We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have the budget then WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Penthouse at Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Penthouse at Grand Plaza
kent ,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you have the budget then WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This apt can be a little expensive in the most popular months but in the winter when its ffffreeeezing , the prices are more palatable.What you get for your 300 bucks (average) per night is a huge 2 bed 2 bath swanky pad on the 47th floor of the Grand Plaza situated in the River North area where within a short walk ( and i mean short!) you can access restaurants , shopping , nightlife and sights.
I was there on business for a month and fell in love with the place and my wife joined me for my final week so i got to look at it as a worker and a tourist and the apt and the city didn't disappoint.
Its mainly residential but a few companies own apts there and we used chicagopremiersuites to get ours.
On site is a fully equipped gym, basketball court , business centre, playroom, jacuzzi , swimming pool(outdoor) and a running track, yes thats right, a running track.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saint1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandplazapenth0use, Owner at The Penthouse at Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Saint

Thanks for your review, however, if you stayed on the 47th floor, you did not stay with us. We only rent the Penthouse units.

Our rates for the Penthouse units are very competitive to the rates of a mid-grade hotel in the area.

If you thought that the unit on the 47th floor was "swank" next time try give us a try.

'Life is Always Better At The Top'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I rented a 870sqf 1 bedroom appartment in Grand Plaza for 1 month (April through May 2013). I give the appartment a solid 4 rating. Spacious and well furnished. the surface area distribution between the living area, bedroom and kitchen is perfect. Kitchen is quite decent, the bedroom is great as well with a nice large wardrobe in it. We were a bit bothered by the noise at night on N State street (sirens, motor cycles, etc), so maybe it would be better to rent an appartment not facing the street. My wife complained about the room service not being really good. But i guess it depends on the cleaning person, because some other times it was good. I rented the appartment through Premier Luxury and I would give them a 3 rating for their services. The reason is that the customer service person i worked with was not so friendly. She often speaks with a tone that says:" i am too busy to give you any more time, so make it quick and lets get over with your questions". I would say she was a bit blunt but i would not really judge as it might be a character issue, nevertheless i felt highly unconfortable talking to her. Next time i will not deal with Premier Luxury.

Room Tip: I would not go for the N State side appartment. Street is too noisy and sound insulation in the appa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandplazapenth0use, Owner at The Penthouse at Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Imad

Sorry to hear about your experience. However, you did not rent your apartment from us - The Penthouse at Grand Plaza. We only rent penthouse units. Our 1 bedrooms are significantly larger (1050 sf) with fireplaces - They are AMAZING.

We also have the very best cleaning crew. The have all worked with us for over 10 years.

Next time you are in Chicago, give us a try. You will not be disappointed!

'Life is Always Better at the Top'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Hi last week 8 friends and I went to Chicago, we Stayed at this condo in one of the Penthouses.
It had a lovely and incredible view. Great location and great security. Parking accesible just a little small.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This property is NOT a hotel. It was built as a luxury rental apartment building but I think the management company is renting furnished units until they can fill the building with full time renters.

I also think there may be several different companies renting units in this building. We rented from Chicago Premier Suites. Our unit was on the 48th floor and was wonderful. We had a balcony that measured about 6 feet deep by 35 yes 35 feet long. Furniture and appliances were like new and bedding and towels were first rate. There was a 24 hour door person in the lobby. Parking was included in our unit which was worth a minimum of $35 per day. We had unlimited in and out so we used our car many times for attractions farther from the building. If we had used a regular garage, our bill would have been at least $60+ on some days.

It was any easy walk to Michigan Avenue and the many restaurants very near the property. The "L" subway Red Line has two entrances literally steps from the front door.

We were two couples staying in this 2BR 2BA unit with a good size living room and full kitchen. It worked out to about $250 per couple per night. We initially looked at hotels which were going to cost a minimum of $250 per night without parking and without a kitchen or living room.

Our friends in Chicago were blown away by the place and price and said they would recommend it to friends visiting them from out of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wbk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Hotel could do with some renovations. Our first room smelt like stale cigarettes.
Second room had a 2 inch cockroach and no running faucet in the bathroom.
After complaining we finally got the view of the Lake on the top floor.

Room Tip: view of Lake Michegan from the east of the hotel are spectacular. If you cant get that ask for the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseeross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixlegg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect - straight at Lake Michigan; The Buckingham fountain is just upfront.
The distance to the heart of Chicago is within walking distance. The ambience of the hotel is very good.
The room was ran down already but clean and o.k.. The price is o.k. also.
It is a perfect place for business and holidays as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisabeth_bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandplazapenth0use, Owner at The Penthouse at Grand Plaza, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Elisabeth

If you were able to see Buckingham fountain, you did not stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouse at Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouse at Grand Plaza

Property: The Penthouse at Grand Plaza
Address: 540 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-7231
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penthouse at Grand Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of magnificent unique rentals located in downtown Chicago with dramatic two story living areas and exquisite fireplaces. From the 20 foot floor to ceiling windows, the city unfolds before you with Lake Michigan as a backdrop. Nowhere in Chicago can you stay with views like these! Bordered by the elegance and glamour of North Michigan Avenue to the east and the artsy sophistication of the River North District to the west, The Penthouse at Grand Plaza is at the heart of one of Chicago's most exciting neighborhoods. Life here is flavored with world class shopping, the best of casual and fine dining, galleries and clubs. LIFE IS ALWAYS BETTER AT THE TOP! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Penthouse at Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing