We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff Good Hotel in downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #39 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed 8 nights and every staff person with whom we interacted was wonderful, special kudos to desk-man Latouris, house keeping staff Luisa and Jarrett was very helpful with our wifi problems. We found the price very reasonable, location couldn't have been more central, a clean hotel and a good breakfast, an unusual treat. Definitely would highly reccommend

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and all was good, including opening windows.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Gail F,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful, and we will definitely spread to word in particular to Luisa, Jarrett and Latouris. It's great you enjoyed our location, rooms and breakfast.

Thanks for the recommendation and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's hard to find a nice hotel in Chicago with free wifi and breakfast for a decent cost. Everything in Chicago is overpriced - but not this hotel...and it's actually nice! Pretty lobby, super nice staff, clean rooms, and great location. It's pretty basic - meaning it doesn't have a lounge/restaurant and the rooms are on the smaller side but there are tons of restaurants and bars within 1 minute walking distance. My only complaint was that the bed was not to my liking - too hard for my taste.

It was a birthday trip and they had a goody bag waiting for me with coupons, water bottles, snacks and maps of the city. Unfortunately, we had to cut our trip short and they were totally understanding and gave us a refund for the night.

I usually spend hours trying to find a hotel among the 100's of options available in Chicago, but this will now be my go-to place!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Nenosorac,

Thank you for your positive review and stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our wifi, breakfast, rooms and location. It is also wonderful that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We are happy that your birthday trip was memorable, and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Hotel for weekend stay or quick weekday trip. Very nice limited service property with great service and close to everything on the Mag Mile. It was clean and busy on the weekend but no issues. The free breakfast also had all the basics.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear GA44,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear our staff was able to assist you and that you enjoyed our location near the Magnificent Mile. It's great you found your room to be clean and breakfast to be fulfilling.

We hope to see you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked 6 nights in April
Taxi from O’Hare Airport $40 + tax (so $50)

Arrived at hotel at 9pm and check-in was quick and easy. Room was usual Fairfield standard. Not huge but adequate and clean. 15th floor (top floor)

Now comes the drawbacks….wifi was hit and miss (mostly miss): window would not open: aircon very noisy, rattling all night: hairdryer overheated and stopped working after 20 seconds use and toilet took 10 minutes to fill after flushing meaning it could not be flushed twice within 10 minutes!!!
The hotel was very busy meaning the small breakfast room was over crowded and over heated. The 24 hour coffee and tea was often empty or cold.

At this stage I would have given the hotel a 5 out of 10 and been hesitant to recommend.

On our 4th day (after 3 nights on the 15th floor) we returned from a day of sightseeing to find out key would not work…so back down to reception to be told the hotel wanted us to move room s as the “technical team” would be working on the 15th floor for the next few days. This was not a problem. Front desk were extremely apologetic and even offered assistance to move our luggage.

We were moved one floor down (14th floor) to an identical looking room but WOW!! What a difference a floor makes! Absolutely no complaints…everything worked and, as the hotel was not as busy, breakfast was an enjoyable experience!

Based on the last 3 nights I would give the hotel a 9 out of 10 and recommend (with a request not to be put on the 15th floor!!!)

A little disappointed that we were given a sub standard room to start with ( even more so as a Silver Marriott Rewards Member)

Location is ideal
10 - 15 minute walk to Navy Pier or Cloudgate.
5 minute walk to Bus #146 on Michigan Ave to Field Museum / Aquarium / Planetarium ($2.25 per person each way)

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 15th floor!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear TravelBorts,

Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry for the obstacles you encountered in your 15th floor room, but we are thrilled that our staff was helpful and able to provide you with a comfortable room on the floor below. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and location for the rest of your trip.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip to Chicago. The location is excellent and within walking distance to many downtown locations. We arrived at the hotel before our room was actually ready, and the front desk clerk took our cell phone number and called us to let us know when our room was actually ready (in about an hour and a half). Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear jdjay,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location and rooms. it's also great that our front desk staff was able to assist you.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I recently stayed one night and could not have been more pleased. The self parking garage was quite close, the room was nice for 3 adults, breakfast was good, and the location was convenient. The staff who were working on April 24-25, 2014, were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and courteous. Thank you for the snack bag we were given at check-in. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mychelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mychelle S,

Thank you for your feedback and stay. It is great that the parking garage was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our breakfast, room and nearby attractions. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and welcoming.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary. They surprised us with cupcakes and a handwritten card waiting for us as we entered our room. Our room was ready early so we were allowed to go ahead and unpack before check-in time. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful! We will be back to stay in this hotel again!! AND it's so close to everything! Thanks for a great vacation and wonderful memories!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jsearles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Jsearles79,

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you liked the location. It is wonderful that we could make your occasion memorable.

We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £83 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing