We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #87 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We went on a weekend trip to Chi-town, first time and stayed at this hotel. It is VERY spendy but we got 50% discount because there was a party planned in one of the banquet we were invited to, otherwise it would have cost over $400 a night. The breakfast was the best Embassy Suites I have ever had. For that reason alone, this place is great! Great location, near the navy peir. Room was very clean and they allowed us to do a late check out since our train wasn't leaving until about 2pm. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

My family of four stayed at The Embassy Suites Lakefront in late July 2012 for two nights while exploring Chicago with our two small children. We had selected the hotel based on numerous internet recommendations that rated it as a good place to stay with kids. We were not disappointed:

The Good:

• Location – walk everywhere. Blocks to Navy Pier, shopping, restaurants, etc. Finding the entrance is a little tricky as it is not well marked, but other than that this is an excellent place to stay with a family.

• Staff – very friendly and accommodating to small children. Bell hops and valets were fast and polite

• Free breakfast – I was really impressed with the breakfast. It included healthy options like fruits, bran cereals, oatmeal, etc. for the health conscious as well as pancakes, sausages, bacon, biscuits and gravy and the like for the rest of us. They have a made-to-order line as well that makes excellent omelets, but if you plan on hitting that line get there early (before 8 a.m.) or you will wait a while

• Pool and hot tub – indoors, clean and just the right temperature for both. They are also open late, catering to tourists and sightseers who were out on the town and came back with achy feet and backs. I think the hours were 11 a.m. til midnight. Plenty of big fluffy towels available poolside.

• Cocktail reception – free drinks from the bar. A bit of a line, but the bartenders were friendly and kept it moving. I had a Mai Tai and my wife had some kind of cranberry martini. Both were good. The bartender also made a production out of making Shirley Temples for our girls. Snacks were a little sparse, but we were on out way out to dinner anyway

• Quiet – the place is teeming with families. Tons of kids of all ages, yet we never heard running, crying, voices or anything else. Our kids slept great both overnight and at nap time

The Not Quite as Good

• Water damage in our room – Our room on the sixth floor had obvious water damage to one of the walls that was clearly not new. Maybe I’m being picky, but at Chicago prices this should have been fixed. The room was clean, spacious and had a nice TV in the bedroom and the sitting area, but the water damage sort of ruined it for me. We didn’t pay top dollar, but we paid enough that I expected better

• Windows in sitting area – every room had a window in the sitting area out into the hallways. They were covered by wooden shutters, but they didn’t completely block the light from the hall. It wasn’t a major issue for us as we all slept in the bedroom, but if you are planning to use the sitting room as extra sleeping space it may be an issue for you

• A little dated – The carpet and décor throughout are a little dated. The phones in the rooms are ancient and made the place seem older than it was

Overall we had a good experience and would consider staying here again in the future if we were travelling with our kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high. We arrived late and with grumpy kids so we forgot, but other guests we talke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Need2TravelMuchMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We visited Chicago last weekend. This was our first trip to Chicago. We felt very comfortable and welcome at this hotel. We meant to book the Embassy Suites on State St but, ended up here on accident. We really enjoyed this hotel, however. They had a happy hour with an open bar for two hours on Saturday evening. It was still a family-friendly atmosphere though. They also had a really nice, free breakfast Sunday morning too. The room was typical. It reminded me of a room that I had stayed in at the a Doubletree in Plymouth Meeting, PA. The gym, pool and hot tub were great features. Geographically, the hotel was in a great location. We enjoyed exploring the city, by foot, from this location. The rooms weren't fancy but, we felt at home, enjoyed all of the hotel had to offer and were able to get a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Love the location & service. The rooms and decor are outdated. The complimentary breakfast is great if you are traveling with kids and the food is pretty good. This location allows you easy access to Navy Pier, Magnificent mile, chicago trolley stop and the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turbostang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed there 8 years ago and it still looks the same. It is outdated. The carpeting especially looks bad. The staff was nice. The lines were very long for food. More food stations are needed. I think since the location is great, they don't worry about what it looks like.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haapytrails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Three of us stayed at the hotel for four nights. Hotel room did not have vent in the bathroom; no in room safe. Carpet looked dirty and definitely needed some major updating with furnishing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine if you got to the lobby by 7:00 am. I would not stay at this hotel again when I could stay at the Hyatt Regency for the same price.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezliven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I booked the Embassy Suites for an anniversary/ birthday trip for my husband and I. When we arrived to check in we knew that they were almost sold out for the time we were there. We didn't find the hotel to feel over run by people and the front desk was very well run and everyone seemed happy and relaxed. As we were there to celebrate we were lucky enough to get the Presidential Suite (room 1704). We found the room was very clean and comfortable. Not overly fancy but more then we ever expected. The room was huge!!! One large living/dinning room. There were 2 large comfy sofas that open up into beds and a massive table for 6. One bedroom with a King Bed and a bathroom with a tub sink and toilet. On the other side there's a bedroom with 2 double beds and a bathroom with an handicap shower and toilet and sink.

The free breakfast was really nice. We never did the made to order but the line didn't seem to long if you went early enough. The buffet had actual scrambled eggs, sausage/ bacon, hashbrowns and pancakes. Cereals, yogurt, breads for toast and such. There were lots of tables and everything was kept clean and well stocked. We usually just took our food up to our room though as we had a dinning area.

Free drinks were served between 5:30 and 7:30. Salsa, chips, crackers and the largest bowl of hummus I've ever seen were also there to enjoy. It was great having a drink after a hot long day trekking around the city. The line moved very fast and the bar was very well stocked. There is an large selection of cocktails/ spirits and wine to chose from. It was a great chance to try something new. You could only be served one drink at a time but you can go up a couple of times. There is no cost although we did tip the staff, but that was our choice and not expected.

The lady working at concierge was such a sweet helpful person and instantly felt like a close friend who was interested in everything you needed or had done and wanted to tell her. I wish I could have brought her home! If she wasn't there the front desk always tried to answer everything.

The location of the hotel was perfect! About a 15 minute walk from the Water Tower on Michigan Ave. or to the Navy Pier. P.J. Clarke's down at the corner of the hotel was great for dinning in or pick up.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars are because unlike most hotels that have a book of hotel information in the room this hotel has nothing like that. They had a photocopy/stapled pages for ordering food and that was all. We had to call down for any other info. They charge $1.50 for local calls and don't have free wifi. They do have a station down in the lobby with 3 computers that you can use for free to check the internet. There was never a wait to use them though and they worked fast enough. Also the pool is really really small and couldn't help but be over run by kids during such hot weather. So although I was looking forward to using it we couldn't ever comfortably use the pool.

Over all we had a wonderful visit and we hope to be able to stay at the Embassy again on future visits. Although it will be hard to stay in a normal room next time. LOL

Room Tip: Great city views, ask for a high floor. Elevators were quick and efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inhousemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing