We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #4 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“modern luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

hotel staff was great, bed was very comfortable, loved the TV over the bath tub, the makeup/powder area, the TV over the bed swiveled out (very convenient), indoor heated pool was great in the middle of the winter. even an incoming fax light so you know if you got a message at your desk. try the hot chocolate in the cafe on the ground floor!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amyers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    137
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
239
429
75
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location, AMAZING rooms, service and SPA! Exceeded all expectations! Highly recommend it! We spent 4 days there in August and left with a feeling that we were leaving too early. Spacious room, bathroom and amazing view. Concierge was also very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelaNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the various restaurants at the Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong and while I travel extensively on business, I've never stayed at a Peninsula Hotel. Thus, I did not know what to expect when I was booked into the Peninsula in Chicago last week but couldn't have been more pleased.

Everything about my stay was perfect, from check-in through check-out. The service is exceptional and while of a consistently high standard, it is not perfunctory; every staff member seems to genuinely care about the customer experience so hats off to the management.

The room was beautifully appointed with every amenity one could hope for, including a lighted magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Even better was the fact that the hotel is thoughtful enough to have installed a dressing table/bench in the bathroom... ample counter space and good light.

The meals I had were excellent... the Lobby Restaurant is beautiful and the menu varied but not overly extensive. If there is any criticism I would have is that the wine list was very skewed towards the high end.... I think there are many wines less than $70 which would be perfectly acceptable for many meals.

But this is but a small point.... if you are going to Chicago, DO book at the Peninsula... it is exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

One of the best hotels I ever stayed in!!!! The cleaning staff was impeccable, they spoil you, food was excellent, one problem with location close to hospital allot of sirens.
Definitely will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avimiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Could there be a better way to start a cold day than with a hot stone massage in the luxurious penthouse spa? The entire staff treats you as if you are royalty. Every time we stepped out of our room, it was as if little elves came in and cleaned everything in the blink of an eye. They even sharpened the eyeliner makeup pencil left on the vanity! Most detailed attention I have ever received in a hotel. Wonderful

Room Tip: A mini suite was more than enough room for two girls having a night out in Chicago
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Jodi S,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your review. We are flattered by your kind comments on the staff and the detailed attention you received; thank you. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the hot stone massage in The Spa during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Following some grueling overseas business trips, this stay was just what the doctor ordered! I enjoyed 1 1/2 hours of exercise in the state of the art fitness facility, followed by half hour in their huge 75 meter pool, then a relaxing sit in the steam room! Wow. No need to pack extra, everything provided, robe, slippers, towels, lotions, aromatic scents and more. If your not into fitness, no problem, walk out the door and your downtown with every option imaginable. Staff were very kind and courteous, the rooms were completely modern with touch controls for everything including the TV in the bathroom. I don't bath often but I did just for the game viewing experience. Mini bar was at overstock, amazing! I did not comment on hotel resturant because we ate in the city but from what I could see there were several options and all were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1fitphotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear 1fitphotoguy,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your thoughtful comments. We are grateful for your gracious comments on The Peninsula Spa and Fitness Center, as well as the comfort and modern amenities of your guest room. We are pleased to hear you were able to relax after taxing overseas business trips and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A friend had a party at the W hotel and our reservation was originally there. We realized the W decor was not for us so we got a room at the Peninsula Hotel (the Waldorf was booked). We were so excited to have a comfortable bed and room. We did have to switch rooms because one room was too noisy and the other room someone had smoked in. We ended up on the Rush street side which was quieter. The room was comfortable and clean. The mattress was a little lumpy and needed to be change but the linens were fresh and crisp. Housekeeping was super nice and the staff and service is excellent. The decor and lighting system are a bit outdated. The lobby has a great grand feeling but not snobby.
We ate a few times in the main dining. The food is good .. not creative or amazing.
At night there were two incredible musicians playing on a cello and on a bass guitar. It was so beautiful and calming to listen to. They were playing popular songs like "Summertime Sadness" by Lana Del Rey. I loved it! Very memorable.
I would stay there again but next time I will try the Waldorf Hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet room stay on the Rush Street side and pick a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Lj b,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your review. Although we appreciate your kind comments on the comfort of the guestroom, the cleanliness, service and the live music in The Lobby, we are concerned to learn of some of the disappointments with your stay. We hear the mattress was lumpy and this is something we would like to investigate immediately if you would be willing to contact and share your guest room number. You also mention for your next stay you will be choosing another hotel. While we understand there are many excellent options in Chicago, we would be appreciative to hear what else we could have done during your stay to welcome you back! I hope to hear more about your experience and that you will please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com

Thank you for your feedback; we hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing