We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comedy Bar to Ring in 2014”
Review of The Comedy Bar

The Comedy Bar
Ranked #22 of 88 Fun & Games in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At The Comedy Bar, we are committed to providing the funniest comedians at the best venue for the lowest prices in Chicago. We aim to establish a new standard for nightlife entertainment. The Comedy Bar showcases the best standup Chicago has to offer at the unbeatable rate of only $10-15. 21 and over. IDs a must.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comedy Bar to Ring in 2014”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went here to celebrate NYE. It was a fairly small venue with an 8:00 comedy show, which was hilarious (my favorite part of the night). It was a mixed bag of a crowd, all ages. After the comedy show ended at 9, they cleared all the seats and turned the place into an impromptu dance floor. Was a bit nervous as it was quite empty at this point, but it got more crowded as it got later into the night. All inclusive package for $80 so I just got drunk to make up for lack of people. For being unlimited drinks, they were surprisingly not too watered down. Would I see a comedy show here again on a random weekend night? Absolutely. Would I celebrate NYE here again? Most likely not... not for someone in their 20s.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss_Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable show, decent value, horribly uncomfortable seats”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Show was pretty good, good value for the money $15 for show. Drinks were a little pricey and nothing special. Service was good. Seats were very hard and uncomfortable!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good laughs, decent venue!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived to find a fairly small, intimate venue with around 50-75 people. I sat by the Bar and had a great view of the stage and the comedians but the normal seating area looked comfortable. The bartender was very attentive with drink re-fills etc so no complaints there.

There were quite a mixed crowd and the final comedy act was a guy from L.A who was awesome, but he didn’t go down well with everyone as some of his material was “shocking” to some people. All three acts were solid and this venue would be a great way start to a big night out with friends.

Worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“New and definitely upcoming. Comedy done right!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

What a great find in the city. It's comedy like it should be done. $15 tickets. 1 1/2 hour show. No drink minimum, with a reasonably priced drink menu.

And...oh yeah...funny comedians with a good variety of jokes. The smaller venue is perfect for a great night on the town.

Will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mad880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap Cover Charge!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

The Comedy Bar has $10-$15 cover charge. The drinks were $8 for beer and $9 mixed drinks. My drink was very weak and beer was warm. No drink minimum though. The place was nice though, the comedy was great, very funny especially those from Chicago. Considering all the other comedy shows I looked in too this was the best price. What was nice is that it isn't far from the magnificent mile. We didn't want to walk the 6-7 blocks so we took a taxi and it only costs us $5 for 2. Will say there is much else around it. But we went to Al's Italian Beef just at the next corner and it was really good and the are very quick to serve you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Comedy Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Comedy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing