We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay for large family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay for large family”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here overnight with our family of 6. We love the layout of the room because the bedroom closes off from the sitting area, allowing us to put a smaller child to bed before the rest of us. The hotel provided a roll-away crib with linens. The room was quiet; we did not hear any other guests. The kids loved the glass elevator with views of the city. We had a nice view of the Chicago Sun-Times, Trump hotel and surrounding buidlings from our room. We did not see the lake from the hotel, however, the location is awesome. Michigan Ave, Lake Shore Dr., Navy Pier, Chicago River, Water Tower Place, are all walkable from the hotel even for our little ones.

The room was not quite as clean as we would have liked as we found someone's Gatorade bottle on the floor by the bed, and the carpet made our socks dirty (ew). Also there was no ventilation in the bathroom so it had a stale smell. One of our three sinks was all but clogged. Otherwise everything was in order.

The breakfast was fantastic!! Tons of choices, well stocked, and lots of staff working to clear plates, refresh your coffee and turn over tables. Everyone ate well. Bacon, eggs, pancakes, french toast, oatmeal, omelettes cooked-to-order, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt. Mom and Dad enjoyed the Evening reception too. Open bar with beer, wine, and cocktails!

We used the self-parking which was very easy (enter on Illinois St.) and convenient. We preferred this to the valet parking because we could get to our car easily (there is always someone who left something essential in the car!). Cost was $39 for 12-24 hours.

Wi-fi is an extra charge here, if that matters to you. Overall we were very satisfied and would stay here again. Lots of bang for the buck here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,335
    1,096
    375
    150
    66
See reviews for
1,324
437
67
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Embassy Suites Lakefront. The central location was perfect for our needs as we were going to be all over the place. I was traveling with my mother and 2 teenage girls for a graduation weekend celebration. We were able to walk to the Art Institute, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue and the Hard Rock Café. The AMC movie theater was right next door. D4 was a perfect little Irish Pub just down the street with delightful outside seating. We also had a 3 day pass on the double decker bus tour which was just a block away.

We arrived fairly early - 11am or so? - and our Premium room on the 17th floor was not ready but they were able to put us into a room right away on the 16th floor if we were interested. It was an extra $25 to get in early and we did not have the top floor like I was hoping but we were able to get in right away which was the most important thing to us at that moment. So we paid the extra money and they gave us a Premium room on the 16th floor. It worked fine. We were able to secure our luggage and start our sightseeing. Perfect!

I ordered the Premium room so we would have free Wi-Fi....the girls immediately entered the password and got their tablets and phones switched over with no problem. The signal was decent. They also liked the docking station and said that it charged faster than a wall charger. The Premium room also had free snacks in the vending machines. I was concerned that the vending machines would be empty based on other reviews but my teenagers were usually able to get some pop, apple juice, granola bars, cookies, popcorn, chips, candy, etc. I think it was empty only once. It was a highlight of their trip...free food and teens just sort of go together!! My mom loved the Keurig and tried the teas, coffee and hot chocolate choices! The Premium Room definitely fit our needs :)

The free breakfast was decent and plentiful. My mom did not care for the scrambled eggs on the buffet and said they did not taste real but she was also unwilling to wait in the long line for the cooked to order omelets. Other than that, everyone was happy. Scrambled eggs, diced potatoes, sausage, bacon, pancakes, French toast, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, donuts/pastries, and juices, soda, and fresh fruit were all offered.

The room was clean and fairly spacious for a downtown hotel. We easily received an extra pillow and extra towels from housekeeping. The microwave was great for heating up leftovers and making popcorn. The fridge was nice to have to keep our drinks cold. The fridge does NOT have a little freezer section. Ice is easily available down the hall. The elevators are very fast and prompt so don't hesitate about staying on a higher floor. Plus, it cuts down on the street noise when you are higher up. We had lake view and I loved watching the boats in the morning. It's not a full lake view (room 1528) because it's blocked by many skyscrapers but we were still fine with it.

There is no actual Embassy Suites restaurant or lounge on site besides the breakfast area, however their are several choices right nearby, including D4, Bellweather, Subway, and the AMC movie theater has a bar and restaurant in it as well. Walgreen's is nearby for anything you may have forgotten and they have an entire aisle of Chicago souvenirs if you don't want to have to carry them all day long while you are sightseeing. A wine shop is just down the street.

The Bellmen are attentive as is the Front Desk. On our last day we left our luggage with the bellmen while we went out sightseeing. It was taken to a secure area and it worked out great. We picked it up on our way to the train station and they hailed a taxi for us. We were sad to say good-bye!

Room Tip: 1528 faces the lake/not much street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a very nice stay at the hotel, however the bartender in the bar was very rude and obnoxious,I think his name was Garland? We just stopped in for a cocktail after a great day sightseeing, we wanted to relax and and have a quiet drink.....not great here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest -

Thank you very much for your posting on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback but I just wish to offer some clarification with respect to your comment about the bartender at our hotel. We do not have any team member by the name "Garland" or anything remotely close to that. Actually, we do not have any male bartenders and we do not have any employee in the hotel by that name. All our bartenders and bar staff are females. I certainly can empathize with your comment and concern but just wanted to offer some clarification from our end. Is it possible that you wer at a different Embassy Suites in downtown Chicago?

Thank you for you feedback and we wish you all the best!

Warm regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a great hotel at a really good price for downtown Chicago. It was very convenient and the room, breakfast and managers reception were great. I only had two complaints about this hotel, one was the room had that stale smell (sort of like cigarette smoke) and didn't have very good ventilation and the second was that I stayed there for 5 days and instead of putting my room next to other longer staying patrons, I was in a room that had revolving people on both sides all week. This was really difficult as they didn't seem to care what time it was and how much noise they were making at odd hours. For the hotel, it would be great if you could try to put people staying the full week in a section of the hotel so this is less likely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cengstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed one night for a conference. Room was a suite with fridge and microwave. Hotel bar open until 11 PM. The closet was a little small but for one night it was fine. Lots of restaurants and nightlife nearby. Close to Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Everything was clean and orderly. Just what I expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view if you can. Too many other buildings nearby to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingBurritoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I always stay at the Embassy Suites in Downtown Chicago for my visits to Chicago. This time my room was dirty and run down. The front desk was not overly concerned with the dried food left on our couch or the hanging/broken curtain in our bedroom or the hanging shower curtain. There was black mold around areas of the bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

As Chicago suburbanites, we often stay downtown for weekend adventures. We chose this hotel for the second time because of the location. It happened to be Memorial Day weekend, so the hotel was packed (understandable). However, the open floor plan that Embassy Suites tend to have seemed to amplify the noise of the crowds. The facility did not seem equipped to handle the increased number of customers, especially at breakfast and the manager's reception. The interior of the hotel is nice, and the rooms are fairly updated.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aimeetous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing