We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgotten dresses delivered back to me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #103 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forgotten dresses delivered back to me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

While staying at the W Hotel on business I forgot to pack the dresses in my wardrobe.

Dante Jarrett really helped me out by hand delivering them to the company HQ where I work. He was very helpful and his kind assistance much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the note! We are happy that Dante was helpful in returning your dresses...our talent go above and beyond for our guests!

We appreciate your loyalty to W Hotels of Chicago and look forward to having you back soon.

Regards,
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    693
    328
    190
    116
See reviews for
221
711
174
914
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to Chicago with a group of friends. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The hotel is centrally located, and near the L for easy access to the entire city. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
WOW! Thank you for the review! I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience!
Please come back soon for another enjoyable escape!

Warm regards,
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at this property many times. It's close to where I need to be but more importantly I always know what to expect. When you walk in the W's special scent is the first thing that you notice. Everything is always perfect in the lobby and check-in is always great. This review is specific to my visit last week though. My suitcase didn't make it to Chicago with me. I was frustrated when I checked in but Rose took care of everything. She made sure that I had everything that I needed in the room. She sent me to a place to pick up some clothes for the next day and even sent a note and chocolates up. Then next evening she delivered my suitcase to the room to make sure that I received it.

In a situation that was not ideal, Rose was exceptional. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careerman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the great note and for your loyalty to Starwood! We are truly lucky to have Rose on our team I will share your feedback with the team. We are glad that your luggage was found and delivered. It seems your experience worked out well after all!

Thank you and we look forward to having you back soon!

Warm regards,
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

First I would like to say that the hotel room although small was average. The thing that got me was the very....very dark lobby. I really thought I was in a night club scene every day and every morning that I left the hotel for business. This is not what I expected from the W Hotel. My friends told me that all of the W's have the same vibe. And that disco ball in the ceiling was the kicker for me. I am in my 40's so it would be good to have just a little lighting to see my way around.

The customer service was excellent at the front desk. They were very attentive to their guest. I did feel that the doorman (short guy) was not that attentive to guest. Also, upon my arrival, I was assisted out of my cab, but then me and my luggage were on our own at that point. So again, I had to locate my luggage on the curb, and then open the door myself. I really thought I was going to be delivered into some luxury-but that was not the case at the front door. Out of one entire week I believe I opened the door myself 5 of 7 days in the evening after returning to the Hotel.


The hotel resturant did not have a really good menu items. Bottom line-I would not stay at this location again. In fact, on my first night, I went across the street to the Marriott and enjoyed a really nice dinner and felt at home. They just did not have the room I needed and for the price. So I had to settle.

Room Tip: Always read the trip advisor comments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffayette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the candid feedback! It is fantastic to hear that you felt so welcomed by our Welcome desk - what a vital component of any stay! We are truly sorry that our door ambassador was not there to assist you when you arrived.

If you find your travels bring you back to Chicago, please let us know prior to your arrival so that we can have you experience a different [and more spacious!] room type.

We look forward to welcoming you back - and again thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and for sharing your feedback!

Thank you!
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I reserved a package that included parking and a few drinks. It seemed to save us about $40-$50 because the rate we received was the same I was offered at surrounding hotels without parking.

Also, when I reserved online, I mentioned in the comment box that it we were staying there for our anniversary. A few days before our trip I received an email from concierge Eden Bernal welcoming us and letting us know she had a surprise for us upon our arrival.

We arrived three hours before check-in time so our room was not ready. However, they did welcome us and congratulated us on our anniversary. They allowed us to check-in so when our room was ready they would call us and we could go straight to the room. The front desk informed us that we had been upgraded to a Fabulous Room.

The lobby is very modern almost like a night club without the music. It is a bit dark, but it is very nice.

We returned when our room was ready. It was a very spacious room with a chaise lounge. The decor was very clean and modern. A flat screen tv was mounted to the wall. There was a docking station along side the bed. The bathroom was very large and modern. The whole room was very clean with very modern decor. The king size bed was a bit softer than I am used to, but it was very comfortable. There were L tracks below us and even though we were 9 floors up you could hear it arrive and leave. It wasn't that loud,but you could hear it. however, later that night we were so tired we slept right through it.

Eden had a complimentary bottle of wine and some chocolates delivered to our room with a very nice card for our anniversary. She was super and bent over backwards to make our visit an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llandeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
First, may we say congratulations on your anniversary! What an exciting time for you and we are honored we would have the opportunity to share in such a special celebration. Also, thank you for choosing W Chicago City Center!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Eden - we are lucky to have her on our team and will be sure to share your accolades with them!

We look forward to welcome you back to W Chicago City Center on your next anniversary or sooner!??

Have a great week!
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights
It is very much in the city centre with the Ellis tower right across the street
Rooms are nice big with comfortable beds

The things I didn't like about the hotel was the breakfast ,with limited options to chose from and the wifi which was not free in the rooms

The reception staff was very helpful so were the guys in the restaurant

The lobby crowded in weekends with many people trying to make use of the free wifi available only in the lobby

You can walk to all the prominent city landmarks from the hotel that is the plus point ( about 30 mts walk to the michigan avenue)

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Madhu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your W City Center experience. We welcome you back any time and please feel free to ask our servers for an item you may not have seen on our menu.

Thanks again,
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The W was modern, trendy, clean, and welcoming. Tyler helped us check in and was incredibly friendly, and was able to accommodate our requests perfectly. The room was fun, well-decorated, and comfortable. Didn't utilize too many of the amenities, but got a drink from the bar in the lobby that was great. Overall, staying at the W made for a very pleasant and special experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very lucky to have Tyler on our team. I will share your comments with the entire team. We look forard to having you back at W Chicago City Center.

Best,
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#93 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#62 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing