We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved absolutely everything about this hotel. My husband and I just took our first trip to Chicago for a long weekend and could not have chosen a better place! We were celebrating our anniversary so we were upgraded to a balcony corner room with a great view of Navy Pier, and we also had a lovely dessert plate waiting in our room with an anniversary message. The room was very modern and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. I often wake up with back pain when I sleep anywhere other than home and had no problems with the bed at all. One thing worth noting is that there is no lock on the sliding bathroom door and the door that slides between the shower and toilet is just frosted glass. If you're comfortable with the person you're traveling with it should be no issue at all!

Every single staff member we encountered in our few days was friendly and helpful and we were always greeted with a smile. We didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant at the hotel but we did try the bar and we absolutely loved it. There is a great atmosphere and they have "true" bartenders that are very good at what they do. It's very easy walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do, which was a huge plus. The only time we had to use public transportation was to and from the airport, and to Wrigley Field. Make sure to try breakfast at Wildberry just around the corner; it was the best breakfast I've ever had! Should we ever make it back to Chicago, there is nowhere else we would stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaels017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your review! We are honored that you loved your stay and that you would not want to stay anywhere else in the city! I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. I look forward to seeing you soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,442 of 4,836 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Man, this was one of the better hotels I've stayed in, the rooms, the ambiance were exceptional. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I'm planning a return trip to chicago in a few months and I'll definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panseco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are honored that you had such a great stay and that you plan to return in a couple of months. I look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Aqua for a night for business in the city including a conference. I travel a lot for business and the Radisson Blu was a very nice hotel to stay in. The decor was very modern and comfortable. The room size was average but the bed and bathroom were superior to many of the places I stay. The restaurant was a little pricey for lunch but the food and service were excellent! The hotel staff overall was very friendly and helpful. The only challenge I had was getting my devices connected up the hotel internet. My laptop worked fine but I could not get my iPad or phone to connect to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a great stay and that you hope to return during your next visit in Chicago. I would, however, like to apologize that you had difficulty connecting your iPad to the hotel internet. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. I look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Radisson Blu Aqua for a long weekend in Chicago and had a great stay. The staff were great, the room was wonderful and the location was fantastic.

Having said that... a few things to be aware of. 1) They will place a $75 hold on your credit card at check-in. Nowhere were we informed of this up front. Not a huge deal, but I've never stayed at a hotel anywhere in the world that has put a hold up front rather than just taking a card number for incidentals. It took a few days after checkout for the hold to be released from our card. 2) Parking is exorbitantly expensive. There is no mention anywhere on the Radisson Blu Aqua website of fees for parking. We arrived by car to find that the parking is in a public lot under the building and it cost us $141 to park for three nights. Ouch. It would have been nice to have this information up front to factor into the price-per-night when we made our decision of where to stay.

We stayed in one of the most basic rooms, but it still delivered in terms of space, cleanliness and amenities and was easy on our budget. The room was a generous size with large floor-to-ceiling windows (no balcony) overlooking the city and the lake. The room and decor were modern, the linens were good quality and clean, and the bed was really comfy.

The location is great - within walking distance of Michigan Ave, Millennium Park, John Hancock, Willis Tower and several other Chicago staples. It was also a quick, cheap cab ride to other places like the Museum of Science and Industry, Second City and Lincoln Park.

Overall a pretty good stay for the money we paid. We'll probably stay again the next time we're in Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grateful_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us and plan to return the next time you are in Chicago. I would, however, like to apologize that you were not aware of the cost of parking. We do have this information posted on our website, at every garage entrance and at the front of the hotel. We also work closely with the parking company to ensure that our rates are less than or equal to our competitors. I also apologize that the incidental hold was not better explained. Similar to most full service hotels, we take a hold upon arrival so that you can charge things such as parking, room service and laundry to your room. This is just an authorization, and we do not charge your card until you actually check out. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Chicago.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I reserved a king room and when we arrived, I was told that there was not a king available. When I questioned why since I had reserved a king, the woman at the front desk told me that she was able to find a handicap accessible room with a king, if that was okay. We said fine. Upon getting into the room and taking a shower, all of the tiles were coming up from the floor, and it was uneven and leaking. We went downstairs and the front desk manager found us a new room instantly. The new room was beautiful and completely different from the room we were in previously. This room had beautiful wood floors, and modern decoration. The manager even sent us up a card and a few pastries. This was unexpected and very much appreciated. I was there for a conference and the food at the conference was great. All in all a great property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would, however, like to apologize for the condition of your first room. I am addressing your comments and am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great hotel, very clean and chic. I thought the staff were excellent and the rooms are very contemporary. Also the hotel is in a great location. The pool area was also good, but I think its odd that the steam room and sauna are on a different floor. Only criticism, but would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyAlbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you loved your stay at the hotel and that you have taken the time to recommend us to others! I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Aqua Blu in Chicago for eight nights. We had a corner view room on the 16th floor, with an amazing view of the city and Lake Michigan. The room was fantastic: it was contemporary, beautifully furnished. The bathroom, though small (it could have used a bit more shelf space), had a great deep tub and a rain shower. The lighting was also very well done in the bathroom and throughout the room.

The reservation agents, concierge, the bell staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I was in town in for an international travel trade show and many of my colleagues stayed at hotels throughout town. After speaking with them, it was apparent that we stayed at one of the best hotels in the city.

I'm in the resort business in California. In my little over a week, the Radisson Aqua Blu is, on all accounts, a truly outstanding property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccrellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We are honored that you had such a nice stay and that your conferences went so well. I am thrilled you view us as one of the best hotels in the city! We do have an extensive green initiatives program and have recently been named the only hotel to reach Platinum level by Trip Advisor! I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £113 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing