We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Richard H. Driehaus Museum
Ranked #14 of 650 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a step back in time to the Gilded Age with banker Samuel Nickerson's mansion. Explore all three floors of the museum and discover how the Nickerson family lived and socialized. Tours are an extra $5, but well worth it.
Irving, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a great time-travel opportunity. A beautiful Gilded Age mansion with an impressive collection of art work and Tiffany glass.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKathleenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    229
    28
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for a Tiffany's collection”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was looking forward to this viewing this house on our trip. It said in our travel book that it had been decorated in the time period and also housed a collection of various Tiffany artifacts. I love looking at different time period decorated houses and palaces. The Driehaus museum was decorated on the main floor but the rest of the house was all of the Tiffany's collection so I was a bit disappointed. We did not take the walking tour and maybe I would have come away with more satisfaction if we had but I was not as excited when we left as I thought I would be. I would say for me it was not worth the 40 dollar price tag for the 2 of us. They do offer some discounts though and if you really want to see an excellent Tiffany collection you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank paitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb Tiffany glass”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A lovely old building with a superb collection of Tiffany glass. It is a relatively small museum but along with the stained glass museum at the Navy Pier, well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A peek into the gilded age”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Free tours give lots of insight into the property and lifestyle. Beautifully furnished with so many precious antiques. Nothing to dislike. It's uncrowded and under the radar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restoration and History in the heart of Chicago”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise to uncover this Chicago treasure! I went to see the special Tiffany exhibit which was great. Ultimately, I fell in love with the building itself. The docent did a fantastic job talking about the history of the owners. This is indeed a gift to Chicago. I thought I would be on my way in an hour or so and scratched the surface with an entire morning of time spent well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard H. Driehaus Museum also viewed

 

Been to Richard H. Driehaus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing