We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #90 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I love this place for long stays in the city. Great location and spacious rooms for working. Some things like the rugs are dated and need replacing, however overall a great value. Best breakfast deal included.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,669 - 2,675 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

A recent trip to Chicago for a long weekend (thurs-sun) found us at this Embassy Suites. We found the rooms clean and spacious, and the staff very friendly.. This hotel is a short walk (3-4 blks) to Navy Pier, and likewise to Michigan Ave. The complimentary happy hour and free breakfast was a nice perk, happy hour had a fairly long line, but it went smooth. i would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel in 2007 and again now in July 2012. The hotels front doors face Columbus Avenue, but the vehicle driveway entrance and exit is actually on Illinois Street. It is located near Navy Pier so you can either walk or take a cab there. One of the tour bus company has a pickup point between the Sheraton and this Embassy Suites. We took a cab to the Adler planetarium. Cab rides can get expensive very quickly if you get stuck in traffic. One of the mornings we went out we decided to take our own car which the valet had to deliver. We waited an hour or so as they couldnt find our car. Eventually after much deliberation we received our car and they comped us one night free parking. Despite this incident we still enjoyed our stay and all the staff were both professional and friendly and helpful. Room service was excellent, better than breakfast. Room was clean and with having 2 kids under 10 we appreciated the 2 room layout. We didnt feel crowded.
Next time we in Chicago we will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taykayTroy_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've stayed at a number of Embassy Suites before, and this hotel is on par with all of them. You get a spacious, clean room with great freebies like buffet breakfast and happy hour food and drinks. The view of downtown Chicago from my room was beautiful, and the location offered a short walk to Navy Pier and the shops on the Magnificent Mile. The lone downside was the price, which seemed astronomical, but is similar to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great location, close to peir, Magnificeint Mile and close to Hop on Hop off stop. The staff were amazing and rooms were clean. The full breakfast and happy hour was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor recomanded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aline7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here 1 night w/ family. Great location close to Navy Pier & Michigan Ave. Room clean and spacious, great breakfast. Staff very helpful.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Pnmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel was gorgeous! Surrounded by many very popular tourist attractions in downtown Chicago, this hotel was the only one I found with complimentary breakfast and free drinks and snacks in the evening. The very open and bright lobby was amazing and the beds were huge and extremely comfortable. Our view wasn't great out our window but the room was very large.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £91 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing