We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your typical hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the fourth of July. The rooms were very clean which is a definite bonus, however everything else was pretty average. We did have South facing windows towards the Pier and were able to watch the fireworks from our window. That alone made this hotel worth staying in.
The location was great. Smack dab in the middle of the Mag Mile, and the Pier!
My biggest complaint is no access to vending machines, or late night snacks. Apparently you must be apart of an elite group to gain access to an over priced bottle of water....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    1,096
    375
    150
    66
See reviews for
1,326
437
67
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this property for our wedding anniversary July 3 2014 w/teenage child. Staff Service and room quality were excellent. The hugely discounted price was best perk (under $135 per night). Did a luxury dinner cruise at Navy Pier aboard the Odyssey II. Walking distance from the Pier, Millennium Park & Michigan Ave. Steep valet parking prices($58), use self-park for slight savings ($39).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was in Chicago for conference the week of July 4th and rather than staying at the conference hotel, we chose to stay two blocks away at the Embassy Suites Lakefront. As mentioned in prior reviews, we are hhonors members and try to stay within Hilton hotels when all else is fairly same. Btw, I'm not saying, "hey, join hhonors," I'm suggesting that you join your favorite hotel chains' clubs (we belong to about three others). Anyway, I always recommend joining--it's free and eventually--depending on your travels--you'll earn some sort of perk.

We have seldom been disappointed with Hilton, and, again, another great experience has been had. The room itself was typical ES--a totally separate bedroom with a sink and then the living room area with the pullout sofa. We were pleasantly surprised with our view. Although the hotel itself is not directly on the lake and there are buildings all around, our room (10th floor) directly faced toward the Chicago River and offered a partial view of Lake Michigan to the left. The hotel has about 17-18 stories and I'm certain that higher stories would've had an actual view of the river, which we couldn't see from our floor. A weird thing that I've never had occur is that on two days, the towels were fuzzing up real badly and I had fuzz all over...a little annoying. Other than that, housekeeping did a fine job.

As for breakfast...yes it's true--you better go at opening time if you don't like to wait! You're definitely not going to walk out of your room and be sitting at your table five minutes later--unless you're the designated "table finder/holder" for your group! Some of the problem may be that breakfast ends at 9:30 instead of 10:00. For such a large hotel, this isn't enough time to get all those people fed, especially for us procrastinators out there. Kudos to the omelet guys who, I guess were so busy one day, they didn't even get a chance to set up their little tip zone and we kind of started a pile for them---these guys were hustling! I did notice that the buffet kept going past the ending time--so they won't crush your dream of starting your day eating cookies-and-cream doughnuts or a perfect omelet if you're still in line at 9:30. FYI, on Friday (July 4th), breakfast ended at 10:30, so you must get an extra hour on weekends and holidays. A tip: if wait for elevators is too long--take the steps down. The lobby/breakfast area is on level "5", so a few steps down won't kill most folks (coming up is a different story!).

Logistically, the manager's reception was better than breakfast. I guess not too hard to get chips, dip, and soft drinks (Coke and Shirley Temples for the kids). The bar, though, did have a line. Not anywhere near like what the breakfast one was, but long enough that I skipped it, instead opting for water--we were on our way out every afternoon anyway...I would've waited if plans were just to lounge in the common area or by the pool (located near the restrooms in dining area).

If you have a car, valet parking is something like $56 and self park is $39--both are in/out privileges. What was a little weird is that you pay the garage directly...they don't add parking to your bill. Don't let the vague "pay at the parking facility office" without any details as to where that office may be located break you into going valet...the garage office ended up being right by the exit (just follow the exit signs and pull over to handle payment). I thank the security guard who didn't just point me to a general direction, but actually walked with me all the way to the inside of the office! Anyway, you tell them you're a guest at the ES and you pay the $39/night. They'll give you a ticket you'll swipe every time you leave the lot. You estimate about how many times you'll be needing to exit and they'll put in that amount on the card. I initially guessed four times, but had to go back and add another three, so add a few extra to avoid having to go more than once. You'll be surprised how often you'll use your car--especially if you're there for more than a couple of days and really want to explore.

Finally, the hotel's location is what was so great. Only two blocks from Navy Pier, two blocks from the Magnificent Mile, in my case, two blocks from my conference, maybe five or six blocks from Millennium Park, about 1-1.25 mi from the Field Museum/Soldier Field area...it was just a very good location. There is a free trolley that brings you to Navy Pier. I think there are several stops for it, so look at the route and save yourself some steps...it's free!

Yes, one or two of the front desk staff weren't overly friendly--professional yes, but not friendly--where it mattered--the breakfast personnel, housekeeping, the little bar/diner staff in the lobby, and the aforementioned security guard (who wasn't even ES security), it was all a good experience and we will definitely return to it next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YesWeWereThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'm a mom traveling with three kids (2 school-aged and 1 toddler) and we stay at Hilton Hotels, and specifically Embassy Suites a lot -- mainly because they don't give us crap about being a family of 5 rather than a family of 4. We'd initially planned to stay at the DoubleTree up the street, but I stumbled onto a sale for the Embassy Suites, which gave us more space and a refrigerator and microwave and included breakfast. (For which there was nearly always a line. *sigh* They hotel does a good job of directing traffic, and apart from magically expanding and adding a second buffet section, I'm not sure how they'd solve that problem, but it's a pain. On the other hand, free hot and filling breakfast is a big, big perk.)

The location is really great for a family planning to see Chicago. Three blocks to Navy Pier, three blocks the other way to Michigan Avenue, from which you can get an easy 146 bus to the Museum Campus (for the aquarium, planetarium and Field Museum), the 151 north to the Lincoln Park Zoo, and the 10 to the Museum of Science and Industry. Bring a decent stroller, and there's no earthly reason to rent a car -- which is good, since parking is outrageous all over the area. We also loved that there were a TON of easy "fast casual" places to eat in the area -- Pei Wei, Chipotle, Panera Bread, Einstein's bagels, Pot Belly, Subway, and Epic Burger are all within a few blocks, and there's some great local options as well, including a fantastic Serbian Restaurant and a number of Sushi/Japanese options. So it was easy to keep everyone fed with a minimum of drama and within our budget.

This hotel is pretty middle-of-the-road for the Embassy suites chain; not as fancy as some, but absolutely in good nick; clean and comfortable. The hotel loses one star from me for one major issue: the housekeeping staff needs to be whipped into shape, because they're really not up to standard. We often came back to a room that was not made up or partially made up (bed was made, but no towels were left, or sheets and blankets for the pull-out were removed but not replaced) when we got in after a day of sight-seeing, so we would have to work with the front desk to get things fixed. This is despite having begged the concierge several times to have housekeeping come in the morning (ie. any time between 8:00 and 2pm) so the toddler could nap in the afternoon. This NEVER happened, during our 9 day stay which made for a grouchy toddler and frazzled parents. It's a small thing, but it would have made our whole vacation immeasurably better, so it loses them a star. Otherwise, we had a great stay and enjoyed catching the Fourth of July fireworks from our window. :)

Room Tip: Those with South-facing rooms on Higher floors may luck out and get a view of the Navy Pier firework...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belleweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was on a nightmare 18 hour flight saga from Atlanta to Chicago. We had numerous mechanical issues and plane changes, which led to an enormous delay. Ended up not arriving in Chicago until a day after I was supposed to after a huge storm system rolled in. I called Embassy Suites while this was going on and we were unsure if or when we would be arriving in Chicago. The people at the front desk were wonderful, did not charge me for my missed night. When I arrived early the next morning, they found me an open room, and waived the early check in fee when they heard about my travel from Hell. Customer service was fabulous, I can;t say enough about how they were so accommodating on a busy holiday week!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Such a let down . We had 3 nights here as part of a larger trip with friends . My wife booked it . Yes its a big hotel and the rooms are a great size however ours was not that clean, twice we came back at 5 and it hadn't been serviced . The cleaner complained she had too much work to do and gave it a lick and clean towels .We made our own bed so we could lie down rather than upset the maid more!

The hotel sadly is getting tired but I guess with do many kids it gets a knocking

We also had to wait one day 15 mins for a lift for breakfast !!

I think being Brits we aren't used to such large hotels however I do not recommend this place for couples as it's too big too noisy and more like a resort than a hotel .also waiting in line for breakfast one morning for 20 mins was no joke !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest -

Thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing our hotel for your visit to Chicago.

We deeply regret the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay with us. I am especially disappointed to hear that your guestroom was not cleaned until very late in the day during your stay and that your suite attendant may have acted unprofessionally by sharing her personal and work-related issues with you in an effort to gain your empathy. We have reviewed this with our executive housekeeper so that we can address this with all our associates and incorporate this corrective measure into our training meetings.

We also apologize for the delays you experienced with our complimentary breakfast service. As you experienced firsthand, we have been sold-out most of the nights during these past few weeks and have had high in-room multiple occupancies. Unfortunately, on some days, guests join us for breakfast at the very end of the service period and that can create longer lines and increased wait times at the omelet action stations. We have always anticipated some of this last-minute over-crowding and we staff according but sometimes we simply overflow the seating capacities and some guests can experience delays. Creating a wonderful experience at breakfast is the highest priority for our food and beverage team as well as for me.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback. We can only hope now that you will give us another opportunity to serve you properly in line with the high Hilton standards of service. But we also understand, that you as the discerning customer, have a choice in where you choose to stay so understandably, we hoteliers have to try much harder to earn and maintain your patronage and loyalty.

We wish you all the best and safe travels this summer!

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location was great - 1 block from the Magnificent Mile, the river, and just a few blocks to Navy Pier. There was even a free trolley that ran to the Navy Pier which made it very convenient to travel with 2 children. The breakfast buffet was very diverse and included with the cost of the room. It included items ranging from donuts to custom omelets. The wait staff was meticulously clean. They quickly cleaned up tables and anything that spilled on the floor.

The front desk staff was not very helpful. The concierge was seldom available during "normal" hours. We tried at least 3 times to find the concierge in the morning (8 -10 AM) but we could not located him. Since we could not find the concierge, we tried to ask a few questions to the front desk staff. The only thing they could offer was a map of the downtown area. We tried to get information regarding the public transportation schedule but the staff didn't have any information or maps with the routes. At the end of our stay, we tried to ask the front desk staff where we needed to pay for our parking fees. She replied that she had never been in the garage and didn't know where to pay. She did not even try to assist us. I expected better customer service from Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing