We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Chains...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skip the Chains...”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This Prairie School Masterpiece in Rogers Park is meticulously appointed, and situated perfectly to access restaurants, bars and public transportation. Despite how grand and elegant the house is, the innkeepers make every effort to see that you are comfortable, and informed. I was lost in a snow storm…literally, and spent two nights in a quiet comfortable room, and was able to have top-notch Indian food, around the corner, and excellent lunch and a glass of wine, at Tow Bar, around that same corner. Speaking of Prairie School Masterpieces…right next door is the Emil Bach House, by Frank Lloyd Wright, the restoration of which is nearly complete. It snowed the entire two days I was there…which was great since I was snuggly settled in, and great food and drink was near by. I intend to return this summer, since the beach is one block away.

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room, and could not have wished for more. The heated bathroom floor was a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
60
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

After driving in rain among heavy traffic we couldn't have arrived at a more welcoming location! The living room, kitchen and sitting room are warm and beautiful. Our room had a luxurious king size bed and a comfy foldout love seat so we all slept well. All the linens were top notch from the Turkish bath sheets to the soft sheets and blankets. Plus the bathroom tile floor is heated! Very nice. When we wanted to go out to dinner but couldn't get a cab due to the bad weather one of the owners drove us to the restaurant in Andersonville where we had a reservation! After a lovely breakfast the following morning meeting the interesting guests we said good bye to return my daughter to Loyola for spring semester. This was the first time we stayed at Lang House (formerly Cat's Cradle) but it won't be the last!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great welcoming B&B, from the time you arrive you feel the relaxed clean and not in your face hospitality! Innkeepers are great, there if you need them but not in your way if you just want to read a book by the fireplace or talk to your partner without them hovering.
Feels like its your house and that's why it is so relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 4 has great hand stenciled original walls and lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
It was a pleasure having you all here, next time we hope that you can stay longer too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Three of us arrived at the Lang House (formerly Cat's Cradle) on a rainy, cold night after driving for over 6 hours. We were welcomed to this lovely, elegant place by Wayde and Bruce, owners. We were delighted by the large bedroom, the kitchen, the décor throughout the house. We could not have asked for a better experience to bring our Loyola U. student back to school. When we were unable to get a cab to a restaurant due to the bed weather and terrible traffic, one of the owners drove us to the restaurant! We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at cats cradle over the Christmas weekend. The accommodations were perfect, and the bed and breakfast itself was impeccably appointed. Every small detail was thought of. Everything from the smell of fresh baked holiday bread to the ambient lighting, to the warmth and kindness from the owners made us feel at home. We liked the centrally located area as well. Thank you cats cradle/Lang house!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomliberop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay for a long weekend. This was a treat from the clean quiet rooms to the rec room in the basement with games and magazines. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The choices for our breakfast were extraordinary and fresh. Wow this B & B is a hidden treasure in Rogers Park, IL. Its also next to a Frank Lloyd Wright house, the Emil Bach House.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Owzone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
The joy it brings us to know so many of our guests have a wonderful amazing experience here at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is now the Lang House, formerly Cat’s Cradle. Very clean, quiet, and soothing. It’s like an oasis of calm and luxury. It’s quite cozy if you want to stay in and read or just a block from the lake if you want to go to the beach. Close enough to Loyola that if you have a child going there, it’s the perfect place to stay if you're coming up for homecoming or parent's weekend, etc. It's also beautifully decorated at the holidays. The prairie style architecture is authentic and the décor is quite beautiful inside – fits right in with the period. There’s a Frank Lloyd Wright house next door that has been restored. I think this was the last urban house Wright designed – it was on the Chicago architectural tour this fall. The train station is a five minute walk – about a block away, and there is also a very close express Lake Shore bus stop that takes you right down to Miracle Mile. Coming back on this bus, you are dropped right in front of the building. How great is that if your arms are full of bags? Has a few very nice restaurants and bars like the Public House (can walk to it – try the grapefruit beer, Stiegl Radler; very refreshing in the summer). The innkeepers are new – just took over a couple of months ago, and are very friendly and know the city and history of the house and the period well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 8 in Evanston
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 189 in Chicago
317 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing