We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for hotel stay in Chicago loop area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great choice for hotel stay in Chicago loop area”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful hotel. Beautifully laid out room and bathroom. Attended a wedding at the hotel as well...outstanding banquet meal as well as gorgeous ballrooms. I have stayed at a lot of great hotels in downtown Chicago. This one ranks right up there with the best of them. Not a problem being in loop area. We had beautiful weather so it was a great walk up (15 min) to the miracle mile (north michigan avenue).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you! While we do pride ourselves for the design of our public spaces and guest rooms, our Banquet and Culinary teams are also rated among the best in the Chicago area and the JW Marriott Brand, thank you for the acknowledgment.
We’re pleased you had a memorable stay, and in light of your Top Contributor status with TripAdvisor, your review has added value and we are most appreciative of your ratings. Hopefully the opportunity to bring you back from St. Louis will avail itself soon, and we can have you as our guest once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    383
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
208
295
45
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I spent Memorial Day Weekend here for a family wedding. We did not know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in an old Daniel Burnham designed bank building which was completely renovated about four years ago. They did a great job of bringing it up to date, while keeping the style and class from 100 years ago.

We stayed in a "Standard Room", which was described as 455 sq feet with two very comfortable double beds. Lighting for each bed was great, with headboard equipped reading lights. There is a wonderful A-V panel in each room, for use with a variety of high tech equipment.

The bathroom has a long double vanity sink, a very deep and large bath (almost like a whirlpool, but without the jets), and roomy shower. The toilet is in the same room, separated by a pocket door. Ten foot ceilings and great ventilation prevented steaming while one person showered, and the other used the vanity. There is a great under vanity night light system which does not cast light into the bedroom, but guides you easily to the bathroom for late night visits.

The service is good, for the most part. Dropping off luggage and getting valet service for our luggage took about 15 minutes. ("We are out of carts"). They need a luggage storage system so guests do not need to wait lined up in the cars, parking illegally on a busy city street. Another problem is the lack of "turn down service" in the evening. Both nights we stayed, we called guest services to have our wet towels replaced. New towels were left in the bathroom, but the wet ones were never taken away.

My other complaint is with the Valet Parking Fee. It cost $60 per night to valet park (the only option), which includes in-out-out privileges. I know these fees are controlled by Standard Parking Corp, the "COMCAST of parking lots" in Chicago. I feel the hotel should negotiate a better rate for their clients.

The location is in the heart of the Financial District. It is a pleasant 1/2 mile walk to Grant Park, Millennium Park, the Art Institute and State Street. Plenty of restaurants are in the area, but many are closed on Saturday and Sunday. Call ahead to check. We would definitely stay here again as an alternative to the North Michigan Avenue hotels.

Room Tip: The only rooms with a view are the ones facing Adams Street. Otherwise, all you see are adjacent bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
And we would definitely love to have you as our guest again soon…
Thank you for the complimentary and highly informative review, travelers to Chicago are increasingly reliant upon social media for their recommendations, and we of course appreciate the positive remarks.
Our apologies for any undue wait checking in, please note these reviews are not only seen by fellow travelers but also hotel leadership, and they actively address these rare service failures.
Valet Parking costs in the city can be prohibitive, however we too are subject to what the market dictates and even those hotels with their own parking structures are in the same price range. Fortunately for you though, Deerfield is but a short trip away via Metra, we are literally just a couple of blocks from Union Station, and self-parking is also readily available in the immediate area. Regardless of your mode of transport, so long as we are the destination for your next visit downtown, we will be happy to accommodate you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent a Monday to Thursday here during a work conference -- Chicago will always have traffic, so with that put aside, this is a great place for a 2-3 day business meeting.

PROS:
1. Lots of meeting space (large ballrooms, breakout rooms, bar/lounge on first floor)
2. Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious for something in the city

CONS:
1. If you don't book meeting space ahead of time, I could see your meeting spaces being held on different floors. (I'm taking this as a con, but might be a pro for others)
2. Not close to the Mag Mile, so not as many shopping/entertainment venues

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakuhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you! Many travelers mistakenly assume the JW Marriott is nothing more than a business hotel for overnight stays due to its location in Chicago’s Financial District, but as you have generously pointed out we are one of the leading and most luxurious locations to host meetings for a few in one of our well appointed Boardrooms to several hundred in our Grand or Burnham Ballrooms.
Appreciate your pros and cons too, as an experienced traveler others value your recommendation, and we too want our product to be a perfect fit for someone’s event. The only exception might be though while Michigan Avenue is a popular tourist draw, the real Chicago is found off of the Mag Mile. Some of Chicago’s hottest restaurants are within easy walking distance to our hotel; shopping on State Street is literally just a few blocks away; and we are the closest luxury hotel to cultural icons such as the Art Institute and Museum Campus.
Again, thank you for the positive review, we hope the opportunity to return to Chicago will avail itself again soon either for business or pleasure and we will be able to accommodate you during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I held a meeting at the JW Marriott in Chicago in April. Guest rooms are extremely large for Chicago standards, quiet and well-appointed. Bed was extremely comfortable and room had lovely, large bathroom. Service from staff throughout the hotel was exceptional...from the bell staff, front desk, to banquet services. Our three day meeting was well-received...what contributed to this was the attentive staff. Maria was one of our servers and she did an excellent job making sure our attendees were well taken care of. If you're considering a meeting in Chicago, definitely consider the JW Marriott. Brandy from Sales, Lisa Grover from meeting services and even David, the AV expert were a tremendous help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you. While it’s expected our associates at Reception receive the most guest comments, it’s with great delight when our equally outstanding associates on the sidelines are publicly recognized, especially by a Top Contributor to TripAdvisor.
Our Banquet, Culinary, and Audio Visual staff also takes great pride in the presentation and delivery of productive meetings and memorable social events. We have become well known for hosting events with meals crafted not unlike fine dining, then delivered professionally and attended to by the best catering team in the Chicago area.
Thank you again for the positive review, we hope this was the first of many events and/or stays we will be able to provide to you well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at the hotel many times and we are never disappointed! The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the room rates are good (watch for the specials that include parking...makes the stay very affordable). The staff is top notch from the front desk, to the lounge, to the valet...everyone is helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you! One challenge with our repeat guests is finding new and creative ways to continually exceed their expectations. Fortunately the physical aspects of the hotel speak for themselves, but it is our associates who continue to deliver unparalleled customer service and truly welcome the opportunity to take care of our guests again and again. Thank you for recognizing our staff in a public forum, for your positive recommendation, and for the complimentary review, very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice newish hotel around 3 years, the building us an impressive old bank. Rooms fresh and comfortable, corridors still fresh but the best thing about this hotel is the staff, most of the staff I encountered were very friendly and service minded, I actually felt they enjoyed their jobs, well done hotel management. The room service was a bit indifferent as is usual in the US but this is a nice hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SNRinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Perfect, while we are proud of the physical aspects of our hotel, it is without doubt our associates who make us Chicago’s premier luxury hotel. For a Top Contributor to publicly recognize our outstanding staff is also rewarding, thank you. Management does critique all guest reviews, and of course we appreciate the positive ones, but we too are fortunate in that the staff is hospitality oriented and takes pride in this hotel on their own accord. We look forward to your return to the States and having you as our guest again well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Did not expect anything special when I checked in late Saturday evening, but what a great surprise awaited me at the end of the long walk through the corridor - A beautiful, newly and tastefully refurbished, spacious suite, perfectly quiet and well appointed.

Room Tip: 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you! Sometimes the most rewarding perks are the ones which are least expected, and a 5 star review from a Top Contributor was our positive surprise today and we appreciate it. Can’t promise you a suite on every stay, but hopefully we will always be able to find a way to go above and beyond your expectations in the future. Thanks again, and look forward to accommodating you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#104 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing