We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, United States
2 reviews
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I enjoyed the room. It was near downtown and the Pier. The breakfast was great. I have never stayed in a room that had a full breakfast and not just donuts bagels and coffee. I would stay there again but the next time I will leave my almost grown kids at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    1,064
    359
    144
    66
See reviews for
1,273
425
66
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had an excellent time during my stay. It was near to everything. Since we didn't bring our car, we walked everywhere, and our hotel location was ideal. The Bellwether is located on the ground level, and that was convenient for late night drinks. The concierge service was prompt and the food was adequate although slightly misleading. Inquire about presentation if you order concierge service. I ordered a shrimp cocktail and expected it to be served in a glass and instead I receive a plate of 3-4 jumbo shrimp and dollops of cocktail sauce around the plate. Not what I was expecting but good anyway. My reservation was for a King Deluxe Suite. My room was more than adequate in regards to size. The bed was comfortable, and they provided more than enough blankets and towels. The Keurig machine was a nice touch and our view was amazing. There were a few negative drawback in regards to the room. It smelled slightly moldy or damp. And there was not enough storage space for clothes. My stay was for ten days, and one of those days was for my wedding. I needed more drawers. The premium snack machine codes did not always work. Overall, even if it was a bit pricey, it was worth it. Excellent location, services, room, concierge, manager, bellhops. This hotel catapulted my wedding plans to the unexpected. I was more than pleased and would gladly recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Arrive early downstairs for breakfast otherwise it's hard to find a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here on our most recent trip to Chicago. The staff was nice enough upon checkin. When we got to our room there were dirty dishes, directly outside the door. It seems like house keeping could have taken care of that while they cleaned our room. The view faced the lake and was nice enough, but not exactly picturesque. They had complimentary wifi for the month of the July which was nice, however very slow. The cooked to order breakfast in the morning was nice, however, lines are extremely long and, both mornings we were there we ate at big sitting chairs by the front desk because there were no table available. The rooms were clean enough, however on our second day we returned to our room to pick some stuff up to find the door propped open, with no member of the housekeeping staff in sight. This seems like a horrible practice considering our room was accessible who wished to walk in, thankfully nothing was taken, however totally inexcusable.
If you are traveling with a family you cannot beat the location, We were able to walk easily to all of our favorite spots Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Millennium Park along with all of our favorite restaurants. In terms of accessibility you cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamnf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest -

Thank you very kindly for your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciated your visit and while we fell slightly short of wowing you, we nonetheless, are grateful you stayed with us.

I have reviewed your comments with our executive management team and especially with our housekeeping manager who oversees the day-to-day cleanliness of our 455 guest suites as well as our hallways and public spaces. Clearly we dropped the proverbial ball by not removing the soiled dishes that you observed outside your room. There is nothing more unsightly for a guest checking-in to their room and finding dirty dishes in the hallway next to the door. Incidentally, this happens to be a big item for me as well and it is evident that I need to do a better job of addressing this issue and ensuring that room service and housekeeping promptly remove soiled dishes and trays from our hallways.

I also thank you for pointing out that your guestroom door was left ajar without any housekeeping associate nearby. Clearly, this was a huge safety infraction and is extremely concerning to me and our loss prevention team. Leaving an occupied guestroom door open is absolutely unacceptable and we will review this with our housekeeping and safety teams. We are going to address this in our training meetings with a thoughtful focus so this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your stay and your feedback. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you visit beautiful Chicago. Until then we bid you farewell and safe travels!

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel offers the best of both worlds: great for business and leisure. It is located in Downtown Chicago, less than 1/2 a mile away from the Magnificent Mile and right on the river and Lake Michigan. Which made for great morning runs before heading out to meetings.
More Pros:
Great WiFi
Breakfast is included...and it's good enough
Spacious rooms

Con:
Overpriced gift shop

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We came to Chicago this year with our grandchildren and we all loved the hotel. The staff in this place is wonderful. They welcome you back each day as if you were a family member. The rooms are large clean and very comfortable. We took advantage of the free breakfast each morning to get our day started and there was something for everyone of us. We also tried to make the cocktail hour each eve and enjoyed. My only complaint here is that the bartenders could get through the very long lines of people waiting if they paid more attention to making cocktails and less standing around talking to each other. The location is great for the navy pier. Over all it was a wonderful experience and I would surly go back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon Township, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel offers wonderful amenities. It is centrally located between the Navy Pier and Millenium Park. It is within walking distance to Michigan Avenue, The Art Institute of Chicago, Willis Tower, and many other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel has the best location downtown and only 3 blocks from Navy pier and 4 blocks from Michigan Avenue. Although it was sold out and very crowed we were treated great by the front desk and staff. The free evening reception of drinks and snacks had a very long line but the bartender still smiled and greeted everyone cheerfully. The staff was quick to refill the snacks when they were low. The free cooked to order breakfast is a deal! Thus saved our family of 4 quite a lot of money. Stayed on the 16th floor and our room was very quite and clean. We even had a view of Navy Pier. Parking downtown is quite expensive but the self park here was $39.00 which is better then most other hotels. I would not stay anywhere else when I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing