We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #35 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Although not in the golden mile, the hotel is very well located, close to the Willis Tower (former Sears Tower) the metro and the financial district. The staff is very nice and makes you feel at home since you enter for the first time (I found Miguel especially helpful, ask for him, he will make your stay a fantastic experience). The rooms are spacious, clean, and quite well equipped. Nice gym also, although the swimming pool is very small. Nice bar close to the lobby although I was surprised there was only one size of beer and it was not possible to order something smaller.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanicaCanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Teşekkür ederim! We are finding our location away from Michigan Avenue is one of our better benefits, convenient to the business traveler, but a whole new perspective on Chicago for the leisure traveler.
As for our staff, and especially Miguel, thank you for the public acknowledgement of what we consider to be the hospitality leaders in the Midwest.
We hope your travels bring you back to Chicago in the near future; and the opportunity for us to have you as our guest will present itself soon. Again, thank you for the gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    390
    101
    25
    19
See reviews for
217
295
47
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at the JW Marriott because the Hilton was booked and I'm SOLD on the JW. The room was beautiful, location ideal, the lobby was impeccable, a great place to people watch. I love the Hilton's executive floor but overall, the Marriott is better. The room was bigger and not as noisy as the hilton. The entire hotel sparkles as it just had a huge renovation. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveoutlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you, and with all due respect to our competitor down the street, the Hilton’s loss is surely our gain. We pride ourselves as being the only luxury tier hotel in the Loop, and as you have discovered our unique location is in the heart of one of the City’s most vibrant areas. While we were incorporated into an historical office building, the entire interior is new construction with the most modern amenities and room designs available. We are happy you were able to experience a stay here, and appreciate the positive recommendation in a public forum. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great location, right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Nice rooms as well, very spacious and modern. The customer service was fantastic as well, front desk and concierge were well versed on directions and had helpful tips on which restaurants to visit, lounges, bus routes etc. They also lent us these fantastic umbrellas when it was raining.

Only complaint was the lack of free wifi in the rooms. Paying this much for a room should come with free wifi, although I understand that the business crowd that this caters to would pay for it anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Excellent review, thank you! We do pride ourselves on being the only luxury tier hotel in the Loop, but even more proud of our associates who have raised the standard for service expectations in the City. Please note all comments are taken seriously both good and bad, and while there are some things such as internet charges that may currently be a fixed industry standard, ultimately complete guest satisfaction is our goal and we appreciate your input. Hopefully your next visit to Chicago will return you to our hotel and we will look for new opportunities to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip and enjoyed the location. I had a few hours to kill so I walked around the area. I was close to what used to be known as the Sears Tower and ate at Giordano's. I also rented a Divvey (sp?) and rode around the city.

The room was great, nice lobby bar, and was a good overall value

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Egrose215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you, we sincerely appreciate those reviews submitted by Senior Contributors, and delighted to see you had a memorable stay. Our unique location in the Loop has opened the door for a new wave of travelers to explore a corner of the city once reserved for traders, bankers, and the architectural aficionados. By foot or by Divvy, our beautiful city is best view at street level and can be easily navigated even for the 1st time visitor. We hope that the opportunity for you to return either on business or pleasure will avail itself again soon, it would be our honor to have you as one of our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You don't put your name on the hotel unless it is special. You can pay less for a good Marriott in Chicago, but you will get more value and be closer to many key spots at this hotel. Good food.
Wonderful well designed room with a bed we would like to steal. Each feature a notch up from most of the chains hotels. They do have AAA rates that include parking that can save significant dollars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonchance_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Well stated, the JW Marriott brand was in fact founded as a tribute to our namesake. It is our obligation to ensure the quality of the hotel and its elevated level of service provide each guest with a memorable visit. As many travelers like you have discovered, Chicago’s Loop is a vibrant, active, and historical must-see for both the local and world traveler. We are especially appreciative when a Senior Contributor reviews our hotel, and it goes without saying the 5-star ratings are priceless to the hotel leaders and associates, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel stand out as one of the absolute best we ever stayed in. First off our room was gorgeous and large. Me and my husband were upgraded to the club lounge which was amazing. We stay with Marriott often and this lounge was by far the best. We were struck by the generous and friendly staff. The front desk agent Noel greeted us warmly and the concierge Eric gave us great recomendations. This hotel is definitely one to choose. It is a little far from the shopping area on Michigan Avenue, but very close to museums and the Skydeck Tower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmills318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Absolutely Great! Thank you, we too consider ourselves fortunate to have arguably the best associates in the Chicago area, if not the Midwest. They truly do want our guests to have the best possible stay, and when combined with the luxury standards set forth for the JW Marriott brand, we hope to have become the leading upscale hotel in the region. We appreciate your positive recognition in a public forum and hope your travels will bring you back to Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is by far the best hotel within the Loop. It is beautiful and the rooms are very well done and quiet (something most of the Loop hotels are not due to the EL train). I have stayed at almost all of the hotels within the Loop and there is no comparison. It is within walking distance of just about everything in downtown Chicago. This will definitely be my first choice to stay at when I have to travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Success! You’ve now discovered what accomplished travelers from around the globe have also found, Chicago’s premier luxury hotel and its unique location in the City’s Loop. Chicago is indeed easy to move about by foot, but also has around the clock public and private transportation options to deliver our guests to wherever they need to be. Thank you for the positive recommendation and intent to return, however we consider ourselves fortunate in providing productive and memorable stays to guests such as yourself and hope to be your hotel of choice well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
224 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#105 of 189 in Chicago
2,501 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing