We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We so enjoyed our stay with Wayde and Bruce at Lang House!! The house is architecturally stunning and beautifully appointed. Rooms are equipped with every amenity you could need. If you are planning a stay in Chicago, I can't recommend this place higher. Why stay in a boring hotel when you can stay in an amazing historic home with fantastic innkeepers?? Need I say more?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msudakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I came for an academic conference at Loyola University and tried to squeeze in a relaxing vacation as well. The Lang House came recommended by the University and we could not be happier that we stayed here. We were very impressed by not only the beautiful, old, house, situated right next to a gorgeous Frank Lloyd Wright house, but also by the kind hospitality of Bruce and Wade. They were very accommodating, as was Rebecca, who helped us to our room when we first arrived and was happy to answer any questions we had. Breakfast is continental and included really wonderful baked goods. I like how the continental breakfast gives guests the option of having a more intimate, sit-down breakfast in the lovely dining room, or quickly eating either in the kitchen, the awesome outdoor deck, or one of the beautiful sitting rooms, complete with original hand-painted murals. I have stayed in numerous B&B's before and I have to say that The Lang House is at the very top of my list.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Lang House B&B this week while in Chicago for business. The proprietors, Bruce & Wade, were super accommodating! The rooms were nicely sized & appointed. My bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was very nice with robes, heated floor option, heated towel racks, nice toiletries. The wifi worked well in the room. The kitchen had all the options I wanted for breakfast. :-) Sometimes it's the little things that add up to be a big deal. That was the case for me this past week. This was the experience I needed after a 3.5 hr flight delay getting into O'Hare. I travel a lot for work (& fun) so I have seen the inside of many hotels and B&Bs. I will definitely stay here again - am just hoping the next time it will be for pleasure vs business.
Cheers,
Lisa

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raleigh0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I cannot give enough praise for our incredible experience. We booked the entire Lang House for a weekend to have our wedding and provide a place for our family to stay. The property is one of the best B & B I have seen. The house is a hidden gem. The rooms are all first class. Wayde and Bruce who run the Lang house could not be more helpful. They are just the best. They went out of their way to help and assist with our planning, working with the caterer, etc. I could not find a single complaint about a single detail. They had recommendations that made our day even more special. Whether you are looking for a single room or a venue for a small event, it does not get better! You will not find a better place in Chicago!

Room Tip: Room 4 the stencil room is just amazing with the hand painted walls. This one is on the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvTrvl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My son and I stayed here for one Night. Our room was fabulous and my son enjoyed just being in the house.The owners, Bruce and Wayde, were both very welcoming. It truly was a delightful surprise.Thank you again and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were looking for a nice place that offered convenient parking, access to the city, and was reasonable in price. We found everything and more at the Lang House Bed and Breakfast. Located right off of Lake Michigan near a quaint little bistro and bar, just a few blocks from the red line train, and next door to Frank Lloyd Wright's Emil Bach house, Lang House Bed and Breakfast is more than a place to rest your head, it is a travel experience in and of itself.Bruce, Wayde, and Perry were wonderful hosts; providing some of the best customer care I've experienced. And the accommodations were just fantastic! If you have the chance to visit the delightful home, you MUST take it!

Room Tip: If you are looking for parking, you need to communicate that at the time of your reservation. Parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLippens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I ended up staying here, after everything else for this conference was booked. What a fantastic surprise. It's clean, beautiful, many great original details, charming, effortless. Walk to the lake front, hop a train or a bus that will bring you to the heart of Chicago in minutes. Hosts, Bruce and Wayde, were welcoming, knowledgeable, and easy to talk to. Staff also great. Highly recommend, and I'd stay there again when I'm back in town.

Room Tip: There's a sauna in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#3 of 22 in Chicago
367 reviews
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: £132 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing