We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I really like the concept of this hotel. Good breakfast and some free drinks between 5pm and 7 pm. My only concern is the cleaness of the room. We were supposed to have a non- smoking room, but it smell the cigaret, and find some ashes on the carpet. I think that the vaccum should be past after each client. Also, you have to count 39$ more for the parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikette43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a very solid hotel in a great location in downtown Chicago. Staff was super accomodating and friendly. Beds were very comfy, room was clean, and it was quiet. I like suites with the extra sitting area, along with microwave and fridge, so that was great too. The breakfast lines were ridiculously long, and it was hard to find an open table. Eating from the breakfast bar is pretty fast (scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes), but the food is lukewarm. If you want an omelette, pancakes, or biscuits and gravy, you're going to wait in line 15-30 minutes. The food is good, once you get it, and the staff are very nice. The manager's reception at night was the same crazy line, and there was nothing of note for snacking, so we totally skipped that. I would stay here again because of the overall hotel experience and the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable but service in lobby shop and long lines at breakfast and reception were crazy. It took more than 30 minutes to get breakfast due to the lines in the morning. At the manager's reception it wasn't worth waiting. The rooms and location of the hotel were good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for Christmas Eve for several years. It's well run, comfortable and close to everything. It has one of the best hotel breakfasts around and the suites work perfectly for families. It's walking distance to most sites. The value is good for a downtown hotel. The parking however is very expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We just returned from a night at the Embassy Suites Lakefront-New Year's Eve. From the reviews, I was not sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. The location could not be beat for dinner and fireworks on Navy Pier. We checked in early and walked next door to Lucky Strike Lanes to watch a basketball game and have a few drinks. With the cold and the snow, it was great that it was right next door! Dinner was within walking distance, as was Navy Pier. It would have been hard to get a taxi right after midnight, so we were glad to have the opportunity to walk back to the hotel once the fireworks were done. As for the hotel, other reviewers are correct, it is large and it was certainly crowded. That said, we expected a crowd on New Year's Eve. There was a line for drinks at the Manager's Reception. Snacks were average. The hotel was quite lively well past midnight, but once we were in our rooms, we really could not hear much of the noise in the atrium. Our rooms were small, but they were clean and cozy. Breakfast was also very crowded, but the hotel seemed to manage it great. The line was fast and there was plenty of seating. Again, we had a line at check out, but it was expected. Overall, we had a great experience and may do it again next New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idontwant2gohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The good: This Embassy Suites is in a good location if you want to be near the loop, and near a stop on the Red line. It has very good prices (go for the AAA price if you can), and the beds were comfortable. The bad: There were way too many people staying in the hotel for the place to handle. We have stayed in other Embassy Suites, and have never had such an unpleasant experience at both the "manager's reception" (a free drink and snacks at about 5:30) and the breakfast (full breakfast, but...). Long, long waits, to the point that whatever food we got at breakfast was ice cold by the time we finally got to our tables. The quality was feh, and while the staff tried, they seemed overwhelmed themselves by the crowds. The hotel clearly needed to set up additional stations to handle this many people, but had not done so. The mini-fridge in our room (which we thankfully did not need to use) was gross... it clearly had not been cleaned in quite a while. Also, when we were leaving, the guy handling getting taxis wanted us to take a car service for a lot more than a taxi, and when we said we wanted a taxi, he ignored us. Overall, not a great experience.

Room Tip: The elevators are not able to handle the crush of people during breakfast, so if you are on a lower...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_from_Broomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is a decent place to stay but it is nothing impressive. The suite we were in seemed a little worn although the furniture and carpet appeared newer. Overall, it was comfortable. The evening reception was quite a disappointment compared to others I have attended. It consisted of an alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverage and things like popcorn and pretzels. The hotel is quite large so there many people attending the reception. It was somewhat unsanitary at the reception as some people were impatiently reaching into the popcorn and bumping each other. Also, there were only a small amount of vegetable appetizers that disappeared before we even made it through the line. I chose not to eat the "snacks" as they were nothing special and too many hands had been in them. The bar service was good and the staff made drinks quickly and efficiently. While there we had a few issues with customer service; some staff were friendly while others were not. On the plus side, the manager was quite responsive and rectified the situation to our satisfaction (which we really appreciated). The most annoying thing about it, though, was when I was explaining our situation to the manager, the front desk person in which I was complaining about started yelling over to us in front of other customers which lacked professionalism. The manager hurried and corrected that situation, as well. One thing that was quite noticeable was the fact that depending on who you asked at the hotel, the information varied. We had been told that the restaurant/bar would be open soon by one staff member, then 1:00 p.m. by someone else. After waiting over 40 minutes for someone, we were told that the bartender would arrive at 1:30 p.m. and assist us, when that didn't happen and we saw others getting served, we had to get management intervention and I must say she was very responsive. The ironic thing is that after all that, we got on the elevator to the lobby and that said the restaurant didn't open until 2:00 p.m. Very bad communication with times but because of the manager, we could overlook that. The next day, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and I cannot say enough good things about them and the wait staff. The breakfast chef was an excellent cook and super fast. I have never seen anyone make delicious omelets that fast in my life. There breakfast selection is superb and FREE. It more than made up for some of our earlier issues. Overall, this location may be ideal for those looking for space and breakfast included but for those seeking a little more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 191 in Chicago
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £122 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing