We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great spa, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here over St. Patrick's Day weekend in 2012. My friends and I arrived on Friday AM for a spa day in the basement spa (can't recall the name!), and all of our treatments were excellent. The front desk staff were able to check us in early to our room as well, which was an added bonus. The best part of this hotel was the location, as it is literally located on an Orange Line stop, making getting to/from the hotel a breeze (note: it's an elevated stop, so you have to carry your luggage up/down the stairs--nothing too terrible, but I didn't see an option for wheelchair access, etc...I wasn't looking for it though, so I could've just missed it). Excellent hotel bar with lots of seating and TVs (March Madness was going on, so we hung out there before dinner). I didn't eat in the hotel though. There's a Dunkin' Donuts located about 2 blocks away, and the former Sears Tower is about 3-4 blocks away. The only con? There's not a lot of restaurants located nearby that are open on Sundays, as this is primarily the financial area, so just be aware of that. Otherwise, it was nice and quiet on the weekends. I will DEFINITELY return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go4elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Time for another get away in Chicago and this hotel did not disappoint.

Inspired: entire staff was excellent

Pro: awesome room, quiet hotel, beautiful finishes, raspberry water in lobby, doormen were excellent, no Legionnaires' disease

Con: nothing at all

Return: absolutely!

Purchased: via Bidding For Good

Room Tip: we had an interior room that was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our 2nd trip to Chicago (for my daughter and I).... I was a little bit confused when we pulled up - nothing looked the same as the hotel last year... we stayed at a different marriott last year. We did make our res here! Check in was great - except our elevator key didn't work. We went back to the desk & they fixed that for us. Finally making it to our room (from the inside you can't tell how old the building is) --- I opened the drapes (large double paned windows!) and what was our view?! The Sears Tower (ok, I know it's the Willis Tower...) we loved our view - watching the clouds move around Willis Tower. We arrived on the 20th - during a little sleet storm. The room was modern and warm! We were on the executive floor and enjoyed the lounge & the employees were amazing with directions! The food was delicious! We loved the hot chocolate! We will be back!

We didn't use the train - but my friend did when she visited us for the day & said it was a great location!

We walked everywhere while we were there! Love the people and the food!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaInATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a premium experience in downtown Chicago. The employees at this property (from the door men to the club lounge are exceptional. If you are in Chicago for a long term stay, this is the property that should be your second home. From the moment they greet you curbside by name it's an excellent experience. The rooms are gorgeous, great gym, personal trainers, beautiful spa, close to everything and a first rate staff that does their absolute best to make you feel comfortable. I am actually quite surprised this property isn't in the top 10!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. The showers are pretty legendary. Mine had a tv in the bathroom mirror! So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was my first time at the JW Marriott in Chicago. I was very impressed with the rooms. The room was very modern, and the bathrooms were very done and spacious. The lobby was also very modern, but a little small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Economist_AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a wonderful old building that has been recently turned into a very fine hotel. It's in the financial district so it's probably not a classic tourist stop. However, we were tourists and the location proved to be excellent because of the fine Chicago public transportation system and our enjoyment of walking.

In many rooms, you'll hear some noise from the El but otherwise it's a good sleep -- Marriott bedding at its best, nice thick doors, quiet plumbing, etc. The bathrooms are of a very high standard with nice amenities. And, the room had the cleanest smell of any hotel room we have been in in perhaps 20 years. There is no heavy-duty deodorizer smell whatsoever.

We had Executive Lounge access and that proved to be wonderful. It was staffed by great people who were proud of their hotel and their city. Nice breakfasts, afternoon snacks and desserts. A real bonus! I love my Platinum card.

Every -- that's EVERY -- employee was exceptionally friendly, welcoming, courteous, helpful and all those other good things. They really are happy to have you in "their" hotel. Next time we are in Chicago, they'll have us back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I was thoroughly impressed with the service here. I was greeted warmly by each employee and most of the time was greeted by name. My room was completely clean, bed was comfortable, and room service was good. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 191 in Chicago
401 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#25 of 191 in Chicago
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £133 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing