We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a true first class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the second time I stay here and from the time you enter the hotel it feels beautiful. The rooms are perfectly laid out, the beds and decor gorgeous, the staff are super friendly. It is as if they feel it is a privilege to work at this hotel. It is absolutely one of my favourite places to stay - globally.

Oh and the spa and gym are great too!

Room Tip: All are great
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloistersBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This past Saturday evening my wife and I went to the Lobby Restaurant at The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate her birthday. We had been twice before to have their chicken for two specialty which was why we were coming back. While making the reservation I asked the restaurant manager if the preparation had changed since the chef left a few months ago. Her response was no we still offer th echicken for to on the menu. We arrived and were seated and we ordered the chicken for two and when it was presented it did not even come close to the previous preparation or taste. The previous was a whole chicken presented to you and then plated in the kitchen. The new preparation was basically two pieces of chicken breast with a bit of black truffle under the skin. Not only under whelmimg but really not very good. Just a bit flop...no one came by the table to ask how was dinner so we didn't address the problem at the time . We don't feel that we should take it out on the waiter. For a chicken dinner with two glasses of wine this was an almost $200 dinner that just did not deliver! We will most likely not return. The wait sfaff was good although he did not mention they offered a souflee that has a 20 minute prep time that he should has told us about during dinner. This was just NOT a 5 Star dining experience! Period!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TravelOne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Love the hotel room lay-out with glass partition doors for the commode in the bathroom! Room service is speedy, the lobby bar is exceptional with 18 pages of libations. Hospitality was tremendous with turn down service, bottled water bedside, personal cosmetics / toiletries rearranged into order. and fresh towels with new shampoos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you appreciate the service and attention to detail of Asian hotels, then here is one for you right in Chicago. Nothing more be said. Best hotel I've stayed in Chicago. You won't be disappointed. Well appointed rooms, great staff, and wonderful amenities. I checked in much earlier than they expected. No problem. I'm in with an upgrade. Need help with something. No problem. Staff responds quickly and correctly. IF I need to find a fault, they need more plugs for recharging. Life is tough!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RBAceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had never stayed at this hotel, but we were so glad we tried it for a special celebration. Service was outstanding. The hotel is so beautiful, with high ceilings and incredible floors, carpeting and floral pieces throughout the hotel. The rooms are spacious and super clean. But best of all, the beds are yummy to sleep in. We did not get to enjoy the restaurants in the hotel, but here they are wonderful. We will have to take their word for it.

The hotel is right off Michigan Avenue with wonderful shopping and also close to many wonderful restaurants and jazz clubs.

Room Tip: All good rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamjohn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here during November , just before the cold weather set in . Has to be one of the best hotels ever !! . The small extra touches are great , jelly beans, giant cookie etc, are all complimentary; okay it's expensive to start with , however you really can't beat this place .
Top class toiletries , in both the rooms and spa , you really don't need to take anything with you, it's all there for you .
Had breakfast in the cafe downstairs which was always busy. Made dinner reservation before hand so didn't eat in.
A fabulous city and the views from the top floor spa / pool are top notch .
Stay here if you can ; if it's only that one extra special occasion you'll remember it forever !!

Room Tip: Obviously higher floors give the best views .
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pancake2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had another wonderful stay at The Peninsula during Christmas week. The staff was very accommodating with our early check-in and request for a little later check-out. The rooms are incredible, especially love the beautiful, spacious bathroom. The Peninsula is the best in Chicago!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,346 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £276 - £822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing