We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time just as Great as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“3rd time just as Great as the first!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel has the best location downtown and only 3 blocks from Navy pier and 4 blocks from Michigan Avenue. Although it was sold out and very crowed we were treated great by the front desk and staff. The free evening reception of drinks and snacks had a very long line but the bartender still smiled and greeted everyone cheerfully. The staff was quick to refill the snacks when they were low. The free cooked to order breakfast is a deal! Thus saved our family of 4 quite a lot of money. Stayed on the 16th floor and our room was very quite and clean. We even had a view of Navy Pier. Parking downtown is quite expensive but the self park here was $39.00 which is better then most other hotels. I would not stay anywhere else when I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,107
    381
    152
    67
See reviews for
1,349
440
67
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great location for the price ($139 includes breakfast). Clean, except the pool area was not maintained, hasn't seen a scrubbing in a while. Very slippery floor.
Housekeeping was not as thorough as I normally see at Hilton properties.
I'd try the double tree across the street, (if) for the same price next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mwolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

with paid parking everywhere, it was bit to figure out how I would check in, so I used Spotheroes to book a spot across street at Ogden Plaza (near Sheraton). The check-in area is in Sky lounge at 5th(?) floor. So as soon as you get in the door (facing Columbus drive, if you valet park go to E Illinois St.) The front desk is fake but go to the elevator to Skylounge. About 13 floors of beautiful atrium is stunning with glass rail with off white walls. this Embassy hotel does hold more people than many I have visited. View outside is ok, due to tall surrounding buildings, view gets crowded. You don't get a good lake view but you do get good city views. for city hotel, this Embassy rooms were spacious and as with all Embassy very comfortable and clean, and decor was superb. Because we were there on 4th July, lots of people were in and breakfast was a bit of wait. Location was great, 5 min walk to Navy Pier, 10 min to Millenium/Grant Park (although you would walk under the bridge look out for homeless out there as they can startle you.), 10+ min to Chicago 360/Hancock building, and minutes to Michigan Ave. Bit of walking for younger ones but we walked from here to parks-> shedd aquarium -> sears tower -> navy pier on a day one, day two Navy pier-> John hancock -> North Loop. For the value Embassy provide for large family, this is best ways to go visiting Chicago. also, if you can get a Citi Hilton Honor Reserve, this will bump you into Gold member; benefit including arrival package with bottle waters, and free wi-fi. Friendly staff, nice hot breakfast, great location and nice comfy place to rest after long walking, I would recommend this hotel when visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: rooms 1 - 20 you will get a good city views. elevator is at SE corner, rooms start to the right. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88hanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Embassy Suites Hotel on the lakefront was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were immaculate and quite comfortable. Although we were away from the hotel during the evening reception times, we did take advantage of the breakfast buffet. The breakfast was outstanding in terms of quality of preparation and variety of food to chose from. The staff was very helpful and professional. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Adell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed over the fourth of July. The rooms were very clean which is a definite bonus, however everything else was pretty average. We did have South facing windows towards the Pier and were able to watch the fireworks from our window. That alone made this hotel worth staying in.
The location was great. Smack dab in the middle of the Mag Mile, and the Pier!
My biggest complaint is no access to vending machines, or late night snacks. Apparently you must be apart of an elite group to gain access to an over priced bottle of water....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this property for our wedding anniversary July 3 2014 w/teenage child. Staff Service and room quality were excellent. The hugely discounted price was best perk (under $135 per night). Did a luxury dinner cruise at Navy Pier aboard the Odyssey II. Walking distance from the Pier, Millennium Park & Michigan Ave. Steep valet parking prices($58), use self-park for slight savings ($39).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was in Chicago for conference the week of July 4th and rather than staying at the conference hotel, we chose to stay two blocks away at the Embassy Suites Lakefront. As mentioned in prior reviews, we are hhonors members and try to stay within Hilton hotels when all else is fairly same. Btw, I'm not saying, "hey, join hhonors," I'm suggesting that you join your favorite hotel chains' clubs (we belong to about three others). Anyway, I always recommend joining--it's free and eventually--depending on your travels--you'll earn some sort of perk.

We have seldom been disappointed with Hilton, and, again, another great experience has been had. The room itself was typical ES--a totally separate bedroom with a sink and then the living room area with the pullout sofa. We were pleasantly surprised with our view. Although the hotel itself is not directly on the lake and there are buildings all around, our room (10th floor) directly faced toward the Chicago River and offered a partial view of Lake Michigan to the left. The hotel has about 17-18 stories and I'm certain that higher stories would've had an actual view of the river, which we couldn't see from our floor. A weird thing that I've never had occur is that on two days, the towels were fuzzing up real badly and I had fuzz all over...a little annoying. Other than that, housekeeping did a fine job.

As for breakfast...yes it's true--you better go at opening time if you don't like to wait! You're definitely not going to walk out of your room and be sitting at your table five minutes later--unless you're the designated "table finder/holder" for your group! Some of the problem may be that breakfast ends at 9:30 instead of 10:00. For such a large hotel, this isn't enough time to get all those people fed, especially for us procrastinators out there. Kudos to the omelet guys who, I guess were so busy one day, they didn't even get a chance to set up their little tip zone and we kind of started a pile for them---these guys were hustling! I did notice that the buffet kept going past the ending time--so they won't crush your dream of starting your day eating cookies-and-cream doughnuts or a perfect omelet if you're still in line at 9:30. FYI, on Friday (July 4th), breakfast ended at 10:30, so you must get an extra hour on weekends and holidays. A tip: if wait for elevators is too long--take the steps down. The lobby/breakfast area is on level "5", so a few steps down won't kill most folks (coming up is a different story!).

Logistically, the manager's reception was better than breakfast. I guess not too hard to get chips, dip, and soft drinks (Coke and Shirley Temples for the kids). The bar, though, did have a line. Not anywhere near like what the breakfast one was, but long enough that I skipped it, instead opting for water--we were on our way out every afternoon anyway...I would've waited if plans were just to lounge in the common area or by the pool (located near the restrooms in dining area).

If you have a car, valet parking is something like $56 and self park is $39--both are in/out privileges. What was a little weird is that you pay the garage directly...they don't add parking to your bill. Don't let the vague "pay at the parking facility office" without any details as to where that office may be located break you into going valet...the garage office ended up being right by the exit (just follow the exit signs and pull over to handle payment). I thank the security guard who didn't just point me to a general direction, but actually walked with me all the way to the inside of the office! Anyway, you tell them you're a guest at the ES and you pay the $39/night. They'll give you a ticket you'll swipe every time you leave the lot. You estimate about how many times you'll be needing to exit and they'll put in that amount on the card. I initially guessed four times, but had to go back and add another three, so add a few extra to avoid having to go more than once. You'll be surprised how often you'll use your car--especially if you're there for more than a couple of days and really want to explore.

Finally, the hotel's location is what was so great. Only two blocks from Navy Pier, two blocks from the Magnificent Mile, in my case, two blocks from my conference, maybe five or six blocks from Millennium Park, about 1-1.25 mi from the Field Museum/Soldier Field area...it was just a very good location. There is a free trolley that brings you to Navy Pier. I think there are several stops for it, so look at the route and save yourself some steps...it's free!

Yes, one or two of the front desk staff weren't overly friendly--professional yes, but not friendly--where it mattered--the breakfast personnel, housekeeping, the little bar/diner staff in the lobby, and the aforementioned security guard (who wasn't even ES security), it was all a good experience and we will definitely return to it next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YesWeWereThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing