We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #35 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location in Chicago”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a very nice clean King room at a affordable rate. There are pros & cons to this hotel. The location was great. It was only a 1 1/2 blocks to Magnificent Mile, and Garrett's popcorn was only 1 block away. We were central to everything. I was excited that it was to be a corner unit, however, I was disappointed that the view was awful ! The room was located in the back of the hotel and we could look down on the roof next door. There was a heavy machinery noise that prevented a totally peaceful sleep. There is a coffee maker that sits on the sink. No fridge or microwave in king Corner room. No restaurant in hotel but there are three located directly across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kebiewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your response! We appreciate you weighing the pros and cons for future travelers. I am pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable and you were able to experience the Mag Mile and Garrett's popcorn. I can smell the popcorn from the hotel most summer afternoons! IAdditionally, I can commiserate with you that we don't have an excellent view. Unfortunately, most hotels in Chicago don't have a great view because there are just too many tall buildings on each block. There are only a handful of hotels downtown Chicago that don't have a building next to them to obstruct a lakeside view. Next time you stay with us, check out our suites. They have a microwave, refrigerator, and cd player. Then, you can go to Timothy O'Tootles across the street and keep your leftovers in the room. We hope to see you again in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    607
    115
    32
    17
See reviews for
493
377
89
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had two rooms for five nights, not a complaint from us. The staff are great, so helpful; the location is great; short walk to subway and buses; block and a half from Michigan Avenue, three blocks from Lake Michigan and Navy Pier.
The rooms are light, clean, and comfortable.
There are no fridges or microwaves, which we could understand, no need for food in your room. The complimentary breakfast is great, 24 hour a day coffee. The exercise room is small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your detailed response. We appreciate you highlighting our proximity to public transportation and attractions! We do have microwaves and refrigerators in our suites, which can be a great upgrade if needed. If you ever need any special requests at future stays, always ask the front desk staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We travel to Chicago 2-3 times per year on business. This was the first time staying at the Fairfield Inn. If possible, we will stay here EVERY visit from now on! Room was spacious and clean. VERY conveniently located to shopping (2 blocks from Michigan Ave), restaurants, as well as trade-show complimentary shuttle bus stops to McCormick Center. But the very BEST thing about this hotel is the staff. Everyone I dealt with from the time we arrived to the time we left was friendly, professional, and eager to make your stay pleasant. The only hesistation I have in rating them so highly is that they'll be booked up every time I try to reserve a room from now on!

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, get a King room with sitting area and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbncgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our 39th hotel stay in around 19 weeks of travel across North America as vacationers. We stayed 3 nights in a queen bed room, booked the night before our stay on Expedia for an average rate of $100/night (incl. tax).

Best for: Business travelers or vacationers wanting a central location in downtown Chicago.

What’s good: We stayed on the 5th floor in room 511. The room was quite small, though tastefully decorated with modern fixtures and furnishings, and included a small desk. Room was clean, warm and the bed comfortable. This was one of the very few hotels we didn’t need earplugs to sleep. The hotel is very centrally located to the ‘Magic Mile’. Almost anything you’ll want to see is within a few blocks easy walk.

Breakfast included in our rate was the standard continental.

We had no problems with, and saw no evidence of bud begs and saw no reports for this place on any internet bedbug registry websites. Staff were efficient and polite. Security seemed good. Soda and ice machine available.

The foyer has been decorated in a modern style, although foyer presentation really has no impact on your stay.

Minor annoyances: The hotel has a policy of putting a hold charge on your credit card for $20/day. We had no problems with it being released, but be aware of the policy. Free wifi wasn’t particularly great.

Nearby: You absolutely must try the caramel/pecan popcorn from Garrett’s (or for something unusual – caramel/cheesy flavour). Get in early though because there’s a line out the door regularly from 2pm, up to 8pm each day. Try a famous Chicago Pizza Pie (nearby at Pizza Uno or Pizza Due) – again, get in early or expect a very long wait (we waited 40 minutes for a table at 5:30pm), check out the famous Billy Goat Tavern, see the amaing ‘bean’ and projector art in nearby Millenium Park and check out the various building segments from all over the world, imbedded in walls of the Tribune Tower.

Transport: From the O’Hare International Airport, we caught one train and then a bus, coupled with a ten minute walk to the hotel. We found it unnecessary to catch any more transport, as everything we needed was within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room Tips: Rooms ending x01 and x02 are near ice and vending machines; Rooms x06 – x08 near elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your response. Your details and recommendations were fantastic for those who have not traveled to Chicago or stayed with us before. Your notes on the local restaurants and best times of the day to visit are very accurate.

In response to your room, 511, this is room has a king size bed at about 275 sq. feet. We also have rooms with two beds that are 300 sq. feet or suites that are 330 sq. feet. These might be better options for you, in hopes you visit the hotel again in the near future. They have a little more space to make your stay enjoyable. Addtionally, we also offer wired internet in the guest rooms. I hope you were able to take advantage of our free services while you were with us.

Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

First the pluses: Walk to anything and everything from 216 Ontario (next to Capitol Grill at Ontario and St. Clair or one block east of Michigan Avnue. Rates are great value. Rooms are comfortable although they remind me of a remodeled Holiday Inn especially the sink and bath areas. Beds and work area good. Heating/cooling average. Windows do open at least in Room 903. Looks out on Ontario and across at glassed office building (211). Many restaurants nearby. Shopping and banking great. Trader Joe's four blocks away on Ontario west at 44 Ontario.

Negatives: Booked a suite, as in modest suite, but only 26 and none available. Okay. Staff very helpful. Hallways are early Holiday Inn a la Memphis central. Breakfast is very basic. Cold cereal, boiled eggs, juice, yogurt, rolls/toast/bagels, but nothing hot. Amenties are limited. The gym is two machines on 2nd floor. Biz computer in the main lobby, but easy to use for airline ticket printouts. Wouldn't be my first choice for return trip, but not my last either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's on the front of the building somewhat higher up. Ontario is a busy feeder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your response! I appreciate you explaining to other potential travelers our central proximity to shopping, restaurants, and Michigan Avenue. We are located in an extremely convenient area in Streeterville.

The hotel was built new, from the ground up and opened in 2000 as a Fairfield Inn & Suites. Although, we are a select service hotel, which might remind you of a Holiday Inn, our decor and style is very unique to other Fairfield Inn's.

I hope you were able to enjoy a few of or hot items during your stay at breakfast. We do offer waffles, breakfast sandwiches, and oatmeal in our breakfast room from 8-10am.

Thanks again for your time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was my first downtown trip to Chicago. I had been there often for business but was coming as a pleasure trip with my wife. This hotel was a great location to many area attractions. It was within walking distance to most and only 2 blocks from Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to hints on the ins and outs of Chicago. When we first arrived the high rise king suite that was requested prior the check-in was unavailable but the staff there quickly gave us a new corner king size room with views of the street and gladly gave us a discount. It was my wife's birthday as well so a nice card was awaiting for us signed from all the wait staff. The breakfast included in our hotel stay was not all that great but it gave us an oppurtunity to relax in our own environment before hitting the streets without spending tourist prices for a hot breakfast. Great location, friendly staff and the price was reasonable! Definately recommend the place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JErnzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. It sounds like like our front desk staff took good care of you two during your stay. We are proud to have such a caring, professional staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Being Chicago-area residents, we've stayed in a bunch of downtown hotels. This was our first stay here and it's already become one of our favorites. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, and all with a great price. We had just a couple of minor complaints. The sink is outside the room where the commode and the tub/shower are, but they share the same light switch, which can be awkward. There seemed to be no vent in the room with the shower, and the light was dim in there. Water pressure could be better and they definitely need more towel bars/hooks. But, the free breakfast was more than adequate and, as I said before, the staff was great, the location wonderful and the price reasonable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your response! We are happy you had a great stay. Also, I have been in contact with our engineering department about the dim lighting and water pressure. I agree that this is something we can improve upon for future travelers or upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing