We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #35 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great service”
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Beautiful hotel with great rooms. Especially impressed with the service. Good location within walking distance of the shopping area. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    390
    101
    25
    19
See reviews for
217
295
47
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The hotel is a recently remodeled old bank, or so I was told by a few people while we were staying there. The lobby is beautiful and though ours was quite small, the room was very well appointed. It was a great start to our day to have a coffee at the Illy bar in the lobby with Brandon giving us helpful advice. The hotel is within walking distance to the Art Institute and the 'bean'. We had great meals at the Purple Pig, Volare, Avec, and the Publican, Go to the Hancock building at sunset for a drink, wow! The service at the JW was spot on. There will be a pool but it's not finished yet (much to the disappointment of my kids!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Having stayed at numerous other JW Marriott Hotels - and always loving them - I was very excited to try the brand-spanking new JW Marriott in Chicago, and I was not disappointed!

The atmosphere upon entering the lobby is one of understated elegance, with marble everywhere. The staff is warm and welcoming, very friendly, and extremely accommodating. The room, while not the largest I've experienced, was comfortable with great amenities, including a large flat-screen TV, mini-bar refrigerator, and iPod docking alarm clock. The bed was very comfortable except for the pillows, but I have yet to find a hotel with pillows firm enough for my liking anyway, so I don't hold it against this particular hotel - they were standard hotel-quality pillows. The bathroom was very nice, with a glass shower and oversized soaking tub.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast, and found the service to be okay. There were far too many staff members for the number of diners, and their "overpresence" was a bit annoying at times (not so much intrusive, but just too many staff members walking around the dining area constantly). They were friendly, however, and the food was excellent. We also ate dinner in the restaurant, and found the service much more complimentary to the atmosphere of the restaurant. The food at dinner was superb!

The location of the hotel, while not in the middle of all the Chicago action, was convenient. The orange line train stop is only a block away, which makes getting to the hotel from Midway a breeze, and the bustling shopping of State Street is within walking distance.

I find it enormously ironic that two of the reviews for this hotel are dated before the hotel opened. Some of the other complaints included having to pay for internet - this is a standard expense at full-service hotels. The parking cost at this hotel was also very high, which is why we didn't bring a car.

Overall, this hotel was very nice, and I would recommend it without hesitation. The minor inconveniences we experienced were just that - minor. They are also likely attributable to them working out the kinks, as the hotel has only been open for a month. Another excellend JW Marriott experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpianoman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Being a brand new hotel you might expect some start up glitches. Not so, this hotel was perfect. We were able to walk to the hotel from Union Station, the El and was at the corner near the hotel. The staff could not do enough for us. The room was so comfortable and new and clean. The bathroom was to die for. The soaking tub was unbelievable. Under mount lighting at the vanity, large stand alone shower and small separate toilet room. Thick doors and virtually sound proof. How great was our stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
224 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#105 of 189 in Chicago
2,501 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing