We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning custom is sad to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manilow Suites at The Grand Plaza
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Returning custom is sad to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

A second contract in Chicago naturally led me to another stay with Manilow at the GP. As this contract comes to an end, I am regretfully leaving again and heading to Atlanta where a myriad of Hiltons and Marriotts await. If I am ever so lucky to get another Chicago assignment, I will surely be giving Sarah and crew a call. They are flexible, accommodating and have taken such great care of the residence. Recently, they installed RCN cable with Tivo and HDTV. They respond to requests quickly and professionally including changes in departure, billing entities, and general questions. I would highly recommend Manilow Suites!

Room Tip: I was on the 30th floor and had a great view. Occasionally I could hear neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I needed a furnished apartment in Chicago for a month for an extended business trip. A friend of mine told me that Grand Plaza in River North is the best place in town and it sure is. When I called Manilow to reserve an apartment I was greeted in a very professional and pleasant way. They offered me a junior one bedroom on the 23rd floor of the Grand Plaza with a terrace and a great view of the surrounding towers.

The place was spotless when I arrived. Spacious (700 Sq ft) with lots of closet space. Even a walk-in closet. The furniture is of very good quality and the kitchen and bathroom are equipped with all what you can think of. I asked for an upgrade of the Internet speed ( I needed 5MPS) and got it. The maid service is once a week and they do a great job.

Manilow is a woman owned and operated property management company. And you can certainly see and feel the woman's touch in the way the apartment is setup. Go Manilow! and Go Grand plaza!

Room Tip: Manilow told me that all the apartments they rent are above the 20th floor. This was my case as my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I used the Grand Plaza as a temporary residence as I moved into Chicago. Everything exceeded my expectations. The staff at Manilow Suites are exceptional and were incredibly helpful in setting up my stay. My wife and son were comfortable in the place and loved the location. The doormen are very polite and helpful. We wish we could have stayed their longer.

I highly recommend the Grand Plaza for a number of reason. -- The location is outstanding (Close to restaurants and shopping (Mag mile), grocery store downstairs plus Trader Joes a few blocks away, connected to the Red line).

Cons: The fire station is close and you can hear the fire trucks go by but you get used to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My mother had worked with this company in the past and when I needed a long term rental in Chicago, she suggested I take my business to Manilow. I was in the Grand Plaza in a comfortable Junior 1 bedroom. It was everything I needed and in a great location. The room wasn't ready in time for expected move in date - so Sarah W. arranged for me to stay at another property in the loop until the painting and cleaning was finished. Prompt personal service occurred whenever I requested anything or had a question. I felt a little bit like a diva - but I believe they aim to please The rest of the staff at Manilow (Stephanie and Yvonne) were also helpful with communications and minor questions that arose.

I plan on returning to Chicago for another project very soon and will stay in the Grand Plaza again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

This was the worst experience I have had in a hotel or any other temporary accommodations. The cleaners did not come and when they did they did not clean. Once they left the air-conditioner on for 4 days while I was out of town and then tried to charge me extra for it. It is their policy not to wash dishes. The television did not work, the towels were returned dirty and worst of all when I tried to complain the staff, including Rosie form operation said that there was nothing they could do. The telephone did not allow me to make outgoing calls. The list continues. I can't believe my company paid over $2800 for me to stay here. It was so exhausting to come home from a hard day of working to one problem after another, with no remorse or compensation from the management.

Do not stay here

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny03261000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManilowSuites, Owner at Manilow Suites at The Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
After over three years of this review being printed, I still am deeply saddened. Saddened because, for the most part, how can one possibly defend themselves?
For 34 years, Manilow Suites has been over and above all other corporate housing companies in Chicago providing the finest services amenities, quality and value. I am so proud of the company, I have developed as well as the most exceptional staff anyone could ever hope for.
I am deeply saddened for the young lady who wrote such blasphemy. The poor girl was under enormous stress working over 80 hours a week. I also discovered she was let go from the company within months of her review.
I am so appreciative and grateful to the thousands of people throughout the years who have enjoyed staying with Manilow Suites and their kind words have only given us greater drive and initiative to be the best today, and even better tomorrow. Thank you to those wonderful people.
Francine Manilow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I stayed at the Grand Plaza for a business conference in Chicago and everything exceeded my expectations. The staff at Manilow Suites are exceptional and were incredibly helpful in setting up my stay. I travel at least three times a month and it was so refreshing to deal with pleasant people and to stay in a place of my own as opposed to a sterile motel. I will recommend Manilow to anyone traveling to the Chicago area- for business or for pleasure. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riley201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

I highly recommend the Manilow Suites for a number of reason.
-- The location is outstanding (grocery store downstairs, mag mile 3 short blocks, NAvy Peri 7 blocks)
-- Personal service you'll never find with a large chain
-- World-class fitness center
-- and most important...per friendly!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jho48080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manilow Suites at The Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manilow Suites at The Grand Plaza

Property: Manilow Suites at The Grand Plaza
Address: 545 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-2658
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Chicago's newest, most elegant high-rise apartment buildings, The Grand Plaza is perfect for Corporate housing. This unique structure has every amenity imaginable and is located within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile and outstanding Chicago restaurants. Excellent location: easy access to airports. The Building: Large supermarket Upscale fitness center 24 hour doorman Parking garage Basketball Court / Running Track Cyber Cafe Lounge Library Indoor / Outdoor pool High-tech business center Pets Allowed The Apartment: High-speed internet Maid service once a week Washer & Dryer Balcony CD player & DVD player 2 TVs - Expanded cable Fully equipped kitchen Quality furnishings Telephone in every room *King size beds Fine quality linens and towels Services: Weekly maid service by the same Manilow Suites housekeeper during your entire stay Upon your arrival, you will find your preferred snack, beverage, and bath soap During your entire stay, you will receive bath soap, Kleenex, and bathroom tissue Chicago Magazine provided monthly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manilow Suites At The Grand Plaza Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing