We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great fitness center, location, rooms, etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great fitness center, location, rooms, etc”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Brilliant hotel with attractive rooms, modern decor, greta fitness center (including rowing machine). Expensive but will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    562
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
652
949
123
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I booked at the Palomar because of the great reviews I saw online. Unfortunately, the trip did not live up to expectations. A few days before the trip, I received an email from the concierge asking us whether we were celebrating anything special and if we needed any services (e.g. restaurant reservations, etc.) I responded that I was with my best friend celebrating our mutual 40th birthdays and that we would like reservations at a particular restaurant. I did not hear back before my arrival but assumed that something would be communicated when checking in. At check in, we were told that we could have a corner room on the 5th floor (with the benefits of windows on both sides of the room) or a room higher up. We chose the room with more windows and were disappointed when we arrived on the 5th floor to see that it was the same floor as the conference center where an event had taken place earlier in the day - something that we were not informed of. The floor was not clean, with linens, empty glasses, etc. strewn about.. We then called down to the front desk to ask about our reservations to the requested resaurant to learn that there was nothing on record regarding our request. Why send such an email if it will just be ignored? The room was indeed on the corner, but not with enough windows to make up for the fact that we shared it with a conference floor, and there were cigarette butts and a dirty rag on the ledge outside our room door. To make matters worse, there was not an actual bathroom door, but a sliding door to the bathroom, which did not shut all the way. OK because we were best friends, but would have been most uncomforable if I had been with a significant other. We visited the bar downstairs (Sable) for a drink, and had a very unpleasant bartender - a rude bald man with a beard who basically ignored us. Luckily, a nice female bartender took pity on us and took our order. In short, I was not impressed with my stay at the Palomar which was unfortunate because I have had such great experiences with the hotel in San Francisco and Kimpton hotels in general.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jak9295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Beautiful brand new boutique hotel. Make sure to sign up for Kimpton Hotel's "In Touch" Program online before your stay---you'll get free wifi and ten dollars worth of snacks from the minibar.

Standard rooms are pretty small because they contain 2 queen beds...I really don't know where they would have set up a massage table if I had ordered one.

Also, the bathroom doors are right off the room and do not close fully in the standard queen room, but they are working on the problem. It's already fixed in the more expensive rooms, so before you go find out if they fixed the problem (if you care about your privacy).

Staff is amazing, gym open 24 hours. Fast elevators and clean rooms. An easy walk to lots of attractions and shopping.

All in all, it was a great trip and the hotel is really superb, with small customer service touches that make you feel welcome.

P.S.---hotel parking is pricey, so think twice before renting a car, or get a special hotel deal of room & parking together.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank open2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy, IN
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2010

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, I knew this would be a fantastic trip. We were tired from the drive and just wanted to valet our car (at $50 a night) just so we wouldn't have to deal with Chicago traffic and trying to find a cheaper place to park. The valet totally surprised me. He asked if we would be needing our car during our stay. I told him no. He then suggested we park literally across the street for only $25 a night. How cool is that?! That type of service continued throughout our 2 night stay. The front desk attendants directed us to the complimentary Arnold Palmers that afternoon and the complimentary wine hour around 5:00 p.m. Mark, our concierge, was incredibly helpful with advanced tickets, directions, suggestions, etc. Overall fantastic experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tra415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Nice, clean hotel right in the middle of downtown. Right across the street from the red line Grand Station. Everyone from the front desk to the valet attendants were extremely friendly and helpful everytime we walked in or out of the hotel. We asked to change room types in the middle of the stay due to having an extra 2 people staying with us and they were able to switch our room from a king bed to a 2 queen bed room. Great evening reception with complimentary wine and lemonade. They always had bottled water on your way out the door in the morning along with the usual coffee (iced cofee too), and tea. The only thing I would change about the hotel is the bathroom door. It is a sliding door like the kind on a bedroom closet. It has a space on each side of the door which takes away some privacy. I would definitely stay here again for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasdmbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have stayed at the Palomar on three occasions since it opened in April and can't wait to go back again. The rooms are large, customer service is outstanding and employees make an effort to call you by your name. Hotel is very pet friendly. This has become our favorite Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realtripy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel, it feels like a happening place. The free afternoon wine and fancy o'dourves plus morning coffe ,tea etc with the morning papers in the small but classy and comfortable lobby very easy to socialize were only some of the things that put it over the top. Roof top pool,exercise room and patio with a great view. Very helpful staff no long lines super restaurant and a location that is walking distance from most everything. There is an Italian resturant just down the street that was great too. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodrider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,458 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#13 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing