We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to eat”
Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #22 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: Experience the exquisite cuisine of James Beard, Rising Star Chef 2014 - Jimmy Bannos Jr. As a fourth generation restaurateur, he was mentored by his father, Jimmy Bannos (Chef/Owner of Heaven on Seven) and catapulted his expertise through training by nationally renowned chefs. Since opening in 2009, under the leadership of Jimmy Bannos Jr., The Purple Pig has received numerous accolades, including being named one of 2010’s “10 Best New Restaurants in America” by Bon Appétit magazine; and a Bib Gourmand recipient from the Michelin Guide Chicago in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014; among other honors. Dubbed the "Prince of Pork" by Dana Cowin (Food and Wine Editor and Chief); Jimmy Jr. brings his love for Mediterranean food to the Windy City in fun, inventive ways - at this rustic sharable plate restaurant, conveniently located on the Magnificent Mile. Located at 500 North Michigan Avenue, the restaurant offers cheese, swine and wine, among other standout dishes, showcasing the flavors of Italy, Greece and Spain.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to eat”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Chicago has a LOT of great travel experiences/places to visit. When you finished, be sure to find and visit the Purple Pig for a truly unique dining experience. I guarantee you will like it. Be prepared for a wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,019
    1,248
    270
    106
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cool, Hip Place with quite a following”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I happened upon the Purple Pig and had to see what it was about. Me being a Southern girl, love great BBQ places and anything that references a pig. It was an upscale, yet hipster type place. We sat at the bar and tried 3 different items: The bacon and Peas, the grilled octopus, and the pork pate. All were nice. I wasn't able to try their BBQ b/c of my gluten allergy. The wine list was nice. The bar was hopping and service was fast and friendly. I look forward to coming back to try more!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Creative food, great wine selection, lively crowd”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very creative menu and nice wine list make for a delicious combination. Very lively place and on weekend nights hard to get a table. But going there for lunch worked nicely with a nice table outside. Great place, highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very lively restaurant with delicious food.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Everything we had at this restaurant was absolutely delicious. Some dishes I would say were divine.

The service was fantastic at this lively and boisterous restaurant. The only warning is that you should go as early as possible. They do not take reservations and waits can easily be over an hour.

Cheers to our server, Steven, for entertaining the 6 year old in our party.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travellotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sad I don't love in Chicago so I can go back here all the time! ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This type of tapas & wine menu is exactly what I love! Nice feel. They don't take reservations, so the wait for 2 on a Saturday afternoon was about 45 mins, but who cares! I was a beautiful day so we sat outside in the patio chairs & the waiter brought us a bottle of wine. The octopus dish was delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank darew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing