We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Night!”

Theory Sports Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Theory Sports Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #546 of 9,675 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Cross street: State & Hubbard
Transit: State & Grand Red Line Stop.
Description: Theory Theory has a life of its own that matches the pulse of the river north neighborhood. Whether it’s grabbing a bite to eat during lunch break or a gathering with your friends for weekend brunch we offer the perfect environment for all occasions. We pride ourselves on superior food, service and comfort, all while providing a great view from every seat in the house. sport. dine. lounge.
North Bend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Night!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We popped in and parked ourselves at the bar. Staff was fast and friendly. The tv in front of us was huge and we were totally happy hanging out watching the game. We tried a couple of signature cocktails, and found my new favorite wine there as well. We had the lamb tacos and although not my favorite, the hubs loved them. Food and drink came out fast, even though they were very busy. The manager helped us pick out a t-shirt, and was very helpful. It seems obvious the bartenders all enjoyed being there. Hip, clean. Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best Sports Bar in the area”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and found everything to be perfect. Great service and food. High def TVs at every angle from your seat. Super cold beer and the sliders (all varieties) were excellent. I prefer the pork BBQ ones and wife preferred the turkey. You can mix and match any variety. Maybe a bit overpriced but for the area I suppose the price is comparable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mao007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

You can't beat a $5 burger menu for lunch on a Thursday. A group of us go there on a regular basis and are never disappointed. The host (manager/owner? ) is really attentive and the staff are all warm and friendly too. The menu is varied, but you really can't beat the specials. Plenty for vegetarians to enjoy...and the wine ain't half bad either.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachaelAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Good sports bar”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We just stopped one afternoon for a couple beers and some appetizers. Lots of TVs with college games. Food was good and we'd stop back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We were looking for a place to catch a Bears game and stopped in at Theory just 15 min. before the game. At first glance, it looked a little too “fancy” for us… but, we were wrong… turned out to be a well-run place with a lot of class.

The host asked for reservations, we didn’t have any… the bar was nearly full, but many seats appeared available at the tables; however, we were told they're all reserved- bummer.

Despite that, the host went out of his way and "manufactured" seats for us at the bar.

We had a great time watching the game on the nice HDTV screens and piped in surround sound. The service was the great and we made some new friends during the game- bonus!

We’ll be back again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BottleRockIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theory Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Theory Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing