We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable show, decent value, horribly uncomfortable seats”
Review of The Comedy Bar

The Comedy Bar
Ranked #22 of 95 Fun & Games in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At The Comedy Bar, we are committed to providing the funniest comedians at the best venue for the lowest prices in Chicago. We aim to establish a new standard for nightlife entertainment. The Comedy Bar showcases the best standup Chicago has to offer at the unbeatable rate of only $10-15. 21 and over. IDs a must.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable show, decent value, horribly uncomfortable seats”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Show was pretty good, good value for the money $15 for show. Drinks were a little pricey and nothing special. Service was good. Seats were very hard and uncomfortable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    8
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good laughs, decent venue!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived to find a fairly small, intimate venue with around 50-75 people. I sat by the Bar and had a great view of the stage and the comedians but the normal seating area looked comfortable. The bartender was very attentive with drink re-fills etc so no complaints there.

There were quite a mixed crowd and the final comedy act was a guy from L.A who was awesome, but he didn’t go down well with everyone as some of his material was “shocking” to some people. All three acts were solid and this venue would be a great way start to a big night out with friends.

Worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“New and definitely upcoming. Comedy done right!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

What a great find in the city. It's comedy like it should be done. $15 tickets. 1 1/2 hour show. No drink minimum, with a reasonably priced drink menu.

And...oh yeah...funny comedians with a good variety of jokes. The smaller venue is perfect for a great night on the town.

Will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mad880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap Cover Charge!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

The Comedy Bar has $10-$15 cover charge. The drinks were $8 for beer and $9 mixed drinks. My drink was very weak and beer was warm. No drink minimum though. The place was nice though, the comedy was great, very funny especially those from Chicago. Considering all the other comedy shows I looked in too this was the best price. What was nice is that it isn't far from the magnificent mile. We didn't want to walk the 6-7 blocks so we took a taxi and it only costs us $5 for 2. Will say there is much else around it. But we went to Al's Italian Beef just at the next corner and it was really good and the are very quick to serve you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute decision but clearly one of the best choices I had made while in Chicago for the weekend. You will not be let down and the grumpiest of people are destined to make a smile and deny the laughter coming out of their mouths.

Helpful?
3 Thank Thats_My_Milk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Comedy Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Comedy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing