We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Leonidas Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #35 of 181 Dessert in Chicago
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This European-style cafe features Leonidas gourmet chocolates, chocolate fondue, hot chocolate, espresso, tea, croissants baked daily, gelato and other french pastries. You might recognize the name Leonidas - their premium chocolates are sold at over 1,400 locations worldwide, imported directly to this store from Brussels every two weeks.Looking for a place to enjoy a warm summer night? Come sip iced lattes, teas or smoothies and taste our delicious gelato on the Parisian-themed outdoor terrace.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place reminds me of some Eastern European guy who opened up a perfume store yeas ago on Wilson Ave. in Chicago. You see mostly old people there. Down the street on Central Starbucks has maybe 400 customers between 6:00AM and 8:00AM in the morning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a secret place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We happened to find this little shop by accident just walking through Chicago. As soon as you walk in you are surrounded by the smells of Belgian chocolate and other sweet smells. They serve chocolate, coffees, cupcakes, and more. It is a really small place so I hope you don't mind bumping into a person or two. They have great prices and a very friendly atmosphere. We bought their banana cupcakes with nutella frosting. They were so good! Check this little place out and you won't be disappointed :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindseyK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hoping for more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Cute little shop but I wanted some great Belgium chocolate cocoa and was unimpressed with what I received. It was fine but nothing extraordinary (as I generally find Belgium chocolate to be).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“White Hot Chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stopped here on our way to the subway station and on the way back to our hotel! Good thing I don't live here or I would be visiting this place all the time. I don't care for a strong mocha flavor so the white hot chocolate was perfect for me. Now that I am hooked, I can't seem to find it anywhere, at least not in FL! I have a weakness for almond croissants and the one here did not disappoint. Nice balance of almond flavor and sweetness. On our was back to our hotel we stopped back in to get some macarons. While they are small, they have the perfect crisp outside and chewy inside. My mouth is watering as I type! Don't miss this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CaraMiaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Belgian Chocolatier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Had their Groupon for peppermint mocha and chocolate tasting for two. Beyond worth it, five chocolates and a medium hot Chocolate. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonidas Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Leonidas Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing