We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nia Mediteranean amazing tapas on Randolph Street, Chicago”
Review of Nia Restaurant

Nia Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #509 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: West Loop
Cross street: Halsted St.
Transit: #8 Halsted bus, stop at Randolph. Grand / Blue Line or Clinton/Green & Pink Line.
Description: Featuring contemporary elegant small plates in the heart of "The Randolph Market District" Nia's warm rich reds and soft yellows spill out of the drapes of her main room onto her garden patio (40+ seats)... alfresco that holds the true touch of the Mediterranean. The chef prepares simple luscious fare, including sauteed wild mushrooms,grilled baby octopus,sauteed mediterranean mussels, house cured salmon, diver scallops, lamb & feta meatballs, and bacon wrapped dates. Endless vegetarian options include portobello gnocchi, hummus, tortilla, baked goat cheese, eggplant involtini, saganaki and more. Try our homemade charcuterie, artisan cheeses & antipasti plus many daily specials that focus on local, seasonal & sustainable ingredients.
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nia Mediteranean amazing tapas on Randolph Street, Chicago”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went to Randolph street late on a Saturday. Expected to find one of my regular restaurants open. As it turns out none were, too early and the couple of nice one's had long lines. We found Nia's open with few customers and a very interesting menu. We had arugula salad, saganaki, bacon wrapped dates, wild mushrooms, roasted red pepper gnocchi, calamari, beef brochette and tiramisu. Fabulous meal, everything was mouth watering, except the calamari (which was merely adequate). Best was the bacon wrapped dates. Walker took care of us and mixed a good "living in sin" martini for my wife. I had an Estrella beer. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunlovingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Some very good, some very average”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Took advantage of the Prix Fixe menu which offers discounts before 6pm. We had 8 courses, including the salad and dessert, and we left quite full. The salads were fresh and inventive and had good flavor, the bacon wrapped dates were delicious even if the sweet sauce was a little overpowering (you can choose to dip it so it's not a big issue). I was disappointed in the saganaki (not thoroughly melted) and the pork tenderloin medallions (a bit overdone), and my wife thought the texture of the creme brulee was off. We enjoyed the crab cakes the most, as well as the salads as mentioned earlier. The biggest disappointment was the sangria. We ordered a pitcher of sangria and it tasted quite watered down. We're not lushes by any means, but whenever we finish a pitcher of sangria together, we feel a little bit of a buzz. There was nothing. It just seemed watery.

Service was very good, with the food coming in rapid succession but we did not feel hurried or rushed. Overall I don't think I'd visit again as there are so many other options in the area for the money. It was good, but not as good as it could be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you like Tapas, Nia is a wonderful place to give a try. The food and sangria was delicious. We sat outside, although if eating outside is your thing, I would recommend going early, as there were only about 3 tables in the front of restaurant. If you do happen to get one, you will enjoy the people watching as much as the food. The loaction is in the heart of the Randolph Restaurant Block, so being that it was summer, there was a never ending flow of people.

As far as the food, we ordered off the cheese menu, and followed it up with three tapas plates. For two of us, this was plently of food, although the menu made us long for more. We will be back again, I can assure you. They have a wide range of options, from seafood, to meats, to vegetarian tapas selections, and the price was in line with what I expect form downtown dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montovon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Filling, but not particularly good”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had six people and splurged for the multi-course group family style dinner. The hummus was not up to par, hard to imagine at a place like this. Only dish that was better than acceptable was a cauliflower in a light cheese sauce, but came after the dinner was over because the waiter forgot during the meal - (at least he reduced the bill to reflect that). Pita was good though. Skip it for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakemary1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very pricey”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were headed to The Girl and The Goat, which ended up with an hour and a half wait. Nia is next door. There were few people there, but we were hungry. It's a tapas restaurant, but very pricey. The salads were good, the hummus was okay, the 4 asparagus for $10 was ridiculous. The service was nice but I really hate paying the prices for such little food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing