We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #37 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This FF Inn is a good place to stay for a Chicago Business Trip. Rooms are just fine and the front office staff was very helpful and also very nice to speak to.They had a lot of energy and enthusiasm which was nice to see. Breakfast was typicall FF Inn cuisine. Would certainly make a return trip if I needed to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattylenzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to fill out a review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to be chosen when travling to the city and even greater when we are your preferred destination! We realize you have many choices in your travels and are always up to the challenge of making your Experience even better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    614
    116
    33
    17
See reviews for
503
382
91
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's a great location that's close to many restaurants and places to hang. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was courteous & professional. The breakfast was also a nice touch and a great way to start my morning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you Judah! I have to say I really enjoy our location as well. Close to many of the major attractions and very easy to navigate; honestly cant be beat! We do strive to have the best Customer Service in the business and hope you chose us on the next travels so that we can continue to build on your past Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We picked this hotel because it was so close to the things we were planning to do. The room was big and comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was better than I had expected (yay! scrambled eggs and sausage!) It was an easy walk to and from Navy Pier. My only negative comment is that they need to update the blow driers.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with 2 queen beds. Since the AAA rate wasn't available, they upgraded us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
It is so great that you were able to take advantage of our location for all of your Chicago needs. We definately have to agree that our location is once of the best. I am also pleased that you were able to partake in our new expanded breakfast options and enjoyed them! This is something FFI has added and we believe to be a huge bonus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here during a recent spring break trip, and was pleasantly surprised with this Hotel. The location is right in the heart of everything including Michigan ave, You can easily walk to Navy Pier and many other major attractions. The rooms are very clean and the front desk is more than accommodating. Because the trail arrives earlier than 3:00 They will make arrangements for Your luggage, or an early check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gklittle500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to add your Experience to TripAdvisor. We do have to agree; our location cant be beat! I am glad that you Experience with us was worth while and that you were able to enjoy yourself. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is what hotels should be. I've stayed at the biggest names, old places, new places, big and small, cheap and over priced. The Fairfield Downtown amazed us with cleanliness and service. EVERY person there was outgoing, friendly, and concerned that we were enjoying our stay there. Front desk staff TO A PERSON was warm and helpful. The gentleman in charge of the breakfast was excellent and EVERY worker from chambermaids to valet, doorman and beyond made you feel they were HAPPY to work there and HAPPY to have you staying at the hotel.

This is the ONLY place we'll stay in Chicago, The room was lit up when we arrived (all CFL's - that's good) spotless, well laid-out room. The rooms are very European feeling, not overly large, but we only slept there. The bed was excellent as were pillows (my #1 ruler for hotel comfort).

Room Tip: Doubt you'll need it. We didn't request anything special and were very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Wow! I am taken away by the kind words you had to say about your Experience! Thank you from all of us here at The Fairfield Inn and Suites - Chicago Downtown. We take great pride it providing each of our guests with the best customer service in the business. I am so glad that you Experience was so great and look forward to the challange of making the next one even greater! Once again Thank you so much and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I've spent 4 nights in this hotel located on the "magnificient mile " of Chicago, just a step away from Michigan avenue. The location is absolutely perfect to discover the city and you can reach by foot the golden coast and the loop.
Unfortunately there is a lack of space for the breakfast room and the fitness room. When we had breakfast we had the feeling to be in a motorway gas station eating with a plastic fork. The fitness room with the 3 facilities is like an hamster cage. Only one shampoo is given per night for a double room. So my recommandation: rather enjoy the city outide than your room inside.

Room Tip: upper levels, street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I am sorry to hear of the troubles you experienced while with us. We do take every precaution to make sure that each of your guests recieve great service and have all of the amenites needed for a great experience. I do realize that we do not have a large fitness facility and are looking into ways of expanding it as well as ways to make dining and general amenity easier and more appealling. Hopefully, we will have a chance in the future to make your experience a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is not one of the better Fairfield properties. I feel this place is a little below their normal standard. Room felt small and dingy, but it did have good views of downtown Chicago. Lobby was small and cramped and workout space was very minimal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing