We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #108 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The W City Center has been my home away from home for going on 4 years now - and I wouldn't dream of staying in any other Loop hotel. First and foremost, the staff have made an effort to get to know me and have always made me feel welcome and appreciated (especially Fatima, Tyler, Erwin, and Lauren at the front desk!). The life of a frequent business traveler can be a lonely existence, but whenever I check in or come back from a long day at the office, the W team makes me feel like I'm among friends. Plus, for business travel, you really can't beat the downtown (Loop) location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,549)
There are newer reviews for W Chicago - City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I went to Chicago for the very first time. This was my husband's milestone birthday and so it was a surprise. Our experience started way before we got there thanks to Eden Bernal the Concierge at the W Hotel. She made dinner arrangements for us, and booked a wonderful Architecture Boat Tour. We were only there for 2 days, but well worth it. We decided to go "public" transportation starting from the Airport (Midway). Easy - we took the train in and stopped at "Quincy" - the Hotel is conveniently located right there! Transportation is user friendly and easy to get around, hop in & hop off. I would suggest a 3 day pass for that - very reasonable too. Check-in was really easy for us eventhough we had gotten there before check-in time, but no problem, our beautiful tidy room was ready for us. Away we went off touring the Windy City. Food was so amazing too. I would highly recommend this hotel and honestly, if you have any special requests, Eden goes above and beyond and makes sure your stay will be memorable. I can't rate the Swimming Pool nor the Spa since we did not have time to use these facilities. Next time we'll have to stay for 1 week!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friend and i stayed at the W Chicago City Center last week. While exiting the hotel we were met with torrential rain. What further complicated things were that there weren't any cabs available. The doorman, Donte gave us two umbrellas to have for our travels due to the weather. Everyone at the hotel was great, and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your escape with us...please come again!

Cheers,
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We flew into Midway and got to the hotel within 20 minutes from the airport. Our room was clean, modern and the Bliss toiletries are a nice touch! It was a 10 minute walk to The Art institute and walking distance to everything else we did or a short cab ride. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Last time I was in Chicago I stayed in the Gold Coast area but we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We read the reviews about the train noise so we requested a room on the upper floors facing the cour...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fawnyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed this past week with my sisters. Hotel was great and the front agent, Emily, was especially sweet and so very helpful. Also loved the Bliss products in the room and the cool lobby. Will be back again with my sisters!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank afudale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to having you back.

Thanks again for escaping with us!

Cheers,
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Rarely do i find the level of customer service anywhere that i experienced at the W Hotel - City Center recently. I visited Chicago in May and enjoyed my stay, but when I returned home to Phx, I realized 4 days after my return, I had left some clothing behind. I called the W expecting the clothing was long gone, and was transferred to Omar Pereda, Security Officer. He confirmed I they had found two jackets and a pair of boots. I hadn't even realized I left the boots. Omar instructed me on setting up a FedEx account for shipping. After encountering issues with the FedEx site, he offered to ship them on my behalf. As a frequent traveler, I was going to be away and needed the clothes for meetings in Los Angeles. Omar shipped the clothing directly to my hotel in Los Angeles. I was elated to arrive at the hotel in LA and find a package waiting for me. Omar continued to follow up with me via email to ensure the shipment was received. He is truly one of a kind!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello!

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff at this hotel is very friendly. We were exhibitors at a conference hosted at this hotel and Omar Pereda from Security went the extra mile helping us ship our booth materials back to the office! The rest of the staff was very helpful too, but I didn't catch their names.

Plus the food they provided for the event was much better than what you typically get catered in such situations. All of the attendees noticed.

The property looks very nice, though it feels smaller than some other W locations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello!

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Cheers,
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 191 in Chicago
1,484 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago - Lakeshore
W Chicago - Lakeshore
#96 of 191 in Chicago
1,539 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 191 in Chicago
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £132 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing