We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment with no cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I am staying here for 4 days with my family. The apartment and the view are awesome. However we don't get any cleaning during our whole stay. This is the first time it happens to us. The rates charged could easily include (and it's needed) cleaning at least twice a week. Also front desk should be more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked 2 apartments for my husband and his family to stay in on a family reunion trip to Chicago. We are due to fly at 9am today and we received an email at 7.30 pm this evening saying they have overbooked and we can no longer have the apartments. We are now trying to find somewhere else to stay at 2am, the night before we fly.

This is disgusting- the manager wrote and email and then left for the day and the incompetent reception staff will not do anything to help us except offer us ONE night's stay at a hotel 16 miles out of the city centre. One of our party is seriously ill and we had booked this central location so we could meet family easily. I find this unacceptable, appalling behaviour and the lack of interest we have encounted in helping us out of a situation that IS ENTIRELY THEIR FAULT astounds me. What kind of business are they running? DO NOT TRUST THEM and make sure you book a back up if you have already booked an apartment here.

Our holiday is already spoiled as after doing 14 hours days for the last 3 weeks so we could come on holiday, we are now stressing out at 2am trying to find somewhere to stay when we land tomorrow.

Disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A_TravellerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeStreetApts, President of BridgeStreet Residences, Serviced Apartments and Suites at State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear A_travellerFlorida,

Thank you for your feedback . Unfortunately, that weekend we found ourselves unusually overbooked due to the number of conventions occurring in downtown Chicago. We can appreciate your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I want to assure you that we take guest satisfaction very seriously and that this is not in anyway indicative of a typical BridgeStreet experience. I hope we have the opportunity to provide a more positive guest experience for you in the future and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you directly.

Best,

Lee Curtis
President | BridgeStreet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have stayed here plently of times. This is the best place to stay in the city. I dont underestand why people get hotel room when they can get an apartment in a brand new building for the same price if not cheaper. The front desk team is excellent, and very friendly, especially Edith and Matt. We has a one bedroom apartment with amazing views of the city. A shower outside of the bathtub was something cool and something I have never seen.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funkybeat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from a 9 night stay in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment in Bridgestreets State and Grand apartment located above the Palamor Hotel.
We booked on Bridgestreet.com website and paid less than we were going to pay for a single hotel room.
We had 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms lounge and full kitchen including washer dryer.All the rooms had floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views over Chicago.The apartment was modern and clean with plenty of towels provided .
The staff on the front desk were always friendly and helpful and arranged a private hummer to the airport for us for the same price as a taxi.
The location is perfect for the mag mile as you just walk round the corner and cut through Nordstrom.
If you want pampering this wont be for you as there is no housekeeping but for us it was perfect and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Excellent accommodation. Great location and views. Well equipped kitchen. Lobby staff very helpful and friendly. So glad we did not stay in a hotel as originally planned. Must come back when the weather is better!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babycake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: que sea un piso alto
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: شقق واسعة مناسبة للعائلات
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Om s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,558 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide

Address: 505 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £119 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exciting surroundings and lifestyle of the River North neighborhood at State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide. A uniquely spacious apartment presents an inspirational interior design within an exciting urban environment, where luxury and exemplary on-site service and exceptional amenities provide you with a level of comfort that transforms your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing