We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #20 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are large with nice views - ours over Wacker Drive and Navy Pier and are well fitted out. Good-sized bathrooms and good amenities - free Wifi throughout the hotel.

A fantastic gym and pool and even an outdoor running track.

Ate one meal in Felini which was OK but not brilliant.

Very good value

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and the design of the hotel and bathrooms. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,367
    775
    261
    78
    49
See reviews for
906
1,296
152
1,620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Wow! The rooms are wonderful! The bathroom is huge with a separate tub and shower. The restaurant, Filini, is awesome. The architecture of the hotel and the interior is beautiful! The hotel is only about 2 years old. Arguably the most modern, and best hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such an enjoyable experience at the hotel and Filini. I will share your compliments with our team; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I wanted to stay at this hotel because I think it is a wonderful building on the outside. I just love to look at it. Came to a convenction for 5 days. It was as wonderful inside as it is outside. Great place to came back to after work. Excellent customer service all the way. Fillini (the restaurant inside the Hotel) was very welcoming and fun. I will be back. Thanks. Lullu fron Oregon

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lullustuttocucina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you had such a great experience at the hotel and Filini and that you liked the inside as well as the outside! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the Blu Aqua for business, a trade show at the McCormick Place. The shuttle bus was across the street and the Metra train provided free rides to the show and the station is a short few blocks away. Our room was an upper floor corner room. It had the white theme with the light wood floors. The room was very light and bright. Many lighting choices. We had two queen beds and a work desk, great sitting chair, flat screen tv. We did order a fridge for $10/day. There is a CVS next door to the hotel, so you can buy food/drinks and store it in there. They delivered the fridge very quickly and had it plugged in for us when we arrived. The room did have a deep soaking tub, which we asked for. Most of the rooms don't, so ask if you want one. The bathroom decor is modern, clean and amazing! We loved the whole ultra modern look of the entire hotel. Loved the gym, which has everything! The service was great and they try to be very accommodating. We ate one dinner at Felini's and the food was wonderful. We really loved the sorbetto! It was a perfect stay and we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a tub if you really want one. And ask for a corner upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgrace7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had such a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the design of your room. I am also glad that you were able to utilize our fitness facility. I hope that we have the opportunity to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Recently stayed a weekend at the Blu Aqua in downtown Chicago. It is a fairly new property, developed by the Radisson Group of properties. I believe this is their top end property and they have several of these in Europe...this may be the first in the US.
Beautiful exterior with very modern rooms. The rooms were a bit smallish, but relatively large for a downtown property. The bathroom was very nice with a dual head walk in shower and excellent water pressure.
Interior design was contemporary, clean, somewhat minimalist with art deco influences. Great views from the balcony (we had a balcony room). They have both inside and outside pools/hot tubs...on the same floor which is convenient. The outside pool area was very nice with a large walking path, fire pit, plenty of seating and great views.
Did not try the bar or restaurant.
Within convenient walking distance of most popular downtown attractions.
Parking was over priced even for downtown ($75/day if I recall). Self park has no in/out ability and only save a few dollars from valet. Much cheaper self parking is available within a block of the hotel.
Hotel staff and concierge were all polite and helpful.
Overall - one of the top properties in downtown Chicago in all respects.

Room Tip: Select a balcony room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelandPoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review. You are correct, we are the first Radisson Blu in North America! Our second property opened at the Mall of America today. We hope to continue to grow and expand our brand. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall stay, but I would like to apologize that there was some confusion over the parking rates. We work diligently with our parking company to offer rates that are less than or equal to our competitors. Our current overnight valet rate is $53 and self parking is $43. I am truly sorry for any disappointment this caused for you. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend of March 8-10 for my birthday and everything was fantastic. The hotel lobby was beautiful and we were greeted with a warm welcome. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful througout our stay. Although a little small, our standard room was modern, clean, and beautiful! I loved the big shower and the comfy bed. The hotel was steps away from magnificent mile and millenium park which made it the perfect location for us. We were also in walking distance to Rush and Hubbard streets where we went out to celebrate my birthday. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Happy Birthday and thank you for your review! I am honored that you spent your birthday celebration with us and that you had such a nice stay at the hotel. I will share your comments with our team. I hope to see you again soon!

Happy Birthday!

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Last weekend, for the first time in my life, I stayed in an upscale hotel in downtown Chicago.
I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. From my balcony I could see the Navy Pier. The standard room was a little small, but just fine for one person, and it was a very clean, quiet, and comfortable room with interesting features. I was only able to stay two nights, but I plan to take a longer vacation in Chicago, and I will stay at the Radisson Blue Aqua again. It is very easy to walk from the hotel to restaurants and shopping. If you want to go a little farther, taxi cabs are waiting right outside the front door (which is normal for Chicago, but new to me;). I had a dinner at the Italian restaurant inside the hotel, and drinks in the bar the next night. It was all extremely good and I had not one complaint about my stay.

Room Tip: As a first timer, I paid an extra $50 to get on a high floor thinking I might get a panoramic view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that you had such a great experience with us and that you plan to return for another vacation soon. I will share your compliments with our team!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,306 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,048 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
994 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing