We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had a ridiculously huge suite on the 11th floor with a nice view of the water tower. The room was clean and well maintained, and the decor was more restrained than in other hotels in this price range. Luckily my room had two bathrooms since one was inoperable. The lack of a coffee maker in the room and shortage of conveniently located electrical outlets are unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenGause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear StevenGause,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the cleanliness, décor and size of your suite. However, we are concerned to hear one of the bathrooms was inoperable; this is unacceptable. Additionally you mentioned there was a shortage of outlets and this comment is appreciated as we consider future renovations.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further on the details of your stay, specifically the bathroom in your suite. Please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience in the future.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived at 3.30pm and our room was not ready. Check in clerk just said he would call us when it was...no offer of a complimentary beverage in the lounge while we waited...I was a little surprised about that. Nice room, but nothing special. Fabulous bathroom thankfully made up for the blah room. AC erratic to say the least. No temperature control, just an up/down button on the phone console. We were either boiling or freezing. I know it's a luxury hotel but you can run up a serious bill if you eat at the hotel. We opted to walk half a block down the street to "Sunny Side Up" for breakfast. Unless you don't mind paying $24 for eggs and $11 for a cup of coffee would suggest you do the same. The lobby is a beautiful area to sit and while away an hour or two. But again with the crazy prices...$18 for a pot of tea! We ate dinner at the Shanghai Terrace which was very good. The bar has a great atmosphere. Overall a nice weekend, but after reading other people's glowing reviews we were slightly underwhelmed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Edogfairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Edogfairfield_CT,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your remarks. Although we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the bathroom amenities and your dining experience at Shanghai Terrace, we are concerned to learn about the issues regarding your check in and temperature control. The feedback is appreciated and we are sorry for the disappointments. We apologize for the inconvenience of your room not being ready when you arrived and that our staff did not offer a proper explanation or solution when checking in. This is inexcusable. We have shared these comments with our front desk team to review with staff on duty that day.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further on the details of your stay if you would please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience in the future.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a girls birthday weekend here and loved it. The hotel is beautiful, perfectly located, had great restaurants and service. We had an issue with our room that was not the hotel's fault, but they took care of the issue and us immediately! Would definitely return!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jfasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Jfasch,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate a girls birthday weekend; we appreciate being a part of the special occasion! We are delighted you enjoyed the location, restaurants and service. You mentioned there was an issue with your room that we were able to resolve and your understanding is appreciated. If there are additional details you would like to share about this part of your experience, especially if it is something we can correct moving forward, I hope you will contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Peninsula. I was very impressed with the high level of service, everyone would greet us with a smile and a hello and seemed genuinely happy to be there. I loved the junior suite. The room was very well appointed and the bed was beyond comfortable. The junior suite had a nice sitting area as well as a great and roomy bathroom. We did not eat in the hotel, but really enjoyed the cozy hotel bar.
The hotel is in a great spot, right on Superior and Michigan. You can pretty much walk everywhere from here.
Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Elisabeth24,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service and location, and that you found your guest room to be well appointed with a comfortable bed. We are grateful for your recommendation, thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our USA stay ended up with three nights at The Peninsula, which in spite of having opened in the early 90s is already a landmark within the city. Resrvation was smooth and efficient and even if we had to red our entire schedule for the trip and arrive in Chicago earlier than expected, evertyhing was swiftly taken care of by the hotel, which arranged an early check-in.

The hotel is perfectly located on Superior Street, right in the corner of Michigan Avenue and in the heart of the so-called Magnificent Mile, with plenty of shops and restaurants around, including the touristy places to taste the famous Chicago pizza. The hotel entrance is understandably busy and things can sometimes turn a bit chaotic due to the amount of cars parking in and out of the place, the taxis trying to squeeze by, the traffic, the hotel staff and visitors hopping through the place, etc. But that of course is not the hotel's fault.

The entrance features a sober and elegant decoration with the trademark Oriental twist, and the elevators therein lead you to the imposing lobby, all in marble and exquisite carpets that includes reception, concierge service and a multi-use dining room that features breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner non-stop as well as live music, all in a single space. I'll come back to that later.

Our room was on the 9th floor, not the highest in the building but enough to grant us nice views of the city. It was just what we expected from a property like The Peninsula: immaculately clean, perfectly arranged and with a tasteful and subdued decoration. The room boasted a working area, a walk-in closet, a modern flatscreen TV and of course a very comfortable bed. A/C system was a bit erratic, though, and we sometimes woke up in the middle of the night due to the heat.

The bathroom was also exquisite, with plenty of space and superb utilities. Housekeeping was very efficient and polite.

As regards the hotel's other facilities, we did use the fitness center on the top floor, with stunning views of the city. Working out there after a long run around the city was truly a highlight of the trip, snobbish as it might sound. Facilities were very good and the staff superb, as is the case of the whole hotel. Other than that, we went to the Shanghai Terrace with dinner, which was cosy and intimate and the food very good albeit not out-of-this-world good. Finally, we also visited the hotel bar several time and that was top-notch: Heather and Tom (Tim? Sorry) prepared cocktails with expertise and were friendly, professional and efficient, a great way to unwind after a long day or to say goodbye to a great place prior to flying back home, very recommended.

All in all, a superb experience but given the hotel's status I would really like to highlight some points that are worth adressing:

-Although, as I said, the hotel lobby is imposing, with high ceilings, marble and beautiful carpet, the multi-purpose design I wrote about has its downsides: the smell of food (breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner) is noticeable as soon as you walk out of the elevator and remains present throughout the day and the entire area, so while you are checking in or arranging some stuff on the front desk, you can easily tell what other guests are having for brunch as the smell of food is noticeable everywhere. That also makes the area a bit noisy and too busy sometimes.

-Second, the hotel is understandably popular with corporate events, and features conferences, lunch dinners, meetings and the likes. As a result, at the end of the day you run into plenty of corporate people at the bar, unwinding, socializing, networking and having several drinks at their companies' expenses. As a result, the atmosphere at the excellent bar can sometimes be surprisingly loud and, why not say it, boorish. Not exactly what you expect from the bar of a top Chicago property.

Having said that, I want to stress that our stay was certainly formidable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Liilak,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your generous review. We appreciate all of your gracious comments, especially on the location, service and Fitness Center. Additionally, thank you for your feedback regarding The Lobby. Although the intent of The Lobby is to be a gathering space for all guests visiting for business or leisure, we hope the experience to be welcoming and enjoyable. We understand that The Lobby’s dining offerings in proximity to the main check in area may make the Concierge desk noisy during popular meal times and for this we apologize. We also regret the smell of food was noticeable in other public spaces near The Lobby. We will look into this immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago and if you have any other details of your stay you would like to discuss, please feel free to reach out to me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As a guest on Monday the 21st I had a business meeting which began in the BAR. Thankfully we were seated in a relatively quiet area where we did not have to shout at each other. Dinner followed in the LOBBY. I can not say enough about the very attendent service. I wish I knew our waitresses name...her knowledge of the menu (both food and drink) was impeccable. Everything we ordered was fabulous.

As an aside, it cost me as much to PARK as my main entree was. Really Chicago? You want people to visit?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBaronVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear DaBaronVH,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed The Bar for a business meeting, followed by a dinner in The Lobby. We have passed on your kind comments to our servers; thank you for the remark on a particular server’s attentiveness and menu aptitude.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The service was truly excellent. However, I must say that I am noticing a certain trend about Peninsula Hotels. My last stay was at the Peninsula in Bangkok. It is truly a time capsule from the late 1990s. I can almost imagine myself there with my old startac phone. I did notice a certain tired-ness of the rooms in the Chicago hotel similar to Bangkok yet slightly less outdated.

As when I arrived in Bangkok, it was 3PM in Chicago and the room was not ready. An hour or so later, it was. The Hotel did go above and beyond to make up for this. I truly appreciated the gesture(s). As far as I'm concerned that is the mark of excellent service. Mistakes happen, its how you make up for them. Peninsula succeeds at this.

I would recommend this hotel and I would also recommend a visit to the bar which has a great atmosphere. However, I do think its time that the Peninsula undertake some reno before this hotel goes over the edge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear R B,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments, specifically on the service. We apologize for the inconvenience of your room not being available at check in and we thank you for your patience and understanding. Additionally, you mentioned your guest room was outdated and I wanted to share with you that a renovation is in our future. Even though The Peninsula Chicago only opened in 2001, we believe it is important to continue to make updates and improve our facilities and guest rooms. Unfortunately we do not have a date for all of the intended renovations but we hope you will come back and stay with us once it is complete, if not sooner!

We appreciate hearing your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,480 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,366 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £278 - £838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing