We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property, Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #4 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great property, Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Peninsula Chicago. We stayed during the week of Thanksgiving. We arrived early in the day and to our surprise our room was ready. The service and attention to detail was exceptional. At check-in, we were greeted by name with a warm welcome. Our room was spacious with a wonderful view of the ice skating rink and the city. The Jr. Suite was spacious and ideal for a family of four. Kids (ages 4 & 9) slept on fold out sofa while we enjoyed the private room. The bathroom was also spacious and included a large tub with TV, and we all took turns enjoying this luxury along with our favorite TV show. It was definitely a highlight after a long day of museums and touring. The kids were thrilled with the surprise gift of popcorn, cookies and gummies awaiting us in the room as well. Nice touch! We enjoyed the convenience of the lobby level restaurant, which included talented musicians playing instrumentals of our favorite pop songs, during dinner. The hotel's central location near the John Hancock Tower and extensive shopping made the Peninsula Hotel a wonderful home base for our vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyLou308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    137
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
239
429
75
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We really enjoy staying at the Pen. The doormen handled our arrival efficiently. We arrived a bit early, but our room was ready. Reception was fast and easy. They greeted us by name - including our daughter. One receptionist then came around the desk, squatted down to her level and gave her a Pen Christmas snowman and a candy cane. When we arrived to out Junior Suite we found a snack of gummy bears, big cookie, popcorn and jello plus plates of fruit and nuts. They also provided kid-size robe, cute animal slippers, a Pen teddy bear and tub toys. Such a nice touch. Our daughter was a happy little girl!

The room was clean and well appointed. Everything worked. We especially like the comfy bed. The room was nice and bright with the curtains open. We attended a catered event at the hotel and found the food to be very tasty and the staff provided the right amount of attention - available but not intrusive.

Staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Check out only took a few minutes. We called the valet for our car maybe 20 min before we left and it was waiting when we came out.

Lastly, I must note that the location is perfect for shopping and going to good restaurants.

Everything was as we had expected. We recommend The Pen to our friends and look forward to our next visit.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nagiffag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We've stayed at the Peninsula Chicago before and spent Christmas Eve there this year. The staff is efficient, friendly and demonstrate a true commitment to making your stay enjoyable, memorable and relaxing. The rooms are spacious. The bathrooms have to be seen to be believed. The views from the rooms have been spectacular. The Spa is real treat. The swimming pool, and the view from the three story floor to ceiling windows are surreal. The entrance is a half block west of Michigan Avenue, just minutes from The Disney Store, The Apple Store and only a few minutes south of Water Tower Place. The selection of dining choices within a block or two of the Peninsula is equally impressive. Everything from college bars (Loyola's "downtown" campus is just next door) such a "Streeter's" and "Pipin's" to quality Italian (Rosebud on Rush) and upscale fare (The RL).

Now a 5 star establishment such as this does not come cheap, but it is woth the price given the true luxury vibe and treatment. Looking forward to our next stay at the Peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Went for a long weekend break with my wife and we had a great time at the Peninsula! The attention for detail and high standards for quality of service! The restaurants at the hotel are great and the rooms are huge and well decorated, with a great view of Chicago!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel accommodations were excellent. However, after I settled my bill and checked out with a zero balance, the hotel charged my credit card an additional $315.20 for airport limo (from O'Hare) which was supposed to be central billed. I disputed the late, inappropriate charge, but they did not investigate my complaint and simply resent the bill to my credit card company. I called the hotel directly, and the manager told me again that I was responsible for the charge. I asked that the general manager investigate to see if I was supposed to be charged, since I was specifically told the charge would be centrally billed, when I was there. After my firm request to investigate, the manager later called back and found out that they had made a mistake.

Generally, a luxury hotel will assume the customer is right until proven wrong. I have had 2 interactions with the hotel (including management) where the customer is assumed to be wrong, and the customer has to make a firm request that they investigate the complaint further. Only then did they look into the matter and found out I should not have been charged. It was a frustrating experience to spend this amount of time correcting a bill and facing a situation where the customer is assumed to be wrong. I haven't encountered this kind of service for a very long time, which is why I found this such an unusual experience for a hotel of this caliber.

In summary, excellent room and hotel service, but watch out for inaccurate billing and very poor customer service after departure. It can be very time-consuming to correct.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

hotel staff was great, bed was very comfortable, loved the TV over the bath tub, the makeup/powder area, the TV over the bed swiveled out (very convenient), indoor heated pool was great in the middle of the winter. even an incoming fax light so you know if you got a message at your desk. try the hot chocolate in the cafe on the ground floor!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amyers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location, AMAZING rooms, service and SPA! Exceeded all expectations! Highly recommend it! We spent 4 days there in August and left with a feeling that we were leaving too early. Spacious room, bathroom and amazing view. Concierge was also very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelaNagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing