We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, beautiful meals!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, beautiful meals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

At the advice of a friend, I changed a reservation elsewhere to stay at the Radisson Blu and was not sorry. Our room was spacious and light with natural woods, and a bath deeply satisfying to my Japanese American soul. But the highlight was the food and the service at Felini, delicious burrata & delectable fresh mozzarella, and yummy tuna tartar on red pepper sauced pasta. Special thanks to Adrianna, the hostess, for going above and beyond in securing me breakfast between service & finding us just the right spot outside in the breezes to watch the world cup.

Room Tip: I like the natural wood rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvestmoon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am happy that you loved your stay and that you especially enjoyed dining in Filini. I will pass along your compliments to our team. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,264
    753
    246
    76
    48
See reviews for
875
1,258
146
1,564
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I haven't even stayed at the Radisson Blu yet, but while booking a reservation I called the hotel and was talking to Chantal Bonnaure and she was wonderful while helping me book the room. I work at a hotel at a front desk also and I understand how difficult it is to be personable to every person that comes through the door. I'm looking forward to my stay at the end of August and meeting the wonderful staff at the Radisson Blu. Chantal went above and beyond any expectations I had for this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JeStout04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that our team has been helpful through your booking process and that you are looking forward to your August stay. I will certainly share your compliments with Chantal. I hope to meet you in August!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

architecturally stunning, room ready 1 hour early, friendly and helpful front desk staff. Corner Room on 15th floor had view of river and Navy Pier. Walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see. Only complaint is the mini bar situation, charges for looking at the thing is outrageous and should be changed. Are they really losing that much money on the mini bar??? A stupid management decision. Met the charming French manager who was most helpful and friendly as were all the staff we encountered. Will recommend it very highly. Try to get a corner room if possible. Rooms are large and very contemporary. No hotel information in the rooms. Take Blue Line train to Ohare rather than taxi. Takes 1.5 hour but only costs $3.00!!

Room Tip: Try for a corner room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zack2o012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was ideal for everything you wanted to see in Chicago. I do, however, apologize that your minibar was too sensitive. There are sensors that charge if items are removed, but this should not be affected by viewing or opening the refrigerator. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused for you. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent one night in this hotel in mid June. We were upgraded to a corner room with balcony. The room was modern and immaculate. It was the Radisson Blu's "naturally cool" style room with hardwood flooring and light fit and fixtures. We had nice view of the park and Navy Pier/Lake Michigan. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower with rain maker and shower wand, deep soaking tub and a single vanity. There was no hook in the bathroom to hang a towel and not a lot of space around the sink/vanity area. This was tolerable for one night but may have been annoying if staying for several nights. There just wasn't much room to spread out toiletries, cosmetics etc.

The best part of this hotel is the outdoor area. There is a large outdoor pool and hot tubs, several beautiful flower gardens, a grilling area with tables and chairs, several comfy outdoor living room areas, lawns and even a great outdoor running track which circled the building. This outdoor area was located on the 5th and 6th floor levels of the hotel which provided gorgeous bird's eye views of the surrounding park areas and Lake Michigan. There were a few private rooms which could be used for meetings or wedding receptions that opened up onto the outdoor terrace areas.

The lobby, bar and Felini restaurant had modern, eclectic decor and an amazing fresh scent flowed through the common areas. Had breakfast at Felini. Food was excellent and service was prompt. All staff that we encountered were extremely friendly.

Oh, and there is a CVS located adjacent to the hotel.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Corner rooms with balcony offer stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier that you loved your experience with us or that the outdoor amenities exceeded your expectations! I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with our team! I hope that we see you again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel has fabulous amenities. Large outdoor pool, indoor pool, weight room, basketball court, etc. Also a cushioned running/walking track outside, with great views on the third level, going completely around the property. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Great location. A long block to Millennium Park and a couple blocks to Michigan Avenue. One tip, the towels for the pools are in a hallway between the outdoor and indoor pools.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled you loved your stay with us and that you enjoyed all of the amenity spaces. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Check-in was a breeze and everyone we spoke to was extremely nice and professional. We were given a delicious dessert and 2 cards by the staff, on for Father's Day and one for our anniversary, which was extremely thoughtful! Our room was beautiful and modern, and unlike any room I've stayed in. We had a fantastic balcony that gave us a view of Navy Pier and a nearby park. My only complaint with the room was the air conditioning didn't seem to work very well, but it was a very hot day in Chicago so I doubt that's a common occurrence and it wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

Be sure to visit the fitness and pool areas-they are amazing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlynn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for spending your anniversary and Father's Day celebration with us and for leaving a review! I am thrilled you had a great stay and that you plan to return again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel for a week in August of 2013. We wanted to share with your readers what an excellent and enjoyable stay we had at the Blu. It was central to everything that you'd want in Chicago, within walking distance, and if not, then a short ride on the El or cab ride. Please do not miss the Art Institute of Chicago in Grant's Park or Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. The staff at the Radisson Blu were welcoming and helpful and the restaurant was wonderful. A great feature of the Blu was there swimming pool, located out doors on the 5th or 6th floor, with incredible views of the towing buildings, including the uniquely spiral design of the Blu hotel itself. We would not hesitate in returning to the Radisson Blu the next time we are in Chicago. (Don't forget to hit Little Italy).

Room Tip: See if you can book a room looking south to Chicago's "Magnificent Mile" shopping stri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakattack1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you loved your stay and our location. I am also glad that you enjoyed the outdoor pool! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing