We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not "JW" Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, but not "JW" Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Overall it is an inviting place to stay. The Staff was friendly and check-in was easy and quick. However, the room was just average. Sleeping area was very small, but it did have a nice bathroom. Frosted windows so you could not see outside at all. The air conditioner would not cool the room and we had it set as low as the thermostat would go.
The Bar area was nice to sit and relax, but nothing over the top.
Valet was a breeze. Very efficient, as it should be for $60 per night + tip.
As this started, overall an inviting place to stay, but we expected more from a JW property as we have experienced at other JW Marriotts.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors as they seemed to have windows you could see out of (not frosted) and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacay-indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Our apologies your stay was not up to your expectations, we regret you didn’t address your concerns with the Manager on Duty while you were still in our care as I’m sure the outcome may have been different. Our unique placement in an historical building and downtown Chicago does present some challenges regarding views and room configurations, and while the rooms are priced at different tiers to facilitate these issues, the service level and in-room amenities are equally applied to all of our guest rooms. Regardless, thank you for the overall high ratings and we sincerely hope your journeys bring you north again soon and we can once again have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    383
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
208
295
45
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent a night during Labor Day weekend with my husband and two young teens. We arrived shortly after 3:00 p.m. and had a quick and easy check-in experience. We even found the person checking us in had gone to college in our home town.

Our room was modern, clean and quiet! The beds were absolutely spot-on perfect for us! The bathroom was very luxurious with a separate glass enclosed shower and a large soaking tub. The dressing area was separate from the toilet (which was tucked behind a pocket door). The 'night light' in the bathroom was perfect for sleeping.

The Ylang Ylang bath soaps were a nice touch for pampering both genders. The towels were so soft (not the typical starchy experience) and bathrobes (for two of us) were included in the room.

There was plenty of space to spread out!

Room Tip: Rm 1033 faced Adams St. It was NOT noisy and we never heard the El.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyBlueTulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you! We love to read reviews from a family perspective as our most readers think our location warrants business travel, but in fact we are the closest Luxury Hotel to the Willis Tower, Art Institute, and Grant Park, all family friendly destinations. More importantly though, the fact that you and your family had an enjoyable stay is crucial to our success; we appreciate the high ratings and kind review, and hope we will see you again on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Staff was nice and cold juice/water in the lobby was much appreciated but breakfast was pricey and the mini fridge was was full of the permanent shelves that charge you if you move their stuff so don't plan on bringing that nice piece of steak back and keeping it cold for lunch the net day. Not usable by the guests at all. Totally annoying for those who have special items for children that need to be chilled. Actually just totally annoying for people like me who never finish my dinner. Grrr

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNL2ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for the overall positive review and ratings, our regret is a call to any of our associates would have warranted the immediate delivery of a separate refrigerator to your room for personal items. We also have breakfast inclusive packages for two on certain weekends, or at a slightly higher rate, Executive Level rooms with access to the Executive Lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres for you and your guest. Apologies we did not address your needs while you were in our care, but hopefully this will give us an opportunity to have you as our guest again soon, and for your next stay to be perfect without exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Special thanks to Dylan for going out of his way to accommodate us.
I came into town for surgery and this was a fabulous place to recuperate.

We had several special needs and they were taken quickly and efficiently by the staff.

The executive lounge had long hours, good food and excellent service.

The mani/pedi blowout at the spa was a nice touch and convenient.

Thanks again. Looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you! The mantra of our namesake was “if you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customer”. Our most valuable asset is our staff, we are fortunate to have a team dedicated to providing the highest level of service not only in Chicago, but within the JW Marriott brand. Thank you for the public recognition of our associates and our hotel, we hope you are fully recovered and will soon visit us again and be able to experience the hotel and the city in perfect health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the JW Marriott over the past few weeks, and can honestly say that it is my top choice for accommodations when I'm in the city!

I must say that the Concierge Lounge team is one of, if not the best I've encountered at any Marriott property. Their attention to detail, efforts to get to know the guests, and genuine concern for every guest's satisfaction is something that you just don't find everywhere you go. Hats off to each of them - Gilberto, Katie, Daniel and Dimetreus...they all deserve special recognition for the job they do!

The hotel itself is wonderful - an old bank building that has been reconfigured into a beautiful hotel property. The rooms are large and well appointed, my bathroom was huge with a separate tub and glass shower. It's a huge place, but very quiet.

Definitely will stay here every chance I get!

Room Tip: Rooms with exterior windows are best. There are also rooms that look into an interior area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you very much, and I have a feeling you are a guest where the Law of Reciprocity applies. From your extensive travels, hotel portfolio, and reading your candid review, no doubt you are the rare guest who “gets what you put out”. Hospitality is really a two way street, when a person respects and appreciates the service provided (and it’s not limited to the hotel industry), the service provider picks up on that and in most cases will go, or should go, out of their way to provide the best experience possible. While we of course respect all our guests, it is our pleasure to accommodate a guest like yourself who interacts with our associates in a cordial manner. We hope in all of your travels the good karma you present to others is returned to you two fold, and we very much look forward to your return visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Business for the hubby, pleasure for me.
First impression, from the bell person to the lady on the lobby welcoming us,they knew our name, I guess they just looked at the name tag on the luggage , easy but that it is a special touch that sets the tone.
We were on the 12th floor, business level, the room was roomy, clean, comfy robes, no slippers, bathroom was large, big bathtub, big shower , very nice amenities , turn down bed service, quiet room, we were on the inside courtyard no view but that is okay, sometimes in big city I will take quiet, I can skip the noise of police/ambulance/train
The lounge was more then nice, breakfast were a little different every day and the coffee was very hot, a big plus for me, in the evening they had complimentary wine and on Thursday a wine tasting, again nice touch, the food was good , it is free so I cannot complain!
The staff was very friendly, helpful when asked and polite
Overall a great hotel, what you would expect in a JW, location is good, walking distance to the millennium park

Room Tip: Inside rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odilelosaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for the kind review, and for including us with your extensive portfolio of reviews. As a Top Contributor we sincerely value your insight and appreciate your positive comments. We also appreciate the public recognition of our staff, they truly are what separates us from the competition and deliver the service and amenities a well-traveled guest such as yourself should expect. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The pros: everything was clean, amenities were all there, the bed (king size) was very comfortable (although duvet was really warm), TV, robes, a large bath tub and a separate shower, a TV embedded in the bathroom mirror. I was given a room on the executive level which made access to the lounge easy. Staff was very professional (especially at check-in - very friendly). Location is good, just few blocks from the Lake etc. The room was very quiet (which is key to me). TV, internet all good, cleaning service impeccable. I did not use the gym (I ran to the lake and river every day) but my colleagues told me it was large, and open 24hrs.

The cons: There is nothing particularly "upscale" or "special" about the place. The rooms are small (and yes it's downtown Chicago and that is to be expected for a large city hotel), the views non existent (I could just see other rooms across a patio). It is missing that "luxury" touch you would expect from a JW. They don't give you slippers for instance which many upscale hotels do. It's just a bed a desk and a TV. No additional touch. To me this is what a regular Marriott should look like. There is no Starbucks or convenient coffee shops inside (besides their bar and the Florentine lounge). Very simple. The executive lounge itself is very minimal and small (although the staff there is also very friendly). I remember the breakfast spread at the JW in Lima and that was something else. Here you get some eggs, sometimes bacon, sometimes none. It's good yet not "special".

Overall a solid clean very convenient and well equipped place to stay downtown Chicago but not a luxury experience.

Room Tip: 12th Floor with access to the Executive Lounge was very good. Not sure if they have higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your thorough review, we appreciate reading when we do something right but also take note if there is room for improvement. We regret you missed coffee and breakfast in our Lobby Lounge, although there are three Starbucks within a block of the hotel entrance, most of our guests prefer our fresh brewed coffee, breakfast items, and pastries prepared in-house to those delivered to the franchise coffee shops. And while the physical limitations of our historical structure and urban location may define the room size or view, our service levels surpass those of any hotel in the Chicago area. We would ask on your next visit to please address your concerns with the Manager on Duty. While the definition of luxury may vary from location to location, our goal is to ensure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#104 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing