We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed at Conrad Chicago for 2 nights over the holiday weekend and thought it was average overall. Self - Parking is challenging for wayfinding. Parking tips - as you arrive in Nordstom shopping area from self parking, walk through Nordstrom until you get into the mall area (by Nordstrom Cafe) and then take the elevator to the fifth floor to get into Conrad. We couldnt find it despite asking two Nordstrom employees and had to walk out side and enter through the valet parking area. Upon check in - we realized our booked room only had a shower and since we have two young children, we needed a room with a tub. Front desk associate was nice to accomodate our request and offered us a room with a tub on the 17th floor. Overall, it was a nice room with Pure air cleaner and room/floor was overall quiet and relaxing. However, the view was terrible. You only saw an office building directly next to you...we kept the curtains closed for the entire stay. A couple of dissatisifers - the room had a couple of empty water bottles that we found by our 1 year old and then the tv didnt work (an easy fix since the coaxial cable was disconnected).

As a Diamond member and staying for a specific celebration, I was hoping for any type of upgrade and unfortunately dont believe we received any. The pure room may have been an upgrade but taking into consideration the terrible view, I considered that a wash.

The location was fantastic especially located within inside walking distance to the Nordstrom mall.

Overall, an average stay. Compared to other Conrads I've stayed at, this one has a couple of things working for it and against it:

Postives - location, good housekeeping service, courteous front desk staff, nice fitness center, good food at the Terrace.

Opportunities for improvement - need an Executive lounge, no pool, challenging wayfinding for self-parking, upgrade opportunities - unknown

Room Tip: Pure rooms are nice but ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,058
    738
    204
    77
    43
See reviews for
504
1,117
226
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon. Excellent hotel, spacious rooms which are very modern,bright and well stocked.

Perfect location for sight seeing, eating out and shopping.

Definitely the place to stay. Walking distance from everything. Will return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klassylassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you chose the hotel for your honeymoon trip and very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that the hotel's location gave you a good base from which to enjoy the sights, dining and shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Conrad Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajkot
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

stayed 6 nights for a conference
lobby is a bit confusing and small for a hotel of this repute
quirky thing is lift change to get to ur room
helpful staff and good service
rooms spacious and functional
outdoor terrace restaurant nice but rain washed out the fun thrice- limited menu though
breakfast fixed and limited but does the job
location is superb- u want to shop -this is the hotel to stay in
nordstorm connected by a bridge and many other malls and stores nearby
would definitely stay there againj

Room Tip: higher floors can be easily approached without changing lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're happy to learn that you found the hotel well located to your conference as well as shopping and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Conrad Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Conrad Chicago and it is first class all the way. It is within walking distance of many fine restaurants and theaters. The staff is helpful at all times and Eddie at the bar knows your drinks as if he can read your mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echevarria68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to learn that you continue to enjoy the hotel and appreciate your recognition of Eddie - he is the best and he probably can read minds! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Conrad Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Conrad is my favorite hotel in my favorite city, Chicago. It is boutique in its quaintness; but world class in its prestige and service. I return time and time again without hesitation and with a sense of being at home, and among not only familiar surroundings, but a very predictable, trustworthy environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Conrad in Chicago.

The housekeeping and concierge staff were excellent. A few small items that were annoyances but were not a make or break:

1. The valet service caused minor damage to my car. Not the hotels fault directly given it is outsourced but an annoyance none the less. Handled well by the hotel and valet service.

2. The restaurant breakfast was limited and I was not overly impressed with the meal quality.

Other than that a normal hotel stay that met most of my requirements.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanDall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had a one night stay in this lovely hotel which is close to most of Chicago's main sights. It has large comfy rooms, lovely toiletries and a good bar and restaurant. It is linked to the Nordstrom shopping arcade - perfect for a rain free shopping escape at this time of year. I appreciated the free pillow menu, particularly the cold and flu option which helped to ease my symptoms overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffypolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#74 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,161 reviews
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,299 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing