We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chicago Hotel, Clean and Safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This review is a bit overdue as I stayed here over the weekend of July 13th. I cannot mirror enough the great reviews others have said about this hotel. This was my first time in Chicago and also as a solo traveler. The rooms are extremely clean with very modern decor. I had a lovely view from my room. The free wifi was a huge plus as I was able to investigate things to do from the comfort of my room and keep in touch with my family during my travels. My only small con was I left a note for housekeeping to leave more toiletries, but they never did.

Andrew the Concierge was fantastic. He always made time to assist me in places to see and things to do. He was able to book a ticket for me for Wrigley Field since the Cubs were in town (a definite must do). The hotel itself is located in a quieter part of town, but still close enough to central things. It's a short walk to Millennium Park ('the bean') and about a +/-10 minute walk to the trains. Cabs were never a problem to find. In addition, there is a great bar/restaurant about a 5 minute walk from the hotel called Sweetwater. The hotel bar looked amazing, but I wasn't able to go this time around. I definitely plan on returning though!

Sam, NY

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for you review! I am thrilled that you had such a nice stay and that Andrew was so helpful. I have shared your compliments with him and our team. I would, however, like to apologize that extra toiletries were not left as you requested. I am truly sorry for any disappointment this caused for you. I look forward to your next visit to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,316 - 4,322 of 4,833 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

What a great looking hotel. Staff took care of everything and were always so attentive. Pay for a corner room and well worth the extra $$$! Stunning views and plenty of space run around - so worth it. At first the location seems a little off the beaten but you are actually close to mag mile and navy pier and millennium park. Rooms have a nice futuristic touch to match the cool exterior. Great breakfast at Filini. Micheal our waiter was great and like everyone else at the hotel was super attentive. Must say i was impressed!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner room. There is a fire station on the north end but we never heard it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review! We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and enjoyed your corner room upgrade! I have also passed along your compliments to Michael who was thrilled to have made an impact on your stay. I hope we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Service was excellent, rooms beautiful, pool and outside deck amazing. Our 4 and 2 year old Grandchildren loved the connecting hall and rooms. Easy cab ride to Pier and train station. Walking to great shopping, parks and restaurants. Truly enjoyed our stay and would stay at this hotel again. Staff was very helpful and friendly =)

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid Fire Station =) All sides would be a great view. Ask for Connecting rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

I am thrilled that you had such a great family getaway at our hotel! I am glad that the connecting rooms worked out so well and that you grandchildren had fun with the design! I hope that we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I really would like to give this property the highest rating. Unfortunately, all I heard last night were the sounds of police and fire alarms...I counted 9 times. I woke up having had only had 3-4 hours of sleep and have been exhausted since. I was on pretty high floor but it felt like the sirens were coming thru my room. Other than that, I LOVED this hotel. The staff are awesome, friendly, helpful. The rooms are lovely, modern, no carpeting, a little small but that did not bother me. Espresso maker in the room!!!! I was in Business Class. No one told me there was a happy hour and snacks at night. When I called for my wake up call is when I was told, so that kind of sucked. The outdoor pool is great. The indoor pool is very nice but it was extremely wet around the indoor whirlpool and i slipped. I was surprised housekeeping was not mopping up the area more frequently. Another guest complained about it too. Anyway, I will stay here again if I can get a quiter room! Location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy that you had such an enjoyable stay and that our team was helpful, but I would like to apologize that you did not get a proper night sleep. I am sharing your comments with our team and am truly sorry for any shortcomings your encountered on our end. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

the mgr contacted me and said to send him receipts for stolen clothes and he would get back with me....no contact after that, they could have called with their decision on to claim it on ins or not....not a word

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your follow up. I am truly sorry that you experienced an issue with your luggage during your stay and that it has not been resolved. I have checked with our entire management staff and we do not have record of any information regarding your missing items. I have also sent you a personal message to try and obtain more information. I am truly sorry for any disappointment or inconvenience we caused for you and hope to have your concerns resolved soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was an amazing hotel - beautiful decor and friendly staff. The hotel is close to CTA bus stop and a short walk from Millennium Park. My husband and I really enjoyed everything about Chicago and this hotel topped it off.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williaxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your review! I am so glad that we were able to top off your wonderful trip to Chicago! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is worthy of the good reviews. Stayed on the 17th floor and the lounge with its drinks was a great relief after temps in the hundreds! Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall we had a good stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank SteveA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the Business Lounge! I hope that we see you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,113 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £111 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing