We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Chicago Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Ishpeming, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Chicago Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed as a family at Radisson Blu after spending a long time researching a unique place to stay as a family on my first time since I was very young. The service was attentive and courteous, the amenities incredible, atmosphere pleasant and creative. I must say luckily we chose a King suite, corner for the adults and a double Queen suite for the teens. I would have been very disappointed with the Queen as the modern, subdued decor would have been a turn off to me. In contrast the King suite was incredibly bright, well lit and naturally sun drenched. I loved the balconies and park vies of ours and city view of theirs.

Room Tip: Make certain the choice of room is based on your decor preference.Corner suites are spacious and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you and your family had such a great first visit to Chicago! I am also glad that you enjoyed your suite upgrade with our "Naturally cool" room design! We do have standard kings and queen/queens in both this design and the "Mansion House' style that your teenagers stayed in. I hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,200
    739
    237
    76
    47
See reviews for
846
1,238
144
1,535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Excelent hotel, modern, clean and most important attentive and nice staff! Room with cool view, very clean, modern, great beds and floor to ceiling glass window bathroom! AWESOME!
At lobby they have a cool italian restaurant! Great food and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ettorevianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you had a great time and that you enjoyed both the hotel and Filini Restaurant! I hope we see you again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The service was great, everybody was polite and good tips were given. Rooms are nice, clean and quiet. The only problems was that our room had no properly working air-conditioning and our shower was broken. For over 300 USD per night you might except something else. We had to sleep in bit too hot room because the AC had no power to drop the temperature from 22,5C to the set one. Had to woke up because of this.
Part of the shower was broken too, only ceiling shower was functioning. They would have had come to see it but you can spot these kind of issues when you are at the shower and usually don't want to dress up again and wait for the maintenance.
We mentioned about these issues during checkout but it was ignored by the basic "we are sorry about it"-sentence.
Great location, near the park and close to the Magnificient Mile area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnTravellerPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am truly sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay and that our team was not more helpful in resolving them upon departure. We do have a 24-hour engineering team that would be happy to assist with room temperature at anytime. We would also be happy to change your room if something is not functioning properly. I apologize again for any disappointment you experienced and hope that you will return so we can recoup your confidence in us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked a room here because a conference was located onsite and am so glad I did! Reticent about the nightly rate, I came in with expectations formed through years of travel reality -- and was so pleasantly surprised -- by the amazing service in a beautiful setting. Amazing doesn't happen often on business travel. I was truly 'wowed!' by every human being I ran into at the Blue Aqua. Definitely where I will stay next time and solidly recommended.

Room Tip: I had park view with a little lake from the balcony -- wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! I am honored that you had such a wonderful stay and that our team stood out so much! I will certainly share your compliments; we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town! Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and great facilities. Room was modern and spacious with really and luxury bed linen. comfortable bedWill definitely be staying here again the next time we visit Chicago.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier that you had a great stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Chicago. Thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Loved this hotel, absolutely beautiful lobby, bar and restaurant with great food and ambience. Stayed fir 3 nights and only wished it could have been longer. Rooms were lovely and well fitted out with everything we needed, loved the sparkly floor tikes and bathroom rainfall shower. We ate breakfast which was delicious, fresh,y squeezed juices and lovely pancakes beautifully presented - yes more expensive than eating outside the hotel but it was relaxing and enjoyable - the staff are a credit to this hotel, Michael B in Felinis could not have been more helpful. Doormen were great, providing help and directions, hotel is well situated for walking to the main attractions and of course shopping in Michigan Avenue. If we are in Chicago again would definitely want to stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryo297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy you loved your experience both at the hotel and in Filini. I will share your compliments with Michael and the rest of our team. I hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Wow!! Those were our first words when we arrived at the Radisson Blu in Chicago. We booked a 3 night stay for our first time stay here in Chicago and couldn't have been happier with our choice.
The hotel is very new and modern and the service and amenities are excellent. We pulled up to the front doors and were immediately greeted by  2 doormen who helped us unload and explain the parking. Their smiles and "can do" attitude immediately made us feel special and welcomed.  Our check-in was a breeze and we opted for the upgrade to a Park View Suite with access to the business lounge.
Our suite was awesome! It had laminate flooring, a large balcony, modern furnishings with a work desk, iPad, safe, expresso machine, 2 flat screen TV's, very comfortable King Bed, separate living area and of course a beautiful bathroom with full soaker tub and separate shower stall and most of all it was spotless clean.
We had free lbreakfast every morning in the business lounge before heading out to do sightseeing and shopping. There was always a good selection of fresh Continental breakfast items, newspapers to read and the staff in the lounge were terrific especially Karmen. In fact, on our last morning in the lounge, we happen to misplace our room card and after trying to help us find it, she immediately called Security to bring us another card  and within minutes someone came up. We were very impressed with all the staff we encountered during our stay...they all had a " yes we can" attitude and are very engaged, a compliment to the General Manager of the hotel. 
Also, the hotel has a great roof top terrace with a large pool area, running track, lounge sitting areas and landscaped gardens...beautiful area to relax.
And lastly, the location of the hotel was excellent. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to explore in Chicago such as Millenium Park, Navy Pier, Michigan Ave and the Hop On-Hop Off bus stop.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Radisson Blu in Chicago and we will definately return again.  

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that you were impressed from the moment you arrived and remained to be all the way through your stay! I will be sure to share your compliments with Karmen and our team. I hope that you choose us again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing