We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couples Retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #69 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couples Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Conrad Hotel offers unique services and amentities unlike other hotels. The rooms are professional and luxurious. You cannot beat the location, especially if you spend most of your time in northern chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Josh,

Thank you for posting your review of the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy you liked the service, amenities and the hotel's perfect location convenient to all that you planned to do during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,061
    740
    204
    77
    43
See reviews for
505
1,120
226
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had long wanted to stay at the Conrad. Friends had stayed there four or five years ago, and they had a terrific experience. My recent stay was fine, but it wasn't anything special. I certainly have had more memorable experiences at other River North and Loop hotels.

The Conrad's lobby is located five floors above street (Rush) level. The hotel entrance is very conveniently located. The Red Line is close by, and the hotel is close to terrific restaurants and bars (Sable, Andy's, Pops for Champagne, etc.) The actual hotel property, however, just isn't very noteworthy. The lobby and the bar/restaurant area run together on the fifth floor. The hotel bar isn't a place that I found to be very inviting. There isn't a quiet corner to retreat to, for the walkway to the guest elevators runs "through" the bar's seating area. I'm sure the service at the bar is fine, but I had no desire to sit in the bar because it simply doesn't have much atmosphere.

My room was also on the fifth floor, so I didn't have to use the guest elevators. The room had a nice view of the John Hancock building. Overall, the room was fine. But, again, it was nothing special. It felt worn in places, an impression that was reinforced by the condition of my room's mini-bar (or, rather, the lack of a mini-bar.) The mini-bar fridge apparently didn't work and so it was empty. I found that rather disappointing given that I had actually paid to upgrade my room.

The bathroom in my room at the Conrad was nice. It had a deep, soaking bath tub, though it didn't have a separate shower. It wasn't difficult for me, but if you have any mobility issues at all, then you might have a hard time getting into and out of the bathtub. If you like taking baths, though, you'll be in heaven. The bed was comfortable, and the room had a nice flat screen TV and a Bose home theater system.

I had very little interaction with the staff. The staff who cleaned my room did an excellent job, but the front desk staff and the staff at the hotel's entrance weren't especially talkative. They certainly weren't unpleasant - not at all - but it was a stark contrast to the upbeat, friendly staff I encountered at another River North hotel in March.

I'd stay at the Conrad again, but it certainly wouldn't be one of my top choices for a hotel in Chicago's River North. Quite simply, it doesn't provide much bang for your buck.

Room Tip: I would avoid paying for a room with a "view". My room had a nice view, but it wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tribe1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn that we failed to exceed your expectations in either service or amenities. We hope you will give us another try on a future visit to Chicago as we would welcome the opportunity to wow you. Again, thank you for the review. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were greeted by a very efficient hotel staff who were more than happy to help with our check in . The room was very nice ,a good size(two bathrooms!) with a view of the tall skyscrapers of downtown Chicago . The location of the Conrad is excellent ! Right in the middle of the action it was a short walk to either Lake Michigan or to Millennium park . The only complaint I have was the service in there restaurant for breakfast . Fortunately for us,the restaurant manager named Michael was a real gentleman and deserves a recommendation .
Overall the Conrad Hotel is a very good , in a great location , in a great city ,Bravo Chicago !

Room Tip: We had room #736 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the efficiency of the Front Desk team, the view from your guestroom and the location. We're sorry to learn that you experienced a problem in the restaurant during breakfast, but are glad that Michael was able to resolve it. Again, thank you for the positive review. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for a long weekend with my husband. We have visited Chicago numerous times over the past 7 years and we like to change it up every once in a while.
The location is on Michigan Ave so its conveniently located to great shopping, awesome restaurants and even Oak St. Beach is a nice walk away. The staff appeared friendly, although there really wasn't much interaction with them. It's connected to Nordstroms and the shops at North Bridge so there is direct access to shopping which can be a plus for many. There is no free breakfast in the morning which is a downside and surprising given the perception of it being an upper class hotel. There is a nice bar area which I noticed many people utilizing and you can purchase a breakfast for a hefty price in the morning, however for people who are in a hurry this can be annoying and expensive. There aren't a lot of breakfast options in the immediate area to walk to for people on the go. The rooms were average sized but very clean and well appointed. The bathroom had a nice soaking tub (although it was difficult to get in/out of because the border was so wide), a separate shower, and a separate toilet room. Beds were comfy as well. We had a nice view up Michigan Ave. from our room and it was very quiet the entire time. The downside for us were the arrangements of the elevators. You have to take an elevator up to the lobby, then walk a distance to the other set of elevators which takes you to the upper floors. For me, this is annoying, especially when you are carrying shopping bags or are just exhausted from a day of walking this beautiful city. Their website states "on demand" movies and we even confirmed this during a phone call conversation prior to arriving when calling on a separate matter. Come to find out, their "on demand" movies are actually "you call the front desk and have a DVD sent up." Also, no mini-fridge in the room, but you can have one brought up and placed on the floor. This was quite surprising and certainly not up to par given today's technology. Another downside was airport transfer options. Every time we stay in Chicago we arrange a private airport transfer for ease and comfort reasons and it has always been around the same price, give or take $10. We always stay in the same general vicinity as well so the distance did not factor in. Well, attempted to arrange this with this hotel and they wanted to charge DOUBLE what we were accustomed to - ended up taking a taxi. Will say Wifi worked well. Did not need concierge due to being familiar with the city. Overall it is a nice hotel, however I doubt we will ever stay here again. I was able to snag a nice deal online which pushed our decision, but there are a lot of downtown hotels that give extra perks/conveniences for the same price or cheaper. Their location is ideal for staying downtown and walking to everything that is "must see" in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandEAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consett
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself , Cazz the wife and our 15 yrs old son Tom booked a holiday to America to complete route 66. We went through a company called Bon Voyage who planned the trip and booked hotels and hire car.
Our first stop was Chicago where we stayed two nights before we picked up the car. We were staying at the Conrad Chicago hotel. I was gobsmacked at how nice this place was. It was luxury. Staff were very very friendly. We had a fantastic room with a fantastic bathroom. Massive television-all the mod cons. We had a couple of breakfasts and felt like royalty being served on. Prices were very reasonable as well for hearty American breakfasts. We were glad to get on our way after picking up the car but also sad to leave this hotel. If we were to stay for a week in Chicago I would have no hesitation in using the hotel again

Room Tip: Did not use pool and Tom stayed with us when we toured the city for the short time we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micky0135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Top notch service. From the valet who greeted me and directed me to check in to the front desk and restaurant staff.
Having never stayed here before the girl at the front desk thoroughly explained the amenities like the Sleep Menu which is awesome , and where the fitness center is , the restaurant and it's hours. Asked if I needed any assistance with plans for the evening I checked in.
I ordered room service which arrived as stated.
There were bottles of water in the room , free wifi that actually worked efficiently.
We had drinks in the lounge and the staff was very nice an friendly and provided good service.
Chris in concierge was very nice and helpful when I needed car service. The breakfast restaurant staff was very nice.
Great location attaches to the Nordstrom shopping center.
Would definitely stay there again. Appreciate not being nickeled and dimes with extra wifi charges and other amenities. Great overall hotel

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollowtheSunChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Robin,

Thank you for reviewing the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and experienced the warm, friendly service of our team from the minute you entered the front door until you departed. We are happy you selected some items from our Sleep Menu and had great experiences in the lounge and in the restaurant for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over Easter. Lovely hotel with excellent location and customer service. Made use of concierge a lot and they were spot on with recommendations for restaurants and shopping etc..Nice rooms but not great views. Loved the city and its friendly people. Favourite spot for breakfast was Yolk and then Blueberry pancakes. A must see shop/bar/restaurant is Eataly for ALL things italian which is just around corner from the hotel. Enjoyed a trip on the Innisfree boat as part of the Chicago architectural tour. Skyscrapers are amazing. Millenium park is very central and lovely for a walk. I adored the Bean!! Really enjoyed our first visit to Chicago you gotta go!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for posting a review of the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel as you visited Chicago for the first time and the hotel's excellent location gave you easy access to all that you wanted to do and see. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#72 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,175 reviews
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing