here in Chicago! We were happy to have you with us and great to know you enjoyed your visit. So sorry for your noisy neighbors, and I thank you for letting us know about your shower experience. Your feedback is very much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, VA
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is supremely located! We walked almost everywhere, the few times we took a cab it was roughly $10. The staff was awesome! Especially the concierges Bobby and Mark as well as Adam the Hotel Manager. A valuable item was lost during our stay (child's precious sleep blanket) and while it hasn't been found as of yet the entire staff knew about it and was looking. The rooms were clean and the view gorgeous. The girls enjoyed the pool and we moms enjoyed the morning coffee and wine hour. I would recommended this hotel each time you visit Chicago!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank redsoxfan4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear redsoxfan4life,

I want to thank you for your very kind comments and mentioning Bobby and Mark and the entire team here in your review. We were glad to have you and your family with us and, except for the blanket going missing (of which we are still hopeful and looking for everyday), it's nice to know that you did have a wonderful time with us. Thank you again and we will certainly keep in touch when you plan your next trip here to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark and we're wearing sunglasses. Hit it ! ! !. . . " The Blue Brothers
And then from another great scholar... "Chicago is never the Chicago you saw when you passed through last time." . . . Mark Twain.
Truly two quotes that represent this great city and if you are from Europe, Asia, Africa, Antarctica, South America and surfing the web for destinations in USA, absolutely Chicago must be on that list of travel destinations.
I see no better place to stay for the money than right here at the Palomar Hotel, 505 North State Street.
Very friendly staff that are well trained, two excellent concierges to guide you around, proximity to all the must see venues, clean and quiet rooms and a Happy Hour from 5 to 6 pm that rivals any at the bars but its price is right--FREE!.
Highly recommend this hotel and thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Some street noise will filter through even on top floors. Elevators were very fas...
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked the separate trash bins in the room for recycle and regular trash items. I could see an effort on management to conserve our natural resources.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Studio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Studio69,

While I certainly appreciate ALL of our guests' wonderful reviews - I must say, this is probably my favorite that I have ever read for our hotel! You can never go wrong with a "Blues Brothers" reference when in, or disucssing Chicago! Thank you so much for this gracious and fun review and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We strive, everyday, to welcome our guests and make everyone feel at home, and we utilize all feedback to continuously grow and learn how to provide the best service for our patrons. I guess you could say, as Jake and Elwood so eloquently put it..."We're on a mission from God...!" Have a wonderful Summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening but were thrilled with the comfort of our room and beds as a good night sleep was in order! Room service for breakfast was fantastic as well. Room was very nice as was the service etc. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear tjw1974,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing the Palomar Chicago for your girls weekend! Great to hear that you had a fantastic visit and we certainly hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed for one night and wish I could have stayed longer. In addition to being a great value, and in the perfect location, the hotel pays attention to the details. From a warm greeting upon check-in, to excellent recognition of being a Kimpton Karma rewards member, this hotel strives to exceed its guests’ expectations.
For Inner Circle members this hotel provided a great room upgrade (Spa suite is amazing) and the best welcome amenity I have ever received at a Kimpton (which is saying something)

Green Features: Great hotel for those that care for the environment
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear John J,

Thank you so much for your generous comments as well as the survey you submitted through our internal system. We greatly appreciate your praise and are very happy that you truly enjoy your amenities here at the Palomar Chicago. Our concierges were thrilled to read your comments and we all thank you for your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,349 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,030 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing