We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Chicago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveller rating
967
425
113
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
425
113
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe financial districtthe executive loungewillis towerthe loopsoaking tubseparate showerlobby barbeautiful hotelhuge bathroomhotel gymbeautiful lobbyart museumunion stationbusiness meetingking roomfitness centerchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,250 - 1,255 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for her b-day weekend and they made the stay exceptional. It's right down town near everything and the hotel staff made sure that every little detail was taken care of. We were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpwoodfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business and found the location very convenient for the financial district. The rooms were lovely and had recently been renovated. As you would expect for the JW everything was to a high standard. On the downside the view of the central courtyard wasn't attractive and overall I thought the hotel lacked character. Not the sort of place in which you'd want to hang out after a long day at the office.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVoyager79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Pros: comfortable beds and pillows; clean rooms and common areas; professional staff; wifi available in room (for a fee) ; free wifi in lobby; not noisy ; located in heart of financial district and 2 blocks from Sears/Willis Tower; within about a 5 min walking distance to Michigan Avenue; nice selection of items in the in room minibar ; Valeo Spa is located in the hotel and offers a relaxing atmosphere and a variety of treatments (stone massage was great) ; work out room has up to date equipment and cardio machines have individual TVs; cable tv in rooms with HBO; Irish pub 2 minutes away and W Hotel across the street ; lobby bar has a great selection of cocktails and a modernly cozy atmosphere.
Cons: hotel needs more food choices - the hotel has only two restaurants and if you are at the hotel over a weekend many of the surrounding restaurants are closed. Keep this in mind. Florentine restaurant in the hotel has great food but the menu is very limited and the service was slow. Food in the hotel is expensive for what you get .
Overall I would stay at the JW Marriott again. Great for business travelers. If you are planning on doing touristy things stay over off Michigan Avenue or Gold Coast. There's more tourist activity in that area . There's a Marriott in the Millennium Mile area if you are loyal to Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was My first trip to Chicago, attending a wedding which was held at the JW. We totally enjoyed the accommodations our room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. We were provided all the essentials, coffee, iron, hair dryer, complimentary water bottles. The bathroom was beautifully laid out and the tub was a deep soaking tub that easily could accommodate two people. I enjoyed a nice soak, totally relaxing. We had drinks in the lobby bar which was a fun spot with lots of people. Breakfast at the Florentine was over the top delicious! This hotel is in the financial district so it is a little distance from shopping etc. but not so far that you can't walk to the area attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyArubaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Having read reviews which mentioned rooms with no bathtubs and/or no windows, (only frosted glass-yikes) I called ahead to put in a request for both clear windows and a tub! All was well.

We had two adjoining rooms, which is sometimes not possible. No "tired" carpet or upholstery. Tasteful decor. Beautiful fixtures and finished in the bathroom. Comfy beds.

One complaint--the lounge on the executive floor CLOSES at 5pm Friday for the entire weekend. Never heard of this before at ANY hotel group. Big bummer. We really enjoy having coffee and breakfasts right on our floor, but it sure wasn't happening on this trip! Mr. Marriott himself was in the lounge on Friday--I guess he didn't stay through the weekend.

Minor complaint-no HGTV or Food Channel on the cable lineup. This is primarily a business hotel, but still....

Some reviews mentioned that the location wasn't great, but we thought it was fantastic. Right next to the Art Institute, a half-block from the train. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub and actual CLEAR windows if these things matter to you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingfamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews