We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel- Especially the Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #104 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hotel- Especially the Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The concierge was exceptionally helpful in recommending a restaurant. What was most impressive was the security team. I had a package delivered to the hotel and unfortunately had to leave before it arrived. The security team was helpful in getting the package forwarded on to another property I was staying at across the country!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad to know that enjoyed yor escape with us and our Security talent assisted with your missed package.

We look forward to having you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    693
    328
    189
    116
See reviews for
221
711
174
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am a Starwood loyalist but would never stay at this W again. Sure the staff was friendly and the room furnishings were sufficient, but for $417 plus tax per night, is a good nights sleep really too much to ask for? The train runs constantly right outside the window, depending on what side of the building you get. No excuses - this is really unacceptable. At a minimum, apologize in advance, provide some earplugs and price accordingly for where your room is located. Even the 18th floor was unacceptable. Can't give this stay anything but a poor review.

Room Tip: Choose a room up high and away from the mass transit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so sorry you had challenges with your room and noise. If we have the luxury of welcoming you back with us, please let us know directly and we will make sure you have a quiet and comfortable room!

Thank you for your feedback, it truly helps us achieve higher levels of service.
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is my first time at a W Hotel...I will definitely be back and even try for these types of hotels when I make my travel plans.

My wife and I, late 30's stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. From beginning to end we enjoyed our stay. While checking in, I believe his name was Travis (not for sure on that), was very helpful. I mentioned that some reviews stated that there was quite a bit of noise from the "L", yet we enjoy city views, so he gave put us on a higher floor, gave us a slightly bigger room, than what we booked. First, there was not that much noise at all, I think some people are used to total silence, cities are not that but it never affected our sleep.

Sleek, modern, and a great feel to the whole hotel. Great size beds and I love the way the hotel is set. up. Great people at the door when you come in. The attention to detail was excellent. Easy check out, clear what you would and wouldn't pay extra for. I will definitely look to stay here when we are in Chicago and beyond. Well done W Hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlangner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Sounds like you had a great time! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recognize our talent (no Travis I'm guessing it was our Tyler)

Looking forward to your next stay!

Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My company held a conference here and I stayed for a few days as part of it.

First off, the conference staff were great and the conference facilities were very nice, as was all the catering, etc. We scoured all of Chicagoland for the right place to do this conference, and the W had a great balance of location, price, and amenities.

Room was fine, although I got sort of a dud view (protip: there's no actual courtyard in your courtyard view room, just a giant W atop the air-conditioning machinery.)

But, it was clean, had all the amenities of a high end hotel, included a wired internet connection, which really saved my life. Everything was clean, staff was friendly, and it's convenient to lots of restaurants (although the area does get a little empty at night -- it's an office district).

I'm not personally a massive fan of the W style -- I don't need my lobby to feel like a disco -- but overall this was a best-case-scenario stay.

Room Tip: If I had to do it over again, I'd take a street view room with the noise, over a courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
"Thank you for the review!

We are so happy to hear the location, service and bliss amenities made an impact on your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon - and before your travels bring you back to Chicago be sure to check out our special offers page, where you can find guest room packages that include wireless in your room!

See you soon and thanks again for the kind words!
Review Management"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was my first time staying at the W Chicago City Center and it was comfortable and similar to other W's that I have been to. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the the bathroom was nice as well. The flatscreen tv was a little older and at a weird angle from the beds. The biggest downside was the lack of view as our windows faced another building. Im not sure if any of the rooms have a scenic view as the front of the building faces another hotel. Of note, not all the rooms are the same size as our friends one floor down, had a larger room.

In terms of location, there's a Dunkin Donuts nearby as well as starbucks and Mcdonalds. Michigan ave is a couple blocks walk. Otherwise, you'll have to taxi to other places.

The price was a little more than other hotels that friends stayed at. Is it worth the extra cost…I'm not sure I can say yes. Still, it was a nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhoboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Reiew Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the candid feedback. While the historic nature of the building lends to a variety of room layouts, we would love to welcome you back and have you explore some of our upgraded room types. Be sure to visit our special offers page before booking your next trip as we have guest room packages that include an upgrade along with a range of other incredible items!

Hope to see you soon!
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

pros:
-location, location, location
-check in was smooth, quick
- room was ok size, stylysih. it was a "wonderful room" -this is the name of the room itself

cons:
-beware check out charges, we were charged 56 usd after we checked out and the bill provided did not match bill initially provided. It is unacepptable to charge extra money "after the fact".
- room was overlooking internal patio, which meant we never had natural light. this was extremely dissapointing
-valet men are a lil bit slow to react when helping to get taxis
-bath had some amenities but nothing extraordinary

Room Tip: the "wonderful room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the candid feedback. While the historic nature of the building lends to a variety of room layouts, we would love to welcome you back and have you explore some of our upgraded room types. Be sure to visit our special offers page before booking your next trip as we have guest room packages that include an upgrade along with a range of other incredible items!

Hope to see you soon!
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 28th anniversary last week. Wow!!! Emily was extremely friendly during our check-in. Upon learning of our anniversary she provided us a room upgrade. Great room. Before dinner we stopped to have a drink at the restaurant and met Kyle. Kyle was extremely friendly and informed the rest of the staff of our anniversary.

After dinner we were surprised to find a bottle of champagne in our room with a personalized note from Kyle and Emily. While sitting in the hotel lounge, every staff member congratulated us including Justin the manager. We enjoyed talking with Justin, Emily and Kyle. What wonderful people they are. The make the 'W' a special place..

Special thanks to Kyle and Emily for going the extra mile. We felt like VIP's!!! We'll be be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy you were so inspired by Emily, Tyler and Justin we certainly will recognize their efforts.

We are so thankful for your loyalty and appreciation - are anxious to welcome you back soon to celebrate your 29th or sooner!

Warm regards & congratulations!
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#39 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#95 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing