We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #41 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great property! Great service at the front desk (they ran out of tooth brushes in the personal hygiene box and they walked right into the gift shop - grabbed me a tooth brush and just gave it to me), gym is excellent, concierge lounge is great and the room is extremely nice with a really comfortable bed. Top notch!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you, as your hotel portfolio indicates you are quite the experienced traveler, for us to obtain such high ratings is an honor. We are proud of the physical attributes of our hotel, but it our associates and their desire to see your stay is exceptional that sets us apart. Sometimes it only takes a toothbrush to tip the scales, but perfection often comes down to the smallest detail and if that’s what it took to make your stay excellent, then we succeeded. Thank you again, and we hope the opportunity to have you as our guest again avails itself soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    375
    97
    25
    18
See reviews for
203
286
44
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Celebrating a special occasion? No need to look any further. The JW Marriott Chicago was the best choice for celebrating my wife's 50th Bday. Catherine Mrowiec the GM went above and beyond to ensure that we had a perfect room type. Don, The GM's assistant surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne waiting in our room. Don called my place of employment and got my wife's first name in order to personalize the welcome card. What an unexpected treat!

When checking in, Barrett at the Front Desk, greeted us with a huge smile and happy bday wish to my wife. He was so sincere with his approach to serve. What a great asset to the hotel. The housekeeper that cleaned our room did a spectacular job. You could tell he / she took priced in their work. Every where we went through out the hotel, there were smiles and positive energy from all of the staff.

Turning 50 is a big milestone. I wanted to make sure that my wife had a celebration to remember. The Hotel delivered on big expectations. The property is swanky, yet genuinely warm with its service. The room décor and appointments far exceed most other comparable hotels. The location was so convenient to all of our activities, (play at the Oriental Theatre, Water taxi to Magnificent Mile, train to Wrigley, Giordano's deep dish Pizza, etc...). We spent less time getting to places and more time enjoying the city.

My wife felt like a queen and has already raved to her friends and family about how great the hotel delivered on her special occasion. When we come back to Chicago, we will definitely be returning the JW Marriott. If you are planning for a special occasion or even for work, this property is the first choice for your stay. Great big kudos to the team at the JW Marriott Chicago! They really know how to make a guest feel special!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelguy0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
A big thank you for the outstanding review. A little awkward responding to a review inclusive of oneself, but it should be noted the hotel is reflective of Ms Mrowiec’s vision, and that of our namesake’s, where if we take care of the employee, they in turn will take care of the guest. Barett is truly one of our superstars; thank you also for the public acknowledgement of our Housekeeping staff; and for the overall positive and detailed review.
Regarding the half century milestone, it was our pleasure to share in this experience, but hopefully your wife is okay with now the whole world knowing her age (if it helps, our generation keeps reiterating that 50 is the new 40). While we would love to welcome you back regardless of the reason, and we might not commemorate turning 51 with quite as much fanfare, we would still like to see you again and allow her to once again be queen for a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Came in for a fun weekend.

This hotel is located in a great location, blocks from Millenium park, the willis tower(sears tower), and theatres...also directly across the street from the W.

Neil the doorman was a great help. Friendly, attentive and quick.

The gym is excellent. You can definitely get a full workout in. They also have a pool.

The rooms were clean, spacious, and luxurious. Unfortunately, I was placed in a handicap accessible room without being notified ahead of time, but overall it was a great room.

The lobby seems to close down early for drinks/food which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you are in town for.

bottom line - luxury hotel with a nice offering.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you! As always, we value the input of Senior Contributors and appreciate the high rating and recommendation. More and more visitors are discovering our unique location, and with an obligatory tip of the hat to our neighbors, someday perhaps the landmark references will indicate they are across the street from the JW Marriott.
We also hope to change the perception that accessible rooms are somehow less than a standard room. While ADA Laws mandate a certain percentage of rooms are available, the amenities and features are the same, simply a different configuration allowing those with limited mobility easier access.
And on behalf of our associates in the Lobby Lounge, they want you to know its close proximity is a good thing. The comfort and security of your room is only steps away, and the opportunity for us to interact with our visitors from New York is indeed our pleasure. We look forward to your next visit, until then safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The JW Marriott Chicago was a spectacular experience. We celebrated our anniversary there and the staff gave us a hand written note when we checked in. The service was stellar and the amenities were amazing. Thank you JW!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you, and Happy Anniversary! We value the opportunity to celebrate the personal milestones of our guests as indirectly we too become part of the celebration. While we would love to see you annually to commemorate your nuptials, you will always be most welcome for any reason during any season; we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUSA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for the proximity to the Art Institute and found it to be a gem, with lovely spacious lobby as this used to be a Federal Reserve Bldg 4 years ago. The king room was extra spacious with a huge bathroom and both the bedroom and bath had beautiful artwork. Were were on the 9th floor and had a nice quiet sleep.
An extra plus is that there is a W right across the street.
The only downsides were late room readiness and the usual annoying internet charge from a upscale business hotel.
Even the business center internet charges were by the minute, grrrrr

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanCYardleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the high ratings, social media has become such a major factor for the savvy traveler and we rely upon reviews such as yours to drive and maintain an interest in our unique hotel. While we were incorporated into a now 100 year old structure, the interior is completely new construction with some of the largest rooms and most modern amenities to be found in Chicago. As our intent is for every stay to be beyond exception, we also take any critiques seriously. The internet charges may be here for a while, but room readiness did raise a red flag. On future visits please contact the Manager on Duty if there are any aspects of your stay that need to be addressed, we want everything about your visit to be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The JW Marriott in Chicago is located just a short walk to the Willis Tower (aka the Sears Tower). However, the view of Chicago and of the Willis Tower was a bit disappointing. We were on the 8th floor with a view of the Willis Tower, which was basically a view of the top of a parking garage, and the face of the Willis tower. Our room was very nice large room. However, the red chairs in the room do need to be upholstered. The bathroom was wonderful!!!! The bathroom was enormous with a full shower, a large soaking tub, and 2 sinks with separate vanities!! The food was great, and the lounge was nice. However, there was one night when there was a convention on the second floor just above and open to the marble lobby. The sounds of people just talking and walking around was deafening. Be once we got into the elevator the noise was gone. The staff at the hotel was incredible. They were always helpful, and many of them recognized us after we had been there just a few day, and by the time we had been there a week they knew what we needed before we even asked. Our housekeeper was a gem, and the valet was always helpful. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to pay extra for something then pay for a larger room. Don't waste your money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themisskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review. While our urban location may unfortunately pose some restrictions regarding the view, the designers hoped, and hopefully succeeded, in directing your attention inward. Hotel management takes guest comments seriously both good and bad, and like all of our associates want to make sure each and every stay is beyond exception. We will take your suggestions to heart; we appreciate the detailed and complimentary review; but most of all we hope this was but the first of many more visits to come. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel just a couple minutes walk from Willis Tower. The lobby and lounge is gorgeous. The restaurant is fantastic. The staff are very friendly, helpful, and aim to please. The rooms are luxurious with all the high end amenities one demands for the price this hotel demands. This is a great place to have a corporate event, a conference, or even a wedding. Next im in chicago I will be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the flattering review, we value the time and feedback from a Top Contributor, and appreciate the recommendation for other travelers who have yet to experience Chicago’s premier luxury hotel. Our challenge now is to ensure each subsequent visit is better than the last; we very much look forward to this opportunity to accommodate you well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#101 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing