We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Decor”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very nice amenities like the toiletries in the bathroom to the walkout porch. Can't wait for summer to see the outdoor pool and patio space! We will be back soon and highly recommend this hotel when downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you loved your experience with us including the decor and balconies. We look forward to welcoming you back this summer. Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,359
    774
    258
    78
    49
See reviews for
904
1,292
152
1,614
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Onsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is excellent, the comfort and cleanliness of the room outstanding and the free wifi very much appreciated. But the biggest surprise was the really great fitness center; lots of space and with 8 treadmills there is almost always one that is free to use....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you loved your stay with us! I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised but both the complimentary internet and the fitness center. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Surprise trip to the city from the suburbs over Valentines weekend was such a wonderful experience. Everyone was so happy, professional and friendly going above and beyond. The pleasant conversation and treating us as if we were someone special added to such a beautiful ambience. Kristin in the coffee bar was so sweet, the restaurant staff were ALL so nice and attentive. Such a beautiful hotel and on a cold, dreary weekend in February brightened our mood and was the answer to our winter gloom. Thank you to everyone at Blu Agua

Room Tip: We had a city/river view and although it was nice (you can city the river in between other buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for spending Valentine's Day with us! I am thrilled that we helped brighten up this long winter, and I will share your compliments with Kristin. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

One of us stayed at the Radisson Blu during a recent business trip to attend a professional meeting at the nearby Hyatt Regency. I have stayed at that Hyatt before, and it is a not a pleasant experience. I was planning to book at the Swissotel (also nearby) but was struck by the very positive TripAdvisor reviews of the Radisson Blu and decided to take a chance. Overall, I was very impressed with this special and distinctive property. But they also have one unforgivable (albeit small) policy that keeps me from rating it a 5.

The positives are many: The building is very new, the rooms are quite contemporary and beautiful, with wood floors and a marvelous bed. The room was nicely sized and very functional. I had a room with a large balcony and a great view--wish it had not been a very cold weekend in Chicago. The staff were wonderfully welcoming and helpful. The lobby is beautiful and distinctive, and includes an enormous (and I do mean enormous) fireplace. I wish I had had the chance to eat in their signature restaurant, Filini, which gets great reviews and is in a gorgeous space. They have a terrific Lavazza coffee stand, which is a nice change from the usual hotel coffee stands--the only downside is that the stand closes at noon.

Services at the hotel are somewhat scant. There did not appear to be a gift shop and no vending machines (more on that later). It did have a sense of isolation that can be both good and bad. The hotel is connected to others (including the Hyatt, the Fairmont, and the Swissotel) by an underground Pedway that allows one to go from one to another without a coat even in the coldest of weather.

Finally, the unforgivable that caused me to give this beautiful hotel only a 4 instead of the 5 it would readily warrant otherwise: My night of arrival I decided to have a can of Diet Coke from the minibar in the room. Yes, I was expecting a ripoff price (it turned out to be $4.00 for the can, once I figured out that the minibar pricing was on the TV menu). When I checked out, I was charged $5.40 for the can because they also add a "19% restocking fee" and tax. What a damn shame. It is not the money but rather what their practice signals to supposedly valued guests. I really liked this place, but this practice, so trivial and small potatoes, indicates a desire to take advantage of their guests instead of being focused on customer service. Maybe this is something that bugs me only, but I do hope that management reconsiders this practice. Ironically, they provided free internet, which is not generally the case at luxury hotels in downtown areas.

Overall, this is a pretty special and different place to stay--very distinct from and better than the usual bland convention hotel. I would be happy to stay there again. I'm sorry to be so hard on them for one minor practice, but it truly is offensive to me.

Room Tip: The balconies are very large and give great views of Chicago. I chose a balcony room (slightly more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce-Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy that you loved the design of the hotel and lobby and that you found the pedway system to be helpful for your meetings. I am also gald that you were able to enjoy your balcony even on a cold Chicago day. I would, however, like to apologize that you were disappointed with the minibar pricing. I assure you our pricing is competitive for the area and the pricing and fees are not designed to upset our guests. I am truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. We do also offer vending machines on our amenity floors as well as beverage service through the restaurant and in room dining. I apologize again for any disappointment you experienced and hope that you will return in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second visit to the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel. We were a little more discerning this time than during our first visit, probably because we were so impressed with the beauty of the hotel the first time. On the positive side, as stated, it's a lovely property, both in the lobby and the rooms. The beds are comfortable and clean, and we slept well. The food is very good. On the negative side, the room is not especially comfortable. We stayed both times in the corner room. There is one uncomfortable chair in the room, not really suitable for relaxing (although it looks great). The lighting and how to operate it could be explained better. The drain stopper lever in the bathroom sink didn't work; once down, it stayed there. We called for maintenance, which improved its operation, but didn't solve it. We called for more towels, specifically asking for the quantities and types we needed. We received many more hand towels and bath towels than we asked for, with no washcloths or bath mat, which we did ask for. The signage outside is poor, as it's not obvious where to park for the valet, or to park oneself, or even where to get a cab. It's this lack of attention to detail that will cause this property's popularity to eventually decline. I'll be staying elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD060703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for you returning to the hotel and leaving us a a review. I am truly sorry that you were disappointed with your experience and that we missed some details during your stay. I am sharing your concerns with our team so that we can rectify the problem and also better train our staff. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I hope that you will reconsider returning so we can recoup your confidence in us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We love staying at the Radisson Blu downtown...location is fantastic and the hotel is top notch from staff to amenities.
Make your vacation fabulous by staying here....convenient....so much to do...that is FREE for families...dining mecca... you can walk....bike...take the EL..or DIVVY...and lastly parks and lots of green space...close to Lake Michigan too..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodywino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you and your family had a fantastic stay at the hotel or that our location and amenities were perfect for your needs. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

As soon as you walk into the building the atmosphere is very elegant and the service at the concierge counter was exceptional. Upon entering the room we were immediately impressed by the excellent views of the city, lake and Navy Pier. The rest of the room was immaculate and the feel of it was way above the price point. The Italian restaurant, Filini; in the lobby was phenomenal and service to match. I would say this was one of the best values in hotels/resorts ive stayed at. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mav1blaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for your review! I am thrilled that you loved the design of both the hotel and your guest room! I am also happy that you enjoyed Filini! I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. I hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
991 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing