We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First off the staff is the nicest I have ever encountered. Majority of the staff (EVERYONE excpet doormen/bell hops) were extremely friendly, made eye contact and seemed to always be upbeat. Rooms are gorgeous, bed is very comfortable, stand up shower is bathroom is huge. Downstairs lounge is nice and inviting. Easy to catch a cab to anywhere you want to go. This JW property is the best by far! MUST STAY!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Victory! While we may covet the 5 Star reviews, more importantly is the fact that you had a memorable and rejuvenating stay. Thank you for the outstanding ratings, our goal now is to see each and every future stay will retain that “wow” factor and we will continue to exceed your expectations.
As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor and as obviously an experienced traveler, your review has added credibility and is sincerely appreciated by both the hotel’s leadership team and all of our associates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Location: Hotel is located within walking distance of some shopping but is a taxi ride to Water Tower Place and that area. Close to theater district. We walked to Grant and Millennium Parks since the weather was nice. Proximity to Union Station and Willis Tower is great – also walkable. Close to highway but not too close. We could hear the train nearby, but it was certainly not a problem.

Lobby: Very large, spacious, and clean. The Lobby Lounge has plenty of seating and reasonably priced appetizers and beverages.

Room: This was much bigger than expected. As mentioned by others, bathroom is fabulous with glass-surround shower and separate tub with toilet area that has sliding door for privacy. It was very clean. Tub is so large/deep that small children will think they have their own pool. Bedroom was also very clean. Beds were comfortable. Automated honors bar prevents guests from using fridge for own supplies, but fridge was offered at check-in and brought to room free of charge. Honors bar prices included $12 nuts and $5 can of Pepsi. Plenty of electrical outlets were available around the room, which was important when traveling with teenagers and their devices. Ipod docking station/clock located between the two beds in our room. Single cup coffee maker is provided. Room was well lit and quickly cooled (very warm upon arrival). Walk-in closet with automatic light was nice. Wall-mounted vanity mirror with light was also nice. View (high floor) was of office buildings across street. Maybe a lower room would have a more exciting view. While we could occasionally hear people in the halls, the sleeping area is not right next to door of room, so this was not a problem. Elevators are not too close to rooms and were surprisingly quick.

Pool/Fitness Room: Clean, not crowded weekday evenings or weekends. Did not use spa.

Staff: Wonderful. Everyone, from check-in staff to man bringing fridge to valets were excellent. Other reviews have mentioned this, but it’s worth repeating. Everyone was exceptionally professional, courteous and efficient.

Internet: Website says this is $14.95/night, but we were not charged for this. It’s a good thing, as it was very slow to the point of nonfunctional. Kids gave up trying to use WiFi on their phones or computers.

Parking: $60 per day seems to be just slightly above other hotel parking rates. On recent Chicago visits we have been charged $48-62 for parking, although we did not stay in the Loop area. If possible, book a rate that includes parking if driving to this hotel. Our reservation included parking and made the overall price very reasonable. Valets were efficient and extremely friendly. Other guests mentioned self-parking down the street, but I would assume that this would be just as expensive.

Check-Out: Our bill was not available for viewing on the television, and no bill provided under door. Check your bill at the desk though. We were initially billed for a different rate than what we booked. This was quickly corrected.

Special recognition to Barrett. We interacted with him twice, and he was wonderfully helpful and courteous!

Room Tip: High rooms may only have a view of office buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luve2Travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you! I think it’s safe to say from your contributor ID and detailed review that you take great pleasure in travelling, and we were fortunate to have you as our guests at the JW Marriott Chicago.
We appreciate your thorough and complimentary review, and hope it may influence readers to experience the new definition of luxury in downtown Chicago. With the advent of Spring, this is the also perfect opportunity to explore the city from the street level from our hotel’s central location. We have also just recently completed an upgrade to the wireless internet service to ensure high speed connectivity from the Lobby to your room.
Again thank you for the kind review, and the recognition of our star performer Barrett in a public forum, we’re delighted he was able to enhance your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was in town for a short business trip and decided to give the JW Chicago a try. In the past, I've had mixed experiences with JW properties in the US - from very outdated to rivaling its sister brand the Ritz. Check-in was flawless, and Alex at the front desk provided a warm welcome. This JW has gotten everything right. The service is attentive and intuitive, but not stuffy. Modern luxury with great technology in the rooms. Connectivity of Ipads to TV, television in bathroom mirror. Housekeeping spotless. Highly recommend if you're looking for a room in the loop for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Wow, we will take great delight in sharing your review with our colleagues at both the JW Marriott branded and Ritz-Carlton hotels.
Although the JW Chicago was integrated into a now 100 year old structure, the vision of the owners was to create an experience not unlike one would have had in a grand hotel of a bygone era, juxtaposed with modern amenities and technological advances. Your comments validated this goal, and we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
Lastly, we are proud of Alex and his co-workers for delivering quality service reflective of our brand and City, and appreciate your public recognition of his efforts which we also take great delight in sharing with the entire staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The front office staff was very friendly but the men that stood outside the door were absolutely wonderful! They would always greet us when we came back and called us cabs when we left. They would take my luggage for me and load the cab. I wish I could have tipped them! The room was a lot bigger than we thought, which was a nice surprise. It was not as clean as a hotel like that should be, but it was not bad. Just a small stain on the pillow and a few black dots on one of the towels. One of the in room guides was all ripped up though, might want to get that replaced. Overall it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callie3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the overall positive review, we pride ourselves on delivering the best service in Chicago and appreciate the opportunity to share feedback such as yours with our associates.
We also take the good with the bad, and apologize if there were some missteps with room cleanliness. Your comments are being reviewed by both upper Management and our Housekeeping leaders as we want to ensure every aspect of your stay is perfect. We would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon, and please feel free to engage the Manager on Duty with any concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was in town for only one night on a business trip. Prior to arriving, I requested an early check-in and a high floor. I was pleased when I was provided with both upon arrival. Check in was quick and efficient. The hotel lobby is expansive and impressive. The room was clean and updated. The tub was HUGE. My only complaint about the room was that my view was entirely of the office building next door, but I suspect that many of the rooms have this because of the position of the buildings.

The concierge was informative. I had lunch at a pizza joint around the corner from the hotel, which afforded me the opportunity to go to the sky deck of the Sears/Willis Tower. I share this because the hotel is convenient to some eateries and to the financial buildings downtown.

The staff at the lobby bar were pleasant and accomodating, the fitness center was large and modern and the spa was nice. The pool area was also nice, though the jets in the hot tub were out of order.

All in all, a terrific hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawdawg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you, always appreciative of a good review, but more importantly that you, our guest, had a memorable stay. Yes, our central location may limit the view, but fortunately many of the surrounding buildings are architecturally significant from Daniel Burnham to Phillip Johnson, and the Rookery to the Willis Tower. That being said however, our rooms were designed to draw your attention in, and we hope the physical amenities (i.e. the bath) along with the service is enough to bring you back for perhaps a longer visit. Our associates are all hospitality driven and proud of their city as well as their hotel, and it is our privilege to have you as our guest. Again, thank you for the positive review, we hope we will be able to accommodate you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the service was great. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well taken care of. We ordered room service and the food was great. The bath tubs are the best part of the rooms. I wanted to take the tub home, so bring along some bubble bath. The location of the hotel is not in a place to go out in, but if you need to stay somewhere near all the financial buildings, this is a good spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjenn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for the gracious review, while we pride ourselves as the only luxury hotel in the Loop, it is truly our associates who set us apart from the competition. Surprisingly our baths have also become one of our strongest attributes, thank you for sharing, and on your next trip should you forget to pack the bubble bath, please let us know and I’m sure we can find some to enhance your stay.
As the weather warms and tourist season begins in earnest, you may be surprised at the dining and shopping options that continue to open in our vicinity. Chicago is a great walking city not only because of its architectural history, to which we’re are centrally located, but we’re also easily accessible to Union Station, Greektown, Restaurant Row, and Grant Park. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to fully experience one of America’s greatest cities, and again end the day with best bath in the Midwest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a good hotel---good lobby, great greeting, good staff, great and quiet rooms, good room service, good exercise room with swimming pool. The location is a bit off the shopping/restaurant track but taxis were always available to get me where I needed to go. Other services were dicier. The spa put me on hold for 5 minutes each of the two calls I made to schedule, so I gave up. The hotel's Florentine restaurant was a disappointment if you want more than pasta and steak, and the internet connections for entertainment and business still need attention. But all in all, a pleasant retreat from the weather and city bustle.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet if you want it---high floor facing a courtyard was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you! When the JW Chicago opened its doors a few years ago one of our goals was to establish ourselves as an “urban oasis” as the premier luxury hotel in Chicago’s Financial District. While we discovered a market for both the business and leisure traveler, the response from guests such as yourself in recognizing the quality of our hotel as well as our staff has been a reward in and of itself.
We also learn from our shortcomings, and want you to know your review is being addressed by the hotel management. We recently completed an internet upgrade, so that should be a non-issue on future visits, and should you have any problems regarding reservations or dining experiences, please contact the manager on duty for immediate resolution. We want your stay to be perfect and will do anything in our power to see that your experience is always above expectation.
Thanks again for the positive recommendation, and we hope you will be our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,727 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#111 of 192 in Chicago
617 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#115 of 192 in Chicago
2,604 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £145 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing